How late can you buy alcohol in New York? – Restaurants, bars or other businesses who sell for on-premise consumption cannot serve: Between 4:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m. Before 12:00 p.m. noon on Sundays Liquor stores, supermarkets and other businesses who sell for off-premise consumption cannot sell: Between midnight and 8:00 a.m.
- 1 Can you buy beer 24 hours in New York State?
- 1.1 When can you buy beer in Buffalo on Sunday?
- 1.2 Can you buy hard alcohol in grocery stores in New York?
- 1.3 Can restaurants sell alcohol to go in New York State?
- 2 Does Walmart sell beer in New York State?
Can you buy beer 24 hours in New York State?
How Late Can Alcohol Be Sold in NYC? | Helbraun & Levey LLP The hours that a restaurant, bar or retail store can legally serve alcohol until are determined by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law (“ABCL”). However, the outer limits set by the ABCL are trumped by the rules of the county in which the establishment or store is located.
Additionally, the Community Board or local municipality that has jurisdiction over the establishment can further limit the restaurant or bar’s closing hours. The New York State Liquor Authority (or “SLA”) allows a liquor/wine store to open and sell alcohol to the public Monday through Saturday until midnight.
On Sundays, a liquor/wine store can sell only from noon until 9:00 p.m. Grocery stores and drug stores cannot sell beer on Sundays from 3:00 a.m. until noon. Also, a liquor/wine store is not allowed to sell alcohol on Christmas Day. The Authority allows a restaurant or bar to serve alcohol to the public seven nights a week until 4:00 a.m.
Last call” can be until 4:00 a.m., and the “hard closing” must happen by 4:30 a.m. However, a storeowner or a bar/restaurant owner must be cognizant of the closing hours dictated by the county it is located in. Although the Authority allows for service up until 4:00 a.m. at bars and restaurants, a county may limit those hours.
Many counties only allow service until 2:00 a.m. Another wrinkle that bar and restaurant owners must take into account are the stipulations entered into with the Community Board or the board of a local municipality that has jurisdiction over it. Typically, these stipulations are decided at a meeting between the board and the applicant.
- At this meeting, community members voice their concerns about the incoming business, and try to work out a compromise on operating hours that work for everyone.
- The owner must honor the stipulations decided upon at the meeting.
- To ensure that these stipulations are incorporated into the liquor license application, a copy is sent to the SLA.
If you’d like to learn more about the Liquor Licensing and Permitting of your new restaurant or bar and ways that Helbraun Levey can help navigate the process here: or contact our Founding Partner, to get information from our firm. : How Late Can Alcohol Be Sold in NYC? | Helbraun & Levey LLP
When can you buy beer in Buffalo on Sunday?
Weekdays: 8 a.m. to 1 a.m. Sundays: 8 a.m. to 1 a.m.
Can you have an open beer in the car in NY?
Open Container Law and Penalties – In New York State, it is against the law to drink from or have an open container of alcohol in a public place. This law does not apply to residences or business establishments with liquor licenses, but it does prohibit drivers and passengers from possessing or consuming an open container of alcohol in the car.
- The law applies even when the car is not being driven, meaning being inside a parked vehicle does not allow you to have a drink.
- The only way to be sure that you will not get in trouble with the law for having an open bottle of alcohol in your car is if it is in the trunk.
- If a police officer discovers you transporting open bottles of alcohol in your car, you could be charged a fine.
However, it is possible that this discovery could lead to the assumption that you were driving under the influence of alcohol. This means that the officer could ask to administer a Blood Alcohol Test or various Field Sobriety Tests to determine whether or not you have been drinking and driving.
Can under 21 drink with parents in New York?
It’s one of the seemingly ironclad rules of adolescence: In the United States, you can’t drink legally until you’re 21. Of course, our underage consumption laws are flouted regularly. More than half of American 20-year-olds have tried alcohol at some point in their lives, according to the most recent numbers from the National Survey on Drug Use and Health.
