What are the legal hours of operation during which alcohol can be sold, served or consumed on a licensed premise? – Effective July 1, 2021, restrictions lifted for Christmas Day and Sunday Sales. No longer require Sunday Sales Application, Stamp or Fee.
Package Sales, the hours of service are 7:00am until Midnight. On-Premises Licensees, the hours of service are 7:00am to 2:00am For Restaurant License Holders, hours are from 7:00am untill 11:00pm or when food service stops, whichever is earlier. This will apply to the entire state except for Local Option Districts in McKinley County which are allowed to enact ordinances restricting sales between 7am and 10am for package sales.
No restrictions for Holidays or Election days, regular operating hours apply.
- 0.1 What time can you buy alcohol in New Mexico on Sunday?
- 1 What are the new liquor laws in New Mexico?
- 2 Can you buy liquor in grocery stores in New Mexico?
- 3 Is New Mexico dry on Sunday?
- 4 Can you drink in public in New Mexico?
- 5 Can you drink and drive in New Mexico?
- 6 Can I buying alcohol in Mexico and bringing it back?
- 7 Can you buy alcohol in gas stations in New Mexico?
- 8 Can you walk around with alcohol in Mexico?
- 9 What are the blue laws in New Mexico?
Can you buy alcohol in the morning in New Mexico?
Monday: 7:00 a.m. until midnight Tuesday thru Saturday: 7:00 a.m. until 2:00 a.m. Sunday with permit: 12:00 p.m. until midnight Confirm with local jurisdiction: In restaurant, may need to cease alcohol beverage service at 11:00 p.m. or when meals cease whichever is earlier.
What time can you buy alcohol in New Mexico on Sunday?
CHANGES STARTING JULY 1 – Here are immediate changes to the liquor laws as of July 1, 2021, that proprietors should be aware of, in no particular order: · Sunday sales: No restrictions. Hours, based on the various licenses hours of operation, are the same on Sunday as they are Monday through Saturday.
- Off-premise sales – 7 am – midnight.
- On premise, full dispenser – 7am – 2am.
- · Ask for ID if the person looks younger than 35.
- · An identity document is valid for the purposes of the Liquor Control Act even if it is expired.
- · Holders of dispensers, restaurant or club license may employ servers 18 years or older to sell or serve alcoholic beverages in a restaurant setting.
Food sales must be the primary source of revenue. Bartenders must still be 21 years of age or older. · Off-premise licensees may not sell spiritous liquors in closed containers of 3 fluid ounces (‘minis’) or less. The exceptions to this rule are on-premise sales of miniatures such as hotels, golf courses, planes, and trains.
· Licensed Premises Expansion- Creating a “controlled access” area outside of the licensed premises will be allowed (excluding parking lots or fueling stations) on the property of the business as long as the controlled access area is enclosed by a sufficient barrier and connected and contiguous to an indoor controlled access area.
“Licensed Premise” means contiguous areas of the business property that are under the direct control of the licensee. A diagram/floor plan must be approved by ABC. HB 255: Alcohol Deliveries – This bill has been signed by the Governor. The following link is to the NMRA Analysis of HB 255 – Disclaimer: The following is our first reading of the liquor bill.
What are the new liquor laws in New Mexico?
Sign up for our free Daily Headlines newsletter – “We have requests for it – for cocktails,” she said Wednesday. “I think it’ll definitely bring in more people.” The new legislation, House Bill 255, is one of about 40 new laws taking effect today, the beginning of the fiscal year.
Some bills passed this year took effect in June or have other effective dates. House Bill 255 emerged as one of the most intensely debated proposals of the 60-day session earlier this year. It was amended repeatedly and triggered critical testimony from liquor license holders who fear it will erode the value of their investment in scarce licenses, by offering cheaper options for restaurateurs.
But a bipartisan group of legislators carried the measure to passage on a 41-27 vote in the House and 29-11 in the Senate. “That was several decades in coming,” House Minority Whip Rod Montoya, R-Farmington, said of the liquor law changes. “We were paralyzed from the fact that New Mexico had put in place a very exclusive club that was expensive to buy into it.” A key part of the measure is the new liquor license options for restaurants.
