Serving & Selling Alcohol Time Periods
|Type of License||Day of Week or Holiday||Time Frame|
|Licensed Package Stores||Monday through Saturday||7 am to 11:45 pm|
|Licensed Package Stores||Sunday||12:30 pm to 11:30 pm|
|Licensed Consumption Practices||Monday through Friday||11 am to 12:45 am|
|Licensed Consumption Practices||Saturday||8 am to 11:45 pm|
4 more rows
- 1 How late can you buy alcohol in Georgia?
- 2 What is the new alcohol law in Georgia?
- 3 Can you walk around with alcohol in Savannah?
- 4 What time can restaurants serve alcohol in Savannah?
- 5 Can you have a beer and drive in Georgia?
- 6 What time is last call in Atlanta?
How late can you buy alcohol in Georgia?
FAQs on Georgia Beer, Wine & Spirits Sales – What are the alcohol laws in Georgia? There are lots of alcohol laws in the state of Georgia. Here are a few of the laws that you need to know. Spirits are sold in liquor stores aka package stores. What we mean by spirits is all types of spirits including but not limited to whiskey, scotch, bourbon, tequila, rum, vodka, and more.
Both convenience stores and grocery stores sell beer and wine during the hours permitted. As for the timeframe in which alcohol can be purchased, consumers are able to purchase alcoholic beverages at retailers between the hours of 7 AM and 11:45 PM. This is for off-premise only. With regard to on-premise consumption, both bars and restaurants are able to sell alcohol between the hours of 11 AM and 11:45 PM.
Any individual under the age of 21 is prohibited from purchasing and consuming alcohol. However, there is one exception, if you are a parent or guardian purchasing the alcohol and the alcohol is being consumed at home with the parent or guardian present.
- What is the alcohol excise tax in Georgia?
- The excise tax rate varies depending on the type of alcohol.
- ≤ 14%: $0.40 per liter
- > 14%: $0.67 per liter”
- $0.32 per gallon
- $3.79 per gallon
- $0.83 per gallon local tax
- What are the policies when it comes to selling alcohol on Sundays in Georgia?
Georgia allows the sale of alcohol on Sunday between the hours of 12:30 PM and 11:30 PM provided the local government does not disapprove. There are some counties in the state of Georgia that do not allow the sale of alcoholic beverages on Sundays at any time.
What is the new alcohol law in Georgia?
Now with the city’s new measure, Atlanta residents can now purchase beer, wine, spirits from 11 a.m. Sunday all the way to midnight. The new measure is expected to take effect in 2023.
Can you drink and drive in Georgia?
What’s the Current Georgia Legal Limit for DUI in the Peach State? – GA legal driving alcohol limit, The current legal blood alcohol limit in Georgia is,08% for adult drivers (persons ages 21 and over) who are NOT operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV). What is GA legal alcohol limit for drivers under age 21? Additionally, drivers under age 21 are relegated to a zero-tolerance law that considers the underage driver to be over the legal limit at 0.02 grams percent. Most states (including for DUI in Georgia) use this underage DUI BAC “number,” since breath alcohol devices are known to have this much variability in yielding breath alcohol results.
Is Savannah Georgia a dry county?
Skip to content The days of, “No Lawyers, No Liquor”, are long gone for the Hostess City. Not only is the sale and consumption of alcohol permitted, but Savannah also has an “Open Container Policy”.
Can you walk around with alcohol in Savannah?
Except for the area and circumstances specified in subsections (b) and (c) herein, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess an alcoholic beverage in an open container, either on their person, in a motor vehicle or otherwise on the streets, sidewalks, parks, squares or other public places within the City of
What time can restaurants serve alcohol in Savannah?
Proposed local ordinances – Late Night Alcohol Permit (New Class K) A proposed “late night alcohol permit” which introduces a new class K license drew the most questions and comments from business owners during the hour-long session. The ordinance calls for restaurants that “transition” into a bar/lounge during late night hours to apply for the new class K permit, currently outlined as an annual payment of $1,500.
