FAQs on Arizona Beer, Wine & Spirits Sales –
- Do stores sell alcohol on Sundays in Arizona?
- Arizona does permit the sale of alcohol on Sundays.
- What are the typical hours for selling alcohol in Arizona?
- The hours in which alcohol can be sold in the state are between 6:00 AM and 2:00 AM.
- Does CVS sell alcohol in Arizona?
- Yes, CVS does sell alcohol in Arizona.
- Does Walgreens sell alcohol in Arizona?
- Yes, Walgreens sells liquor, beer, and wine in the state of Arizona.
- Does Circle K sell beer, wine, and spirits in AZ?
- Yes, they do sell beer, wine, and spirits.
- Does Costco sell spirits in Arizona?
- Yes, they sell liquor at Costco in Arizona.
- Do they sell liquor, wine, or beer in grocery stores in Arizona?
- Yes, grocery stores in Arizona are able to sell beer, wine, and liquor.
- What is the alcohol excise tax in Arizona?
- Wine $0.84 per gallon
- Beer/Malt $0.16 per gallon
- Liquor $3 per gallon
If you have questions about buying alcohol in Arizona, chances are you’ll find the answers below. Here are some of the most commonly asked questions about purchasing beer, wine, and spirits in AZ that we receive. Please remember that we will be adding more questions regularly, so if you do not see answers to questions you have, then please let us know and we’ll add them accordingly.
- 1 Can you buy beer 24 7 in Arizona?
- 2 Does Arizona sell alcohol after 2am?
- 3 Can passengers drink beer in Arizona?
- 4 Can you buy beer after 1am in Texas?
- 5 Can I drink in an Uber in Arizona?
- 6 Can you walk around with a beer in Arizona?
- 7 Can you buy alcohol after 2am in Vegas?
- 8 Can you drink and walk in Arizona?
- 9 Can you walk around Arizona with alcohol?
Can you buy beer 24 7 in Arizona?
Wyoming: What Time Can You Sell or Serve Alcohol? – In Wyoming, you can buy alcohol between 6am and 2am.
Can you buy beer in Arizona after 2am?
Serving Hours – During what hours may liquor be served? Liquor may not be sold at an on-sale or off-sale retail licensed premise between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. An on-sale retail licensee may not allow a person to consume spirituous liquor on the premises between the hours 2:30 a.m.
What is the beer curfew in Arizona?
Alcohol-licensed businesses can serve alcohol from 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. seven days a week. However, they can’t allow any drinking after 2:30 a.m. Nor may customers have alcohol in open containers between between 2:30 a.m. and 6 a.m. The legal drinking age in the state is 21.
Does Arizona sell alcohol after 2am?
What time do stores stop selling alcohol in Arizona? – Liquor stores, as well as beer and wine vendors, cannot sell alcohol from 2 a.m. to 6 a.m. every day.
Can you buy beer in Arizona?
Where to Buy Alcohol Retail stores and groceries sell beer, wine, and spirits except between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m. and not on Sunday between 2 a.m. and 10 a.m. Bars and restaurants stop serving alcohol at 2 a.m. Legal Age for Drinking/Serving Alcohol Arizona ‘s legal drinking age is 21, and servers in restaurants and bartenders must be 19.
- Retail workers (other than in package stores) may handle unopened alcoholic beverages at age 16 if a supervisor over the age of 19 is present.
- Open Container Laws No one in a vehicle can be in possession of an open container of alcohol.
- Bottles that have been opened should be stored in the car’s trunk.
BAC Limits The maximum blood-alcohol content (BAC) allowable by law for drivers is,08 percent. Over that limit, drivers are considered ‘per se intoxicated’ and can be convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) based on that fact alone. Harsher penalties are available to the courts if a driver is determined to have a BAC that is,15 percent over the legal limit of,08 percentl.
Under ‘zero tolerance laws,’ operating a vehicle with any blood-alcohol content if the driver is under the age of 21 invokes DUI penalties. Penalties ‘Implied consent laws’ go into effect when a driver signs for a driver’s license. These require drivers to submit to breath, blood, or urine testing for intoxication if requested.