They’ve typically been limited to just beer and wine sales unless they purchase a more expensive license – at a cost of $350,000 or more – allowing the sale of liquor. But the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division of the state will now accept applications for a $10,000 license designed for restaurants, allowing the sale of liquor and cocktails.
An even cheaper license is available if they want to sell locally distilled liquor, such as gin and vodka, rather than national brands. Rep. Antonio “Moe” Maestas, D-Albuquerque, described the changes as an “unprecedented” breakthrough at the Roundhouse.
The liquor lobby,” he said, “has fought every expansion of alcohol sales by the drink for decades.” Republican Rep. Joshua Hernandez of Rio Rancho said he expects the bill to promote the creation of new businesses by lowering the cost of starting a restaurant serving more than just beer and wine. Some counties in New Mexico, he said, don’t have a single establishment with the larger liquor license.
“This will give those smaller communities a fighting chance to compete for tourism,” Hernandez said. An unusual mix of lawmakers sponsored the bill – Republicans Hernandez and Montoya and Democrats Maestas, Sen. Daniel Ivey-Soto of Albuquerque and Rep.
Dayan Hochman-Vigil of Albuquerque. Other members also contributed key amendments to the bill. Andrew Vallejos, the state’s director of Alcoholic Beverage Control, said his division will process applications for the new restaurant license as quickly as possible. It’s too early to say how many will apply, he said, but the price of the new license should attract interest.
“Restaurants operate on notoriously narrow margins,” Vallejos said. New rules Immediate changes will start this week. Convenience and liquor stores can no longer sell individual 3-ounce miniatures for off-site consumption. They can still be sold on golf courses, at hotel minibars or other locations where customers can legally drink them.
The proposed rules include an exception for the sale of a “party package” of minis bundled together by the manufacturer and intended for sale as one unit. The Fourth of July will also mark the first Sunday under the new law, which ends restrictions on Sunday sales of alcohol. New Mexico has previously banned on-premise alcohol sales before 11 a.m.
and package sales by a store before noon on Sunday. But now service can generally begin at 7 a.m., as with any other day of the week. There are also new reciprocity rules for local breweries and wineries. In addition to selling local beer, for example, they can also serve locally distilled spirits, if they choose.
- In addition, the law includes some specific liquor law changes that apply to McKinley County.
- Home delivery One of the law’s biggest changes will take time.
- The state’s Alcoholic Beverage Control Division is now accepting written public comment on proposed regulations to govern the delivery of drinks to people’s homes.
A public hearing is scheduled July 26 from 1 to 5 p.m. The law would allow liquor and grocery stores and restaurants to offer home delivery of alcoholic drinks. But they would face a permitting process and some restrictions. Restaurants, for example, would be limited to delivering alcohol with $10 of food, and large stores in some communities could deliver only beer and wine, not spirits.
Delivery to certain locations – college dorm rooms and businesses – will be banned. “The chance for abuse is too high,” Vallejos said. There will also be requirements to check identification – perhaps by the delivery person at the door – to keep drinks from going to underage buyers. “This is a new model, and we want it to work,” Vallejos said.
Delivery permits, he said, could be issued sometime in August or September. New liquor law • Allows home delivery of alcoholic drinks once permits are issued later this year • Prohibits sale of minis, with some exceptions • Ends Sunday alcohol restrictions • Makes it much cheaper for restaurants to offer liquor and cocktails
Can you buy liquor in grocery stores in New Mexico?
Beer, Wine and Liquor Sales – Southwestern states and most midwestern states allow sales of beer, wine, and liquor in grocery stores. The states listed below allow sales of liquor in grocery stores:
Arizona California* Illinois Indiana Louisiana** Nebraska Nevada New Mexico North Dakota Missouri Michigan Massachusetts South Dakota Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
*Fun fact: California does not allow alcohol to be displayed within five feet of the cash register if the establishment also sells motor fuel. ** Louisiana liquor sales are allowed in grocery stores. But, individual cities, towns, and villages may disallow it.
How early can you buy alcohol in Mexico?