- This new license category addresses businesses that serve food and drinks, but change into a bar/lounge setting later at night, typically by closing their kitchen or modifying food sales.
- The transition changes the nature of the business and could introduce potential liability issues.
- The city is also working with the Tourism Leadership Council and the Georgia Restaurant Association to ensure the proposed amendment is sound, according to Bridget Lidy, Savannah’s Director of Planning and Urban Design.
The following requirements presented last week are as follows:
- Permit restaurants to transition to a bar/lounge between the hours of:
- Monday thru Saturday: 12:00 a.m. – 2:55 a.m.
- Sunday: 11:00 p.m. – 2:00 a.m.
- No one under 21 years of age is allowed on the premises during transitional hours.
- Alcohol Transitional Permit Application along with payment of $1,500 dollars paid to the City’s Revenue Department
- Only current ABL/Responsible ABL applicants can apply for Late Night Alcohol Permit
- Additional Public Safety Plan must be turned into the SPD’s Alcohol Beverage Compliance (ABC) unit at the time of permit request
- The following guidelines will be permitted during the transitional phase:
- Cease or modify food sales
- Entry fee
- Employment of Security Staff (armed/unarmed)
- Surveillance Cameras
Bring Your Own Bottle A “bring your own bottle” ordinance amendment will bar guests from “brown bagging” or bringing and pouring their own alcoholic beverage in a non-licensed establishment. However, this does not apply to patrons within the open container district who bring in their to-go cups from outside of the business.
More: Selling, serving or dispensing alcoholic beverages through windows or doors With the exception of Class D (package store) license holders with (state-approved) drive thru windows only, no licensee may sell or permit the sale or dispensation of alcoholic beverages through windows, doors, or other openings to sidewalks, parking lots, or to any other area outside the licensed premises, excluding approved adjacent patios.
People lining up in front of business entrances or along sidewalks can lead to fire hazards. The ordinance will require people to purchase alcohol within the premises of the business.
- The city’s festival ordinance also provides exceptions for the requirements during festivals and other special events.
- Armed security guards
- Require all armed security guards working either directly for the alcohol establishment or contracted by the establishment to complete a background check.
Alcohol Review Committee Establish Alcohol Review Committee (ARC) to collaborate with city staff and outside agencies involved in the alcohol licensure process to improve efficiency of the application process. The goal is to shorten the time period that businesses have to wait for their alcoholic beverage license application to be reviewed by city council.
The current wait time is about 90 days. Alcohol License Waiting Periods If a license holder’s license is revoked, another applicant from the business can reapply in six months. The original license holder must still wait the mandated 24 months. If a license is denied by the city or surrendered by the permit-holder, reapplication may begin 12 months after.
Alcohol Beverage Compliance (ABC) unit administrative meetings Require the appearance of the Alcohol Licensee or Responsible Party at the Administrative Meetings to discuss public safety plans along with policies and procedures after one or more violations have occurred at the establishment against the current alcohol ordinance, to include nuisance and public safety violations.
- Late Night Alcohol Permit: $1,500
- Alcohol Review Committee Application: $50
- Discount for Businesses Owned by Veterans: 40%
Nancy Guan is the general assignment reporter covering Chatham County municipalities. Reach her at [email protected] or on Twitter @nancyguann.
Did Georgia ban alcohol?
June 26 June 26, 1918 – statewide Americans may love individual liberties, but there is a social engineering streak in some of us a mile wide—and when reformers can’t persuade, they try to pass laws. Prohibition in the United States goes back to the 1820s and 30s, during the religious revival known as the Second Great Awakening.
Evangelical Protestants organized both temperance and abolitionist movements. National prohibition didn’t gain ground until the late 19th century. Large numbers of alcohol-drinking Catholic immigrants from central and eastern Europe moved into America’s cities, viewed as dens of iniquity by anti-alcohol, anti-Catholic, nativist Protestant reformers.