Refusing to cooperate could invoke mandatory suspension of the driver’s license for up to a year. A driver’s license can be revoked or suspended by the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) if a driver refuses to submit to chemical testing for intoxication or if the driver is above the maximum allowable BAC of,08 percent. In Arizona, it is a penalty option for the court’s to confiscate a driver’s vehicle or attach an ignition interlock device if the driver has three DUI convictions. Mandatory attendance at an a lcohol education and prevention program, treatment for alcohol abuse, and assessment of a person for possible alcohol or drug dependency can be required. DUI is a felony only when aggravated.
Can passengers drink beer in Arizona?
Arizona Open Container Laws – Arizona has strict open container laws that make it illegal for a person to drive with an alcoholic beverage in their vehicle that has been opened, even if the alcohol is not being consumed. Therefore, it is also illegal for passengers to consume alcohol in the car.
Can you buy beer after 1am in Texas?
What are the legal hours of sale and service of alcoholic beverages? On-premise license or permit (e.g., bar or restaurant): Monday – Friday: 7 a.m. – midnight. Saturday: 7 a.m. – 1 a.m. (Sunday morning)
Can I drink in an Uber in Arizona?
Exceptions to the Open Container Law in Arizona – Drivers may transport open containers of alcoholic beverages on Arizona roadways if the bottle is placed into the trunk of the car. For vehicles without a trunk, drivers can legally transport open containers of alcohol out of reach behind the last row of seating.
Passengers in limousines, taxis, Uber/Lyft vehicles, and tour buses may legally carry open containers and consume alcohol. Also, passengers riding in the living area of a motor home may consume alcohol and open containers are legal when stored in the cabinets or refrigerator of a motor home. If you’ve been charged with violating Arizona’s open container law, remember that the state must prove its case against you beyond a doubt.
A skilled DUI attorney in Glendale can help you understand your rights and find the best defense to use in your case.
Can you walk around with a beer in Arizona?
It’s no longer illegal to wander around outside with an alcoholic drink — at certain malls, that is. In May 2022, a new Arizona law made it legal for adults age 21 and over to buy drinks “to go” from bars at outdoor shopping malls, provided they’re consumed on the property. The law began as a pilot program in 2019, spearheaded by national mall kingpin Vestar, which owns 18 open-air shopping centers in Arizona, and officially launched on January 12. It’s now in effect at two locations so far. To kick off Sip & Stroll on January 12, Tempe Marketplace offered free mini golf for four nights. Geri Koeppel “> click to enlarge To kick off Sip & Stroll on January 12, Tempe Marketplace offered free mini golf for four nights. Geri Koeppel “From Vestar’s perspective, the two properties we feel work best for our portfolio are Desert Ridge Marketplace and Tempe Marketplace,” says Rachel Forman, vice president of marketing for Vestar. Forman didn’t know of any other mall operators planning to participate, which involves submitting paperwork with state and local agencies for approval. Also, malls must be 400,000 square feet or more with large pedestrian areas. The pilot program began at Copper Blues Live at Desert Ridge Marketplace, which was a big success throughout the early pandemic because it allowed people to drink without sitting in a crowded bar. “It created an amenity that wasn’t available at any other shopping center in Arizona,” Forman says. However, she adds, “It was not as robust of a program. It was only one tenant and an outdoor bar,” and it only operated during special events and key times. She explains that the new law lets more mall tenants participate in the program, which Vestar is calling Sip & Stroll. “With the permanent legislation, it allows for the drinks to be served within the premises and taken out of the premises,” Forman says. click to enlarge The courtyard outside Dave & Buster’s has a big screen and hosts live music and events. Geri Koeppel Hours are noon to 9 p.m. Monday through Friday, noon to 10 p.m. Friday and Saturday, and noon to 8 p.m. on Sunday, proving once again, it’s five o’clock somewhere. Desert Ridge now has six bars and restaurants slinging drinks to go: Copper Blues Live, Dave & Buster’s, Artichoke Basille’s Pizza, Whining Pig Beer & Wine