The minimum legal drinking age in Mexico is 18 years old. Mexico requires that young adults show photo identification, either a passport or driver’s license, as proof of age when buying alcohol.
Is New Mexico a dry state for alcohol?
States that permit localities to go dry – 33 states have laws that allow localities to prohibit the sale (and in some cases, consumption and possession) of liquor. Still, many of these states have no dry communities. Two states— Kansas and Tennessee —are entirely dry by default: counties specifically must authorize the sale of alcohol in order for it to be legal and subject to state liquor control laws.
- Alabama specifically allows cities and counties to elect to go dry by public referendum.
- Alaska specifically allows local jurisdictions to elect to go dry by public referendum.
- Arkansas specifically allows local jurisdictions to elect to go dry by public referendum.
- California specifically allows local jurisdictions to enact liquor laws that are stricter than state law.
- Colorado specifically allows cities and counties to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to go dry.
- Connecticut specifically allows towns to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to go dry.
- Delaware ‘s state constitution allows specifically defined local districts to elect to go dry by public referendum.
- Florida specifically allows counties to elect to go dry by public referendum.
- Georgia specifically allows any local jurisdiction to go dry, without limitation on how that decision is made.
- Idaho allows local jurisdictions to prohibit sale of liquor by the drink by public referendum, but because all retail package sales are controlled by the state, no local jurisdiction may prohibit package liquor sales for consumption off-premises.
- Kansas is dry by default; counties have to choose to allow liquor sales in order for liquor to be sold at all in the county. ( see Alcohol laws of Kansas )
- Kentucky specifically allows local jurisdictions to elect to go dry by public referendum. The Kentucky Constitution implies that the default wet/dry status of any local subdivision reflects the state of its local laws at the time that statewide prohibition ended.
- Louisiana specifically allows local jurisdictions to go dry, without limitation on how that decision is made.
- Maine specifically allows local jurisdictions to elect to go dry by public referendum.
- Massachusetts requires that a series of questions of whether to go dry be placed on each municipality’s local ballot every two years, unless the municipality has voted to allow or prohibit liquor sales in three such consecutive elections.
- Michigan allows any city, village, or township in which there are no retail liquor licenses to prohibit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor within its borders by passage of an ordinance.
- Minnesota allows any local jurisdiction to enact laws that are stricter than state liquor law, including completely prohibiting the sale, possession, and consumption of alcoholic beverages.
- Mississippi is wet by default; local jurisdictions have to choose to go dry via referendum.
- New Hampshire specifically allows local jurisdictions to elect to go dry by public referendum.
- New Jersey specifically allows local jurisdictions to exercise control over the sale of alcoholic beverages in retail establishments (liquor stores, restaurants) and to limit or refuse to issue retail licenses.
- New Mexico is wet by default, but dry on Sundays until noon. Law does, however, allow for local jurisdictions to elect to go dry by public referendum.
- New York specifically allows cities and counties to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to go dry. ( see Alcohol laws of New York )
- North Carolina allows certain classes of local jurisdictions to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to go dry.
- Ohio state law allows local jurisdictions to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to prohibit the sale of liquor.
- Rhode Island state law allows local jurisdictions to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to prohibit the sale of liquor.
- South Dakota allows certain classes of local jurisdictions to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to prohibit the on-premises sale of liquor.
- Tennessee is dry by default; local jurisdictions must choose whether to allow liquor sales in order for liquor to be sold. ( see Alcohol laws of Tennessee )
- Texas allows local jurisdictions to exercise a local option to decide whether it is “wet” or “dry,” and does not limit how that decision shall be made.
- Vermont allows municipalities to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to prohibit the sale of liquor.
- Virginia allows local jurisdictions to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to prohibit the sale of liquor.
- Washington allows local jurisdictions to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to prohibit the sale of liquor.
- West Virginia allows local jurisdictions to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to prohibit the sale of liquor.
- Wisconsin allows local jurisdictions to exercise a local option by public referendum whether to prohibit the sale of liquor.
Is New Mexico dry on Sunday?