The SHOCKING CHANGES That Happen When You STOP DRINKING
Their zeal flourished in state legislatures like Georgia’s, dominated by rural religious interests. Georgia mandated statewide prohibition in 1908, one of 33 states to enforce prohibition by state law before the 18th Amendment was ratified in 1919. Prohibition brought bootleggers and organized crime, but Georgia embraced the federal prohibition of demon rum when it adopted the 18th Amendment on June 26, 1918, Today in Georgia History.
Can you have a beer and drive in Georgia?
How many drinks does it take to reach the legal limit in Georgia? Can I drink one beer and drive? – There are no laws in Georgia to stop you from consuming alcohol, or from drinking a small amount and then driving your motor vehicle. You’re only considered legally drunk, or alcohol-impaired drivers are deemed to have committed a criminal offense when their legal blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher.
While in theory, many people think it’s okay to drive after one drink, whether it’s safe to do so actually depends on a number of factors, such as your gender, the strength of the drink, your body weight and the size of the glass. The best way to work out how many drinks it takes to reach the legal limit in Georgia is to calculate the number of drinks of a particular type and volume.
For example, 12 ounces of regular beer. You can then work out how many standard drinks it would take for you to exceed the legal limit for the consumption of alcohol in Georgia. However, this is of course only helpful if you’re monitoring your consumption of beverages.
Can you do to go alcohol in Georgia?
Consumer Information – Consumer Information
Who can purchase mixed drinks to-go? A consumer 21 years of age or older may order a maximum of two (2) mixed drinks per entrée for personal use and not for resale. The consumer that placed the order and provided payment must show valid identification before taking possession of mixed drinks. A consumer that is visibly intoxicated shall not be permitted to purchase mixed drinks to-go. What is required to purchase a mixed drink to-go? Mixed drinks to-go must be ordered and purchased with a food entrée. A consumer may pick-up the order at the licensed food service establishment at curbside or counter service. How many mixed drinks to-go can be sold to a consumer? A consumer may order a maximum of two (2) mixed drinks per entrée purchased from a qualified alcohol licensee. How can a mixed drink be transferred to a consumer?
A consumer must pick-up an order containing an entrée with mixed drinks from the licensed food service establishment via carryout or curbside. Mixed drinks are not permitted to be transferred to the consumer by home delivery or third-party delivery services, such as DoorDash, GrubHub, Postmates, etc.
Who can pick up mixed drinks to-go? Only the person who placed the order and provided payment for the order is permitted to pick up the order at the licensed food service establishment via carryout or curbside takeaway. The establishment is required to verify the age of the consumer and confirm this person is not visibly intoxicated. Can mixed drinks be delivered to my home? No, mixed drinks cannot be delivered to the consumer. While mixed drinks to-go may be sold for off-premises consumption via counter service and curbside, the delivery of mixed drinks to-go is not permitted. Can a consumer provide an approved tamper evident-container to the licensed food service establishment to be used for a mixed drink to-go? No, a mixed drink to-go must be filled and properly sealed in an approved container provided by the licensee. As a dine-in customer, can I take an unfinished mixed drink to-go? No, a mixed drink to-go must be accompanied by a food entrée order on the same receipt and sold for off-premises consumption. If a consumer is driving a motor vehicle, where should the mixed drink(s) to-go be placed in the vehicle?
The consumer is required to place the mixed drink(s) in a locked glove box or in the trunk. Only if the vehicle does not have a trunk, the consumer may place the mixed drink(s) behind the last upright seat in the vehicle.
Tamper Evident Containers Learn more about tamper-evident container requirements.
What time is last call in Atlanta?
United States – In the U.S., the last call time varies mostly on state, county and/or municipality. State-specific laws
- Alabama : 2 a.m. (Many bars and nightclubs in Birmingham serve alcohol past 2 a.m. with certain licensing and determine last call when business diminishes. There is at least one nightclub in the city that serves alcohol 24/7 365 days a year. Mobile has many 24/7 bars and the bars in their downtown entertainment district stay open typically until 7:00 am the next morning on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.