Bar, Spitz Mediterranean, and Sid’s Garage. Tempe Marketplace has five: Harkins Theatres, Dave & Buster’s, Gen Korean BBQ, Genghis Grill, and Kabuki Japanese Restaurant. Additional restaurants can join anytime, but they need to go through the application process, Forman notes. So how does this work in practice? A visit to Tempe Marketplace the day after the new law went into effect revealed few people partaking, but also little to no hassle. click to enlarge Businesses participating in Sip & Stroll must use logo cups or bags for takeout booze. Geri Koeppel Patrons go into a participating business, order a drink at the bar, show their ID, get a wristband, buy a drink served in a cup or a bag showing the bar or restaurant’s logo, and walk out with it. It’s important to note that the law allows beverages to be consumed in common areas only and not in stores, so don’t try to sip and shop. Carmine DiPiero of Tempe tried out Sip & Stroll by getting a gin and tonic at Dave & Buster’s. “I think it’s cool,” he says. “There’s not too many places in Arizona that you can walk and drink.” That’s true nationwide as well, with few exceptions such as New Orleans and Las Vegas. A similar law for malls is in the works in Virginia and is already in effect there at open-air events like farmers’ markets and art walks. click to enlarge Signs at Tempe Marketplace clearly mark the boundaries of the Sip & Stroll program, which allows people to drink alcohol outdoors at some malls. Geri Koeppel Forman says there were “no concerns” during the pilot program with bad behavior. “We’ll be monitoring the program quite closely, working in partnership with the tenants,” she says. “Obviously, there’s a security protocol we’re following as well.” The mall tenants — even the non-food service retailers — are excited about Sip & Stroll, Forman says, because it keeps people at the properties longer and more engaged. Vestar hosts more than 600 events a year at the two participating malls, and this will allow people to have a drink while enjoying a concert, mini golf, and other activities including a Super Bowl tailgate party at both properties starting at 3 p.m. on February 12. For upcoming events, visit the calendars for Desert Ridge and Tempe, click to enlarge Carmine DiPiero of Tempe enjoyed a gin and tonic on January 13, the second day the law went into effect allowing drinking at outdoor shopping malls of a certain size. Geri Koeppel “We just went through a renovation of Tempe Marketplace, so there are wonderful seating areas” with outdoor fireplaces and big screens, Forman notes.
This also makes it possible to get a beer or wine from one place and pair it with a slice of pizza, pita wrap, or salad from a different purveyor. Cade Cummings, a bartender at Genghis Grill, says about 15 people took advantage of the takeout drinks on the first day during his shift, and “they’ve been more generous” in terms of tips and in their willingness to interact, which he enjoys.
He notes that margaritas were one of the most popular requests. Jerry Shin, general manager of Kabuki, says right now, any drink can be made to go, but it may change as demand increases. “We’ll open the widest selection to the guests, and in a month or two, narrow it down,” he notes.
Can you drink in a car in Arizona?
In Arizona, it is illegal to have an open container of alcohol within your vehicle, even if you are not drinking it while driving. If you are pulled over for any reason and there is an open container in your vehicle, you could be facing serious fines and penalties with a Class 2 misdemeanor for this infraction.
What time is last call in Arizona?
Depending where you are in the United States, you may or may not be able to party all night and into the early morning hours. The ringing yell of a bartender warning of last call comes at 12 a.m. in some states, 4 a.m. in others, and never comes for bartenders in a few states.
- While most of the country lives by the adage that nothing good happens after 2 a.m., some hard-partying locales try to beat the odds and prove that just because something is a saying doesn’t mean it’s true.
- Here is when bars are required to close in each state, as well as the major cities with late-night exceptions.
Alabama: 2 a.m. While 2 a.m. is the general closing time in Alabama, 25 of 67 counties in the state are dry with only a few cities that sell alcohol. Licensed clubs—bars that require a (usually easy to get) membership—can stay open later, with one Birmingham bar called The Nick keeping drinks flowing until 6 a.m.