New Mexico – On-premise sale of alcohol is allowed from 7 AM to 2 AM and until midnight for off-premise, including Sundays. Restaurants, but not bars, can serve alcoholic beverages on Christmas Day between noon and 10 PM. There are no package (off-premise) sales on Christmas day.
Can you drink in public in New Mexico?
2018 New Mexico Statutes : 60-7A-22. Drinking in public establishments; selling or serving alcoholic beverages other than in licensed establishments; selling or delivering alcoholic beverages from a drive-up window.A. It is a violation of the Liquor Control Act for any person to consume alcoholic beverages in any public establishment unless the establishment is licensed to sell and serve alcoholic beverages.B.
It is a violation of the Liquor Control Act for any person not a licensee to sell, serve or permit the consumption of alcoholic beverages in his public establishment or private club.C. It is a violation of the Liquor Control Act for any licensee to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages from a drive-up window.
History: Laws 1981, ch.39, § 108; 1991, ch.257, § 4; 1998 (1st S.S.), ch.16, § 3. ANNOTATIONS The 1998 amendment added “; selling or delivering alcoholic beverages from a drive-up window” to the end of the section heading, and rewrote former Subsection C, relating to grandfather provisions for drive-up liquor sales.
- Laws 1998 (1st S.S.), ch.16 contains no effective date provision, but, pursuant to N.M.
- Const., art.
- IV, § 23, is effective on August 2, 1998, 90 days after adjournment of the legislature.
- The 1991 amendment, effective June 14, 1991, deleted “during the ten-year period of economic adjustment” preceding “licensed premises” and made a minor stylistic change in Subsection C.
Knowingly permitting consumption constitutes corpus delicti of offense. — The corpus delicti of the offense charged is knowingly permitting the consumption of intoxicating liquor by appellant in his cafe without a license to do so. State v. Carter, 1954-NMSC-102, 58 N.M.713, 275 P.2d 847,
- Space for dancing and tables part of “establishment”.
- Space reserved for dancing and tables in connection with a liquor dispensing unit is a part of the licensed “establishment.” 1939-40 Op.
- Att’y Gen.
- Serving liquor in bowling alleys permitted.
- There is no prohibition against issuing an alcoholic beverage license to a bowling alley, thus permitting the serving of liquor on the premises.1955-56 Op.
Att’y Gen. No.55-6278. Am. Jur.2d, A.L.R. and C.J.S. references. — 45 Am. Jur.2d Intoxicating Liquors § 307. Construction and application of statute or ordinance respecting amusements on premises licensed for sale of intoxicating liquors, 4 A.L.R.2d 1216. Criminal liability of member or agent of private club or association, or of owner or lessor of its premises, for violation of state or local liquor or gambling laws thereon, 98 A.L.R.3d 694.
Zoning or licensing regulation prohibiting or restricting location of billiard rooms and bowling alleys, 100 A.L.R.3d 252. Validity and construction of statute or ordinance making it offense to have possession of open or unsealed alcoholic beverage in public place, 39 A.L.R.4th 668.48 C.J.S. Intoxicating Liquors § 253.
: 2018 New Mexico Statutes :
What time can you buy beer on Sunday in Mexico?
New alcohol law takes effect in Cancun, Riviera Maya Cancun, Riviera Maya, Q.R. — The Director of Inspection of Benito Juárez says that the new alcohol law for the state will be in effect February 10 and affect the times for the sale of alcohol. Alberto Covarrubias Cortés, director of Fiscalización de Benito Juárez explained that “The law enters into force 31 days after being published in the Diario Oficial de la Federación, which means it goes into effect February 10.” He says that although some businesses have already began to apply the new law, the change in hours for the sale of alcohol officially takes effect Sunday.
- The new Ley de Alcoholes states that packaged alcohol cannot be sold past 11:00 p.m., however, bars that wish to sell alcohol after that time can apply for a special permit that will allow alcohol sales until 3:00 a.m.
- He explained that “On February 10, the law comes into force and what the law says is that the establishments (that sell alcohol) with closed containers, which are the establishments to take away, mini-supermarket, convenience stores, self-service, etc., the hours will be restricted at 11:00 p.m.