- Alaska : 5 a.m.; while most cities restrict this further, some do not (primarily smaller Matanuska-Susitna Valley towns), and some villages are dry,
- Arizona : 2 a.m.
- Arkansas : 2 a.m.
- California : 2 a.m.
- Colorado : 2 a.m.
- Connecticut : 2 a.m. Friday and Saturday nights.1 a.m. Sunday through Thursday., 3 a.m. New Year’s Eve (Day)
- Delaware : Last call is 12:45 a.m. Service must stop at 1 a.m. All drinks must be removed from tables by 2 a.m. Service resumes at 9 a.m.
- District of Columbia : 3 a.m. on Friday night, Saturday night, and the night before a federal or D.C. holiday; 4 a.m. on the night of New Year’s Eve and the beginning of daylight saving time; 2 a.m. other nights.
- Florida : Last call set statewide to 2 a.m., some cities have passed exemptions to the law, notably Tampa, St. Petersburg, and Pinellas County (3 a.m.), Broward County (4 a.m.), Key West (4 a.m.), and Miami (24 hours in the Miami Entertainment District; 4:50 a.m. otherwise). Liquor store closing times vary by county.
- Georgia : Varies by county (most are set at 2 a.m., while others may have different times or no time at all). In Atlanta, most bars are allowed to close at 2:30 a.m., but Underground Atlanta can operate until 4 a.m.
- Hawaii : 4 a.m. Not all bars qualify for a 4 a.m. license; these must close at 2 a.m.
- Idaho : 2 a.m.
- Illinois : 1 a.m. through 3 a.m., varies by municipality. In Chicago, it is regular license bars 2 a.m., Sunday to Friday at 3 a.m. Saturday. Some bars have a late night license, allowing them to close two hours later so 4 a.m. Sunday through Friday at 5 a.m. Saturday.
- Indiana : 3 a.m. (was 12:30 on Sundays, not currently)
- Iowa : 2 a.m.
- Kansas : 2 a.m. (in the 17 counties allowing bars without limitation)
- Kentucky : 2 a.m. In Louisville, some bars may buy 4 a.m. licenses.
- Louisiana : There is no statewide closing time. Bars may remain open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Except, Louisiana law provides:
“The governing authority of any municipality within a parish with a population between fifty-three thousand and fifty-seven thousand persons according to the most recent federal decennial census may enact ordinances to regulate the closing times of bars located within the municipality, subject to approval by a majority of the qualified electors of the municipality voting at an election held for the purpose.”
- Maine : 1 a.m., 2 a.m. on New Year’s Eve. In all instances, there is a 15-minute consumption period before the premises must be vacated.
- Maryland : 2 a.m.
- Massachusetts : 2 a.m., although cities and towns can (and frequently do) set last call earlier; Casinos can serve until 4 a.m., if purchaser is actively gaming. Alcohol sales stop 30 minutes prior to closing time.
- Michigan : 2 a.m., 4 a.m. New Year’s Eve.
- Minnesota : 2 a.m. Many cities have a 1 a.m. restriction.
- Mississippi : 12:00 midnight or 1:00 a.m.; depending on city. Larger metro areas usually adhere to “After Midnight” policy. Most casinos do not have a last call.
- Missouri : 1:30 a.m. in most of the state; 3 a.m. in specially licensed establishments in the two largest metropolises of St. Louis and Kansas City, and their surrounding areas.
- Montana : Last call for bars and taverns is around 1:30 a.m. One can purchase beer from many local gas stations and grocery stores until 2 a.m. State law reads, “Agency liquor stores may remain open during the period between 8 a.m. and 2 a.m.” In spite of this, most liquor stores close on or before 10 p.m. with the exception of casino/liquor stores.
- Nebraska : 1 a.m.; except for municipalities (Omaha & Lincoln) are allowed to stay open until 2 am.