Alaska: 5 a.m. Alaska’s closing law is true for every day except election days, when the state tries to keep people on the sober side. All of Alaska’s larger cities have moved the time up to 2 a.m. or 3 a.m., but many small communities haven’t. Arizona: 2 a.m. Drinks can’t be served after 2 a.m., and by 2:30 a.m.
, no one can touch any of the drinks they haven’t finished yet. Arkansas: 2 a.m. Clubs that have a members registry can stay open until as late as 5 a.m. Thirty-five of the state’s 75 counties are dry, and some wet counties have dry cities, California: 2 a.m.
- In San Jose, the last drink is served at 1:30 a.m., although bars aren’t required to close until 3 a.m.
- A bill in 2017 to let individual cities decide to move last call up to 4 a.m.
- Was shot down.
- Colorado: 2 a.m.
- A bill in 2017 to let individual cities decide when bars must close failed to pass, leaving Colorado’s closing time at 2 a.m.
Connecticut: 2 a.m. Friday and Saturday nights, 1 a.m. Sunday through Thursday. But on New Year’s Eve, bars can stay open until 3 a.m. Delaware: 1 a.m. Bars can stay open until 2 a.m., giving people time to finish up any last drinks, but no drinks can be served during the last hour.
- Florida: 2 a.m.
- In Tallahassee, bars can stay open until 4 a.m.
- As long as they aren’t selling alcohol past 2 a.m.
- Clubs in Miami can serve alcohol until 5 a.m., Fort Lauderdale bars can serve until 4 a.m., and Tampa bars can stay open until 3 a.m.
- Georgia: 2 a.m.
- Georgia lacks a statewide law for closing time, but most counties require bars to close at 2 a.m., though Atlanta bars close at 2:30 a.m, Hawaii: 2 a.m.
A limited number of clubs in Waikiki can serve alcohol until 4 a.m. Idaho: 2 a.m. The larger cities like Boise follow the 2 a.m. guideline, but many smaller cities require bars close at 1 a.m. Illinois: 2 a.m. The state doesn’t have a set bar closing time, but the latest most counties allow sales is 2 a.m.
- In Chicago, bars with late night licenses can sell until 4 a.m.
- Sunday through Friday, and until 5 a.m. Saturday.
- Indiana: 3 a.m.
- Iowa: 2 a.m.
- Ansas: 2 a.m.
- Eight counties in Kansas don’t allow liquor sales at bars if a person doesn’t have a club membership.
- Entucky: 2 a.m.
- In Louisville, some bars have licenses to sell until 4 a.m.
Louisiana: None Bars in cities like New Orleans can serve alcohol for 24 hours without a special license. Some parishes in the state have set a limit, however, and in Baton Rouge last call is at 2 a.m. Maine: 1 a.m. Bars can close at 2 a.m. on New Year’s Eve.
There’s also a 15 minute consumption period from the time the bars close that the location must be vacated. Maryland: 2 a.m. However, in Baltimore on New Year’s Eve, bars can stay open from the morning of December 31 to 2 a.m. on January 2. Massachusetts: 2 a.m. Many cities require bars to close at 1 a.m.
Boston allows closing at 2 a.m., but the last drink must be served 30 minutes prior to closing time. Michigan: 2 a.m. Minnesota: 2 a.m. Mississippi: 12 a.m. Cities in Clay county can say open until 2 a.m., and most casinos, including those in Biloxi, can sell alcohol 24 hours a day.
Missouri: 1:30 a.m. Some bars in St. Louis and Kansas City can sell until 3 a.m. with a special license. Montana: 2 a.m. Nebraska: 1 a.m. Omaha and Lincoln allow bars to sell until 2 a.m. Nevada: None New Hampshire: 1 a.m. New Jersey: 2 a.m. There’s no statewide law, but most cities require bars to close at 2 a.m.
Atlantic City serves alcohol 24 hours a day. New Mexico: 2 a.m. New York: 2 a.m. In New York City, Buffalo, Albany and Saratoga Springs, bars can stay open until 4 a.m. North Carolina: 2 a.m. North Dakota: 1 a.m. Fargo and some other municipalities allow bars to remain open until 2 a.m.