“In the case of restaurants, bars, nightclubs and all that type of business, the provision is that the schedule also takes effect at 11:00 p.m.” He added that “for the hotel zones, the schedules can run from Monday to Sunday until 3:00 a.m. with an extended permit, but for the center, sales end at 11:00 p.m.” “With this ruling, hotel zone establishments will go to the Secretary of Finance and Planning of the state who will give them an agreement with which we can grant the extended schedule,” he said adding that more than 600 businesses have already applied to be able to sell alcohol until 3:00 a.m.
- The new Ley de Alcoholes falls under Article 25 BIS and states: The sale of alcohol for wineries, liquor stores, sub-agencies, mini supers, self-service stores and convenience stores can only sell from 10:00 a.m.
- To 11:00 p.m.
- Monday to Saturday and on Sundays from 10:00 a.m.
- To 5:00 p.m.
- The new law will also apply to establishments located in tourist areas.
Restaurants, bars and open establishments that offer alcoholic beverages, the schedule will be from 11:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. Monday to Saturday. On Sundays it will be 11:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Establishments in the tourist zones may request a sales schedule for an extended sale permit from Monday to Sunday that, if granted, will allow them to sell alcohol from 11:00 a.m.
In case of non-compliance, authorities will have the power to confiscate and close businesses.The move to change the times of the sale of alcohol was made by both municipal and state authorities in an attempt to help curb crime rates around the state. The new Ley de Alcoholes is applied around the entire state of Quintana Roo, but aimed primarily at the north zones.
: New alcohol law takes effect in Cancun, Riviera Maya
Can you drink alcohol in a car in New Mexico?
It’s unlawful for a person to knowingly: drink an alcoholic beverage in a motor vehicle that’s on a public highway, or. have possession of an open container of alcohol on the person’s body while in a motor vehicle that’s on a public highway.
Can you drink and drive in New Mexico?
In New Mexico, it is illegal to drive with a breath or blood alcohol concentration of.08 or more if you’re 21 or over, or.02 if you’re under 21, or.04 if you drive a commercial vehicle.
Can I buying alcohol in Mexico and bringing it back?
Alcohol – There are no federal limits on how much alcohol you can carry in your suitcase for personal use. One case is considered a good rule of thumb. But you will be taxed if you bring more than a one-liter bottle of alcohol from Mexico.Usually, you can bring alcohol you purchase in duty-free with you on the plane.
Can you buy alcohol in Mexico and bring it to the US?
There is no federal limit on the amount of alcohol a traveler may import into the United States for personal use, however, large quantities might raise the suspicion that the importation is for commercial purposes, and an U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) officer could require that you comply with the
Can you bring a bottle of liquor to Mexico from us?
MEXICAN CUSTOMS – Tourists are allowed to bring their personal belongings and luggage into Mexico duty-free. You may also bring up to $300 USD worth of merchandise. Family members traveling together in the same vehicle may combine this amount (for example, if there are two of you in the same family traveling together you may bring up to $600 worth of merchandise).
- Receipts or invoices must be present to take advantage of this exemption.
- If you are bringing more than $300 USD worth of merchandise per person you may declare it by driving through the declaration lane at the border where you can fill out the proper documents and pay a duty on the amount (16% of the total).
If you are bringing over $3,000 of merchandise, you must use a Mexican customhouse broker. You can ask where to reach one at the customs office at the border. If you are bringing alcohol into Mexico from the U.S., you are allowed to bring up to three liters of liquor or beer and six liters of wine per adult.