But as it turns out, not all of that underage drinking is, strictly speaking, illegal: At least 37 states have some sort of exception in their drinking laws that allow underage people to drink at home and within the company of family members. According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, the patchwork of state laws governing exceptions to statutes on underage alcohol possession looks like this when simplified: This map masks incredible complexity and variety in underage drinking exceptions.
Some states make exceptions for when minors may consume alcohol. Others make exceptions for when they may possess it. Still other states, like Arkansas, have no exceptions for underage possession or consumption but nonetheless make exceptions for parents who want to provide alcohol to their children.
It all adds up to a confusing mess that can be next to impossible for parents, teens and even legal professionals to understand. “It’s perplexing — what do we tell parents?” said David J. Hanson, an emeritus professor of sociology at SUNY Potsdam, in an interview. Hanson has studied alcohol policies for more than 40 years, and he says that sometimes self-contradictory underage drinking regulations make for confusion and “legal mischief.” I asked Hanson what he thought about the legal situation in Arkansas, where the law simultaneously says that minors are prohibited from possessing alcohol in all circumstances but that parents are nonetheless permitted to give alcohol to their children,
If a parent gives a drink to a child, does that mean that the child is breaking the law but the parent isn’t? “I simply don’t know,” Hanson said. “And that is I think one of the fundamental problems. We’re of normal intelligence and we can’t figure out what the law is.
That is a serious problem.” It’s not just regular people who have a hard time making sense of these apparent contradictions — some states even give out seemingly conflicting information about their underage statutes. If you search for underage drinking laws in New York, for instance, you’ll find this pamphlet from the State Liquor Authority that states, rather unequivocally, that “if you’re under 21 years old, it is a violation of the law to possess alcohol with the intent to consume.” But New York’s actual underage drinking statute makes an explicit exception for drinking with parents: “A person under the age of twenty-one years may possess any alcoholic beverage with intent to consume if the alcoholic beverage is given,
to the person under twenty-one years of age by that person’s parent or guardian.” Bill Crowley, a spokesperson for the State Liquor Authority, points out that they’re primarily concerned with what happens in the bars, restaurants and stores that they license — not with what may happen in people’s homes.
So if a parent tried to buy a drink for their kid in a bar, that would be a citeable offense. Could the waters get any muddier? Of course they could. Besides exceptions for parental consent or drinking at home, there are many other legal carve-outs. According to the nonprofit nonpartisan site procon.org, 26 states allow minors to drink as part of religious services.
Another 16 allow minors to consume alcohol for “medical” purposes, although these provisions are likely intended to protect the use of alcohol-containing medicines like cough syrup. Students in culinary school can drink for educational purposes in 11 states, and people under 21 can legally drink as part of government research or police work in four states — for instance, to go undercover and have a drink with a suspect at a bar.
- Hanson, the sociologist, says these muddled laws reflect muddled attitudes toward alcohol consumption in the United States.
- All these conflicting laws result from a cultural ambiguity — basically they reflect the fact that we as a society don’t really agree on how to deal with alcohol.” The story of American drinking is a complicated one.
As with many other vices, alcohol is simultaneously celebrated — “It’s Miller time!” — and condemned in popular culture. More than 1 in 7 U.S. adults say drinking alcohol is a sin, according to a 2015 Pew Research Center survey, All this ambiguity, and the legal confusion it creates, might have real-world consequences, too.
If people don’t understand what the laws say, they don’t know whether they’re being broken. “I suspect many people are being convicted for crimes they didn’t commit because of the confusion,” Hanson says. More from Wonkblog: Americans like their booze—beer, liquor and (for Washington, D.C., especially) wine.
Here’s what people in the nation’s capital have to say about their own wine-drinking. (Video: Kate M. Tobey, Gillian Brockell and Jhaan Elker/The Washington Post)
What’s the earliest you can buy beer on Sunday?
The sale of alcohol is allowed between the hours of 6 AM and 2 AM 7 days a week.
Can you buy hard alcohol in grocery stores in New York?
In NYS, beer can be bought in grocers & drug stores but wine & hard liquor sales are restricted to liquor stores. In NY, rules for beer and wine are different. You can purchase beer in grocery stores and corner stores. Wine needs to be purchased from a liquor store or wine store.