Ohio: 2 a.m. Some bars with special licenses in larger cities like Columbus can remain open until 2:30 a.m. Oklahoma: 2 a.m. Twenty-six of Oklahoma’s 77 counties are dry and don’t allow the sale of alcohol. Oregon: 2:30 a.m. Pennsylvania: 2 a.m. Clubs with memberships can remain open until 3 a.m. Rhode Island: 1 a.m.
On Friday and Saturday nights in Providence, bars can stay open until 2 a.m. South Carolina: 2 a.m. South Carolina allows counties to set the time, but most are around 2 a.m. No alcohol sales are allowed on Sundays except in Aiken City, Columbia, Charleston, Greenville, North Augusta, Spartanburg and Myrtle Beach.
- South Dakota: 2 a.m.
- Tennessee: 3 a.m.
- Fourteen counties in Tennessee are dry and don’t allow alcohol sales.
- Texas: 2 a.m.
- Utah: 1 a.m.
- Vermont: 2 a.m.
- But bars can sell until 3 a.m.
- On New Year’s Eve.
- Virginia: 2 a.m.
- When Daylight Saving Time ends, bars must close the first time the clock hits 2 a.m.
- Washington: 2 a.m.
West Virginia: 2 a.m. Club licenses in cities like Charleston allow bars to stay open until 3 a.m. Wisconsin: 2 a.m. On Friday and Saturday nights, bars can serve until 2:30 a.m. There’s also no required closing time on New Year’s Eve. Wyoming: 2 a.m.
Can you buy alcohol after 2am in Vegas?
Booze can be bought anytime in Nevada. – Unlike in neighboring states like Utah, where alcohol can’t be served past 1 a.m., bars here are free to stay open 24 hours a day. Las Vegas’ convenience stores, supermarkets and ubiquitous liquor shops can also sell packaged alcohol anytime.
What is the alcohol cut off in Arizona?
In Arizona, if you are 21-years-old or older, you can receive a DUI charge if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is above,08% (commercial vehicle driver -,04%, under 21 – 0.00%). If you are pulled over and suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs through field sobriety testing, a chemical test will be administered.
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||Min.24 hours to 10 days||Min.30 days to 90 days||Min.4 months|
|Fines and Penalties||$250 base fine||$500 base fine||$750 base fine|
|License Suspension||90 days to 1 year||1 year||1 year|
|Interlock Ignition Device Required?||Yes||Yes||Yes|
The table below shows the general effects of alcohol within one hour on an average person of a given body weight. Please do not rely solely on this information. Every person is different and alcohol effects each person in a different way. Only you know your limits.
|Body Weight||Number of Drinks|
|This table shows the general effects of alcohol within one hour on an average of a given body weight. Please do not rely solely on this information. Every person is different and alcohol effects each person in a different way. Only you know your limits. Please drink responsibly.|
What is the drinking law in Arizona?
The legal drinking age in Arizona is 21. Exceptions to this law include alcohol consumption for legitimate medicinal purposes. Another is if it is used as part of a religious service or ceremony.
Can you drink and walk in Arizona?
In Arizona, it is unlawful to consume alcohol in certain public places. While you can drink alcohol in an establishment that serves alcohol if you are of legal age, you cannot walk outside on the street drinking an alcoholic beverage.
How many beers can you drink and drive in Arizona?
Arizona’s legal blood-alcohol limit. The legal limit is 0.08 percent, which is estimated to be about two drinks for a 160-pound woman and three drinks for a 220-pound man. A ‘drink’ constitutes: 12 ounces of 5 percent beer.
Can you walk around Arizona with alcohol?
Penalties for Violating Open Container Laws in Arizona – Violating Arizona’s open container laws can result in significant penalties. If you are found guilty of possessing an open container of alcohol in a public place, you may face the following consequences:
Fines: Fines for an open container violation can range from $250 to $1,000, depending on the circumstances and jurisdiction. Criminal record: A conviction for an open container violation may result in a criminal record, which can have long-term consequences on your ability to find employment, housing, or secure loans. Vehicle impoundment: In some cases, your vehicle may be impounded as a result of an open container violation.