Personal clothing and footwear Personal toiletries and beauty products Baby travel accessories such as strollers and baby walkers (you must have a baby present) Two photographic cameras or video recorders 12 rolls of film or videocassettes Three cell phones or other wireless networks Global Positioning Equipment (GPS) One typewriter One electronic calendar One laptop computer One portable printer/copier One portable projector Two items of sporting equipment Four fishing rods Three speedboats with or without sails and their accessories, trophies or recognitions, provided that they can be transported normally and commonly by the passenger One stair climber One bicycle One portable radio or digital sound reproducer with speakers and accessories Five laser disks 10 DVDs 30 compact disks (CD) or magnetic tapes (audiocassettes) Three software packages Five storage devices or memory cards for any electronic equipment Books, magazines and printed documents Five toys One video game console and five videogames One blood pressure instrument One glucose-testing device Personal medications (you must have your prescription with you for any psychotropic drugs that you’re bringing with you into Mexico) One set of binoculars One telescope Luggage necessary to transport personal items Passengers over 18 years of age are allowed: 10 packs of cigarettes, 25 cigars or 200 grams of tobacco, three liters of liquor or beer, six liters of wine. Any items in excess must be declared and have duties paid. Two musical instruments and the accessories for the instruments A camping tent Camping equipment A toolset Up to three dogs or cats, may be brought to Mexico as well as their accessories, provided that the corresponding zoo sanitary import certificate issued by (SAGARPA) is presented to the customs officials.
If you are bringing over $10,000 per person in cash, other currencies, checks or money orders, you must declare the amount exceeding $10,000. You will not have to pay duties, but you must stop at the border to declare the amount on a customs declaration form.
- If you are traveling with new electronics that have been purchased in the last 6 months, it is suggested that you take your receipts and registration paperwork.
- You may have to pay duty on these items upon returning to the US if you cannot prove that you owned it prior to your departure.
- You can stop at the border to complete a form at customs declaring the items upon entry into Mexico.
For more guidance, you can call Mexican customs at the numbers below: From US and Canada toll-free: 1-877-448-8728 From Mexico: 01 55 627 22 728 (MarcaSAT) Items Not Allowed in Mexico:
Guns or ammunition. Guns are illegal in Mexico. You will be put in jail for having one. Pepper spray Lethal knives and machetes (anything over 8″ is not allowed) Live predator fish Totoaba fish (fresh or frozen) Turtle eggs Poppy seeds or flour of poppy seeds Marijuana, medicinal marijuana, marijuana products, marijuana seeds or spores, or marijuana extracts Opium extract Stamps or prints, displayed for their sale in envelopes or packages, containing illustrations that represent childhood in a degrading, violent, self-destructive, anti-social or ridiculous way (i.e. Garbage Pail Kids trading cards) Thallium sulfate. Isodrin, Aldrin, Heptaclor, Drinox, Endrin, Mendrin, Nendrin, Hexadrin or Leptophos insecticides. Heroin Medication prepared with acetylmorphine or its derivatives Loggerhead turtles or turtle skins Goods that have been declared as archaeological monuments by the Secretary of Public Education. Air compression spearguns are prohibited. Rubber band spearguns are permitted.
DB Insider tips:
While you may have good intentions of bringing down bagfuls of used clothing across the border to donate to charity, there is an extremely high tax on bringing used clothing into Mexico. You will have to pay a large fee if you are caught. Any medication that you are taking to Mexico must be in the original prescription bottle. Placing pills into smaller containers for traveling is not allowed. Army knives or small knives for fishing are permitted but may not be kept in the glove compartment or front of the car. It’s best to keep them in your tackle box or toolbox in the back of the car. If you are taking building materials down to Mexico, you must use a Mexican customhouse broker to declare and pay duties on the materials. You should cross at Otay Mesa and go to the customs building where they will direct you to a recommended customs house who will help you with the paperwork and payment. If you own a home in Mexico, you may use a “Menaje de Casa” which is a one-time deal that allows you to take down household items duty free (furniture, linens, used appliances and other household items). The items cannot be new and the exemption does not apply to any building materials. You will not pay a tax on the items, but you will still need to stop to declare everything when you are crossing the border, and you will be charged a small customs fee to process the paperwork.
Can you buy alcohol in gas stations in New Mexico?
Gas station operator sues New Mexico over new liquor law GALLUP, N.M. (AP) — A company that runs dozens of convenience stores and gas stations in New Mexico is suing the state over new liquor laws that took effect last week. Western Refining Retail claims a new provision that singles out McKinley County is unconstitutional because it prohibits gas stations from selling liquor based on population.