Can restaurants sell alcohol to go in New York State?
What you need to know As of April 11, 2022, NYS Alcoholic Beverage Control Law contains new privileges for on premises licensees to serve liquor and wine “Drinks To-Go” for take-out and delivery. Several conditions apply to sales of liquor and wine for take-out and delivery as follows:
Alcoholic beverages MUST be packaged in a container with a secure lid or cap sealed in a manner designed to prevent consumption without removal of the lid or cap by breaking the seal; Any purchase of wine or liquor for take-out or delivery MUST be accompanied by a purchase of a substantial food item ; The price per serving shall be the same as if consumed on premises and shall NOT be sold as part of any promotion unless such promotion is also available for consumption on premises. Each serving shall be available only in the same manner as available on premises ; Takeout and delivery of alcoholic beverages may only occur during licensed hours of operation; Alcoholic beverages purchased for take-out or delivery in NYC are subject to the City’s and State’s laws on open containers containing an alcoholic beverage in a public place or in a vehicle in a public place ; The licensee shall NOT sell for take-out, or deliver, any bottles of liquor or bottles of wine ; The licensee shall NOT advertise or promote the sale of full bottles of wine or liquor for off-premises consumption; The licensee shall NOT display full bottles of wine or liquor for the purpose of promoting the sale of such products for off-premises consumption.
To review ALL specific guidance and information, read:
Subdivision 2-a of Section 106 of the NYS Alcoholic Beverage Control Law NY SLA FAQs Regarding Drinks To-Go
Drinks To-Go Guidance for Licensed Venues (English, pdf)
* To translate this page in to another language click the ‘Translate’ button at the top right corner.
What time can I buy alcohol in Washington state?
A. Alcohol Sales – Licensed businesses may sell alcohol between 6 a.m. and to 2 a.m. However, local jurisdictions may reduce those hours of sale. It’s illegal to sell alcohol to anyone, including adults, under 21. It’s also a violation of Washington alcohol laws to serve an intoxicated person.
Does Walmart sell beer in New York State?
Do All Walmarts Sell Drinking Alcohol? (State List) This might seem like an obvious question, but there are a lot of complexities when it comes to the sale of alcohol at Walmart. In fact, all grocery stores are subject to state and regional laws governing the sale of beer, wine, and liquor. So, to find out all the ins and outs of alcohol sales at your local Walmart, keep reading.
- As one of the largest retailers of food and beverages in the world, it probably comes as no surprise that Walmart sells alcohol.
- But there are a few caveats to note here due to the fact that different states have different laws and regulations governing the sale of alcohol.
- While Walmart as a company is a massive retail distributor of alcohol, including beer, wine, and liquor, not all Walmart stores are legally allowed to supply alcohol to customers.
For example, Walmart stores in Utah are infamous for not selling alcohol because it is illegal for any grocery stores to sell alcohol in that state. Several other states have similar laws, which Walmart abides by. To give a simpler answer to the question, Walmart sells alcohol in every state, except for:
- Rhode Island
- New Jersey
These states firmly disallow the sale of alcoholic beverages in grocery stores or non-state liquor stores. In some other states, such as North Dakota, Walmart has resorted to opening separate retail locations called Walmart Liquor Stores where they can legally supply alcohol to customers.
Can you buy beer in Walgreens NY?
Can You Buy Liquor At Walgreens? – Yes, you can buy liquor at Walgreens. You have an option to buy in-store or shop online on their website for alcoholic beverages. However, not all branches offer the same price, brands, and availability of liquor. In addition, some branches do not sell liquor because each state has laws regarding liquor sales and consumption.
Can you buy beer all night in NY?
Sale of Alcoholic Beverages Off-premises (liquor store or retailer) liquor and wine sales are prohibited between midnight and 8 AM, and until 9 AM on Sundays. On-premises (bar or lounge) sales are prohibited on weekdays between 4 AM and 8 AM, and Sundays between 4 AM and 10 AM.