Can you buy beer 24 7 in Texas?
Hours of Sale and Consumption – On-premise license or permit (e.g., bar or restaurant):
Monday – Friday: 7 a.m. – midnightSaturday: 7 a.m. – 1 a.m. (Sunday morning)Sunday: Noon – midnight (10 a.m. – noon only with the service of food)If the establishment is in a city or county legal for late hours and they have a late-hours permit, they can sell alcohol for on-premise consumption until 2 a.m. any night of the week.
Off-premise beer/wine license or permit (e.g., convenience store or grocery store):
Monday – Friday: 7 a.m. – midnightSaturday: 7 a.m. – 1 a.m. (Sunday morning)Sunday: 10 a.m. – midnightA wine-only package store that holds a beer license may not sell wine containing more than 17% alcohol by volume on a Sunday or after 10 p.m. on any day.A wine-only package store that does not hold a beer license must have the same hours of sale as a package store.
Liquor store (also known as package store):
Monday – Saturday: 10 a.m. – 9 p.m.Closed on Sunday, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day.If Christmas Day or New Year’s Day falls on a Sunday, closed the following Monday.
A sports venue is a public entertainment facility property that is primarily designed and used for live sporting events, as defined by Alcoholic Beverage Code Section 108.73.In addition to any other period when the sale of alcohol is authorized, a licensed or permitted premises located in a sports venue may sell alcoholic beverages between 10 a.m. and noon Sunday.
Festival, fair or concert:
In addition to any other period when the sale of alcohol is authorized, a licensed or permitted premises located at a festival, fair or concert may sell alcoholic beverages between 10 a.m. and noon Sunday.
Monday – Saturday: 8 a.m. – midnightSunday: 10 a.m. – midnight
This depends on the type of area. An “extended-hours area” means an area subject to the extended hours of sale provided in Alcoholic Beverage Code sections 105.03 or 105.05. In an extended-hours area, a person may not consume or possess with intent to consume an alcoholic beverage in a public place:
Monday – Saturday: Before 7 a.m. or after 2:15 a.m.Sunday: Before noon or after 2:15 a.m.Exception: Consumption is legal between 10 a.m. and noon Sunday:
At an on-premise establishment when the beverage is sold along with the service of food to a customer.At a winery, fair, festival, concert or sports venue.
In a standard-hours area, a person may not consume or possess with intent to consume an alcoholic beverage in a public place:
Monday – Friday: Before 7 a.m. or after 12:15 a.m.Saturday: Before 7 a.m. or after 1:15 a.m.Sunday: Before noon or after 12:15 a.m.Exception: Consumption is legal between 10a.m. and noon Sunday:
At an on-premise establishment when it is sold along with the service of food to a customer.At a winery, fair, festival, concert or sports venue.
A general, local or branch distributor’s license holder may sell, offer for sale or deliver beer anytime except between 1 a.m. and noon Sunday.
A Wholesaler’s Permit (W) holder may sell, offer for sale or deliver liquor anytime except Sunday and Christmas Day.A Local Distributor’s Permit (LP) holder may sell, offer for sale or deliver liquor to a retailer between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. on any day except Sunday, Christmas Day or any day when a Package Store Permit (P) holder is prohibited from selling liquor.
Distributors and wholesalers of malt beverages and wine can restock, rotate, affix prices, and reset or rearrange alcoholic beverages they sell from 5 a.m. to noon Sunday. See TABC Administrative Rule 45.109(d)
When the time changes at 2 a.m. in the fall, licensees and permittees may sell for an additional hour because the legal time is 1 a.m.When daylight saving time takes place in the spring, the legal time is 3:00 a.m. when the time changes. Technically, no one should be publicly consuming or selling alcoholic beverages at that time. TABC agents have traditionally given patrons the 15 minutes they have under the extended-hours definition to consume the rest of the drinks legally purchased before 2 a.m.
Yes. There are no laws against selling alcohol on election day.