- Nevada : There is no set statewide closing time. Bars may remain open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- New Hampshire : Statewide is 1:00 a.m., bars must close at 1:30 a.m. Must call last call at 12:45 a.m. On-premises licensees may sell from 6:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m., 7 days a week. The licensee may sell until 2:00 a.m. under conditions authorized by the city or town in which the premises (bar or club) are located if the city or town’s legislative body adopts an ordinance authorizing such sale
- New Jersey : No statewide closing time. Most municipalities set their last call at 2 a.m. Atlantic City serves 24 hours. Ocean City is a dry town,
- New Mexico : 2 a.m. Monday thru Saturday.12a.m. on Sundays.
- New York : Under state law, establishments must stop serving alcohol by 4 a.m. The actual closing time is left up to each of New York’s 62 counties. The 4 a.m. time applies in New York City ; clubs and bars may remain open without serving alcohol; they may start serving at 7 a.m. except on Sunday when sales begin at noon. Last call is also 4 a.m. in Albany, Buffalo, and Saratoga Springs, Binghamton has a last call of 3 a.m., Syracuse and Rochester have a time of 2 a.m., and Elmira, Geneva, and Ithaca have a time of 1 a.m. Rural counties may be even earlier.
- North Carolina : Last call is 2 a.m. statewide. On weekdays and Saturdays, alcohol can be sold beginning at 7 a.m., on Sunday alcohol sales begin at noon. Liquor stores (ABC) closed on Sundays.
- North Dakota : 1 a.m. Recent legislation allows each county and city by local option to set a 2 a.m. closing time. North Dakota’s closing time is strict. All drinks must be off the tables and the bar closed by the mandatory closing time.
- Ohio : Last call is 2 a.m. statewide, but establishments may acquire licenses that allow them to serve until 2:30 a.m. Store-bought beer and wine sales stop at 1 a.m. Liquor over 42 proof must be purchased in state-approved stores, whose sales stop at 10 p.m.
- Oklahoma : 2 a.m.
- Oregon : 2:30 a.m.
- Pennsylvania : 2 a.m. in taverns, 3 a.m. in membership-only clubs statewide. Sales may begin as early as 7 a.m. Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board –operated liquor stores (known as “Wine & Spirits Shoppes”, or commonly called “state stores”) operate various hours, but never open before 9 a.m. and never close later than 10 p.m. About ten percent of state stores, most of which near the borders of the Commonwealth, are open from noon to 5 p.m. on Sundays.
- Rhode Island : 1 a.m. seven days a week.2 a.m. in Providence only on Friday and Saturday nights and nights before a state-recognized holiday.
- South Carolina : Set by county or municipality. No alcohol sales (on or off premises) is permitted on Sundays, except in Aiken City, Columbia, Charleston, Greenville / North Augusta, South Carolina, Spartanburg, and the Myrtle Beach area.
- South Dakota : 2 a.m.
- Tennessee : 3 a.m.
- Texas : Serving stops at midnight or 2 a.m. (depending on city and county population) on Monday through Saturday; beverages may be sold until 1 or 2 a.m. Sunday (depending on population), and then again at 10 a.m. (if food is served with the liquor) or 12 noon (regardless of food). All drinks must be up fifteen minutes after serving stops. Starting September 1, 2021, hotel bars will be able to serve alcohol to registered guests 24/7
- Utah : Last call is 1 a.m., and establishments must be closed by 2 a.m.
- Vermont : 2 a.m., 3 a.m. on New Year’s Eve
- Virginia : All on-premises drinks must be up by 2 a.m. If Daylight Saving Time is ending, the first instance of 2 a.m. counts. Some bars possess grandfathered licenses obtained before the current last call was instituted, allowing them to sell at any time. Off-premises premises must stop by midnight. Liquors may be acquired for off-premises consumption only at state-run liquor stores, which have fewer hours.
- Washington : 2 a.m.
- West Virginia : 3 a.m.
- Wisconsin : 2 a.m. Sunday through Thursday, 2:30 a.m. Friday and Saturday. No closing time on New Year’s Eve.
- Wyoming : 2 a.m.
- Albany, New York : 4 a.m.
- Atlanta : 2:30 a.m.; 4 a.m. in Underground Atlanta, Midnight on Sunday night/Monday morning.
- Atlantic City : Bars may stay open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- Austin : 2 a.m.
- Baltimore : 2 a.m.
- Bloomington and Normal, Illinois : 1 a.m. on weeknights, 2 a.m. on weekends.
- Bloomington, Indiana : 3 a.m.
- Boston : 2 a.m.
- Buffalo : 4 a.m., 24 hours on specific holidays.
- Champaign, Illinois : 2 a.m.
- Charlotte : 2 a.m.
- Chicago : Some bars may choose to close at 2 a.m. or earlier. They may alternately get an extension to allow them to close at 4 a.m. or earlier. On Saturdays, closing times are shifted an hour back to 3 and 5 a.m.
- Cincinnati : 2:15 a.m. for last call; 2:30 a.m. for closing time.
- Cleveland : 2:30 a.m.
- Columbus : 2:30 a.m.
- Denver : 2 a.m.
- Florence, South Carolina : 2 a.m. for hard liquor, 3 a.m. for beer. This includes Sundays where any bar that is defined as a private club may operate 7 days a week, otherwise last call is midnight Saturday night, until the establishment reopens for business on Monday.
- Fort Wayne, Indiana : 3 a.m.
- Houston : alcohol service stops at 2 a.m.
- Indianapolis : 3 a.m.
- Kansas City, Missouri : 1:30 a.m. for most bars, 3 a.m. for specially licensed bars in certain geographic areas, 6:00 a.m. for one bar only, the Mutual Musicians Foundation.
- Key West, Florida : 4 a.m.
- Lake Charles, Louisiana : 24 hours a day except Sundays. Bars must be closed between 2:30 a.m. on Sunday and 12:01 a.m. on Monday.
- Las Vegas : Bars may stay open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- Los Angeles : 2 a.m.
- Lexington, Kentucky : 2:30 a.m.
- Louisville, Kentucky : 2 a.m. or 4 a.m., depending on license.
- Miami : 3 a.m.; Bars may stay open 24 hours, 7 days a week in the Downtown Entertainment District.
- Minneapolis–Saint Paul : 2 a.m.
- Mobile : No last call for bars operating under a private club license
- New Orleans : Bars may stay open 24 hours, 7 days a week.
- New York City : 4 a.m.; nightclubs are permitted to stay open after 4 a.m. but cannot serve alcohol.
- Pensacola, Florida : 3 a.m. (within city limits, 2 a.m. for county)
- Peoria, Illinois : Bars in the downtown district may stay open until 4 a.m. Bars in other areas may stay open until 1 a.m. Sunday through Wednesday and 2 a.m. Thursday through Saturday. Bars may stay open 2 hours later than normal closing hours on New Year’s Eve, but additional patrons are not allowed after normal closing hours.
- Phoenix / Scottsdale : 2 a.m.
- Philadelphia : 2 a.m.
- Pittsburgh : 2 a.m.
- Providence : 2 a.m. on weekends, and nights before a state-recognized holiday.1 a.m. on weeknights.
- Rochester, New York : 2 a.m.
- Salt Lake City : 1 a.m.
- San Diego : 2 a.m.
- San Francisco : 2 a.m.
- Saratoga Springs, New York : 4 a.m.
- Savannah, Georgia : 3 a.m.
- San Antonio, Texas: 2 a.m.
- Seattle : 2 a.m.
- Shreveport, Louisiana : 6 a.m. for Downtown, 4 a.m. everywhere else.
- St. Louis : 1:30 a.m. for most bars, with some 3 a.m. bars
- St. Petersburg, Florida : 3 a.m.
- Tampa : 3 a.m.
- Washington, D.C. : 3 a.m. on Friday night, Saturday night, and the night before a federal or DC holiday; 4 a.m. on the night of New Year’s Eve; 2 a.m. other nights.