The new rule states any dispenser or retailer licensee who sells gasoline in a county with a population between 56,000 and 57,000 people cannot sell alcohol other than beer. McKinley is the only New Mexico county that falls under that population threshold, and the change does not affect other businesses like grocery stores, package liquor stores, restaurants and bars.
Democratic Sen. George Munoz Albuquerque television station KRQE that he sought the language targeting retailers attached to gas stations to address a problem in his western New Mexico district.
“People die in McKinley County because of alcoholism,” he said.He added: “Just because it’s legal, doesn’t mean it should be readily available and convenient in every single location.”Western Refining’s lawsuit seeks to stop enforcement of the new law, noting that 14 businesses in the county are affected.
The company runs 10 of those businesses. The state’s Regulation and Licensing Department shows the company has dispenser licenses at Speedway, Giant and Conoco gas stations in Gallup. Officials with the state licensing department said they will not comment on the lawsuit until they have a chance to review the complaint.
According to an McKinley and Rio Arriba counties had extremely high alcohol-related death rates. Overall, the report noted that New Mexico has extremely high death rates due to both alcohol-related chronic diseases and alcohol-related injuries. The state’s rate of alcohol-related injury death was about 1.5 times the national rate.
Health officials said that while New Mexico’s rate for alcohol-related motor vehicle traffic crashes has decreased substantially over the past 30 years, disparities remain. The state at the end of June rolled out its latest anti-drunken driving campaign, which includes television, radio, billboard and social media promotions.
Do you have to declare alcohol at customs Mexico?
Table of Contents – No headings were found on this page. How much liquor and wine can you bring into the country? Most people visiting Puerto Vallarta, Mexico will want to take back a bottle of tequila or kahlua to remind them of their vacation, or even Mexican wine, which is becoming evermore popular. On the other hand, you may also wish to bring your favorite alcoholic beverages with you on vacation to Mexico ; therefore it is important to be aware of the restrictions on alcohol when crossing borders.
- Each country will have its own customs’ laws, including limits on the amount of alcohol you can bring with you in your baggage without being subject to duty and additional taxes.
- It is always wise to check the current regulations before traveling to ensure you will not be pulled up at customs and forced to pay outstanding taxes or forfeit your goods.
Below is a general overview of how much alcohol you can take back to the USA and Canada as well as the limits enforced by Mexico for visitors entering the country with liquor, although these quantities may be subject to changes. It is worth remembering that the quantities quoted are the limits for the amount of alcohol you can bring duty free, meaning that you may enter with additional qualities but will have to pay the taxes and duty stipulated by the country in question.
- Arriving to Mexico Although you can find pretty much any type of liquor in Mexico, especially in the tourist areas such as Puerto Vallarta and Cancun, some people like to bring their favorite “tipple” just in case.
- For Mexico’s customs, the current limits for adults aged 18+ are three liters of liquor or beer and six liters of wine.
If you have more than this quantity you must declare it and pay any duties. Beware, however, that when you pass customs in Mexico, you have to press a button which will show a green or red light to indicate a random search. If you get a red light, your baggage will be checked, so you must make sure that you have declared any alcohol before you press the button.
Arriving to the USA When returning to the USA from Mexico, you are allowed to bring 1 liter of alcoholic beverages whether that be wine, beer or spirits for personal use or as a gift without having to pay any extra taxes. There is no current limit to the amount of alcohol you may bring if you are willing to pay the taxes, although it must be for personal rather than commercial use.
Don’t forget that travelers must be over 21 to be able to bring alcohol into the country, even if it is a gift for someone else. Arriving to Canada In order to bring alcohol into Canada, residents must have been out of the country for more than 48 hours and be aged over 19, unless returning to the states of Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec, in which case you must be over 18.
Can you walk around with alcohol in Mexico?
Open alcohol containers in public are illegal in Mexico. You may face a fine or time in jail.6. Drinking on public streets is prohibited.
Can you drink on the beach in Mexico?
Visitors who drink in the streets may get in trouble with law enforcement. – Don’t drink alcohol in the streets or any public areas. Jennifer Fernández Solano I can’t tell you how many foreign friends have told me that they’ve run into trouble with the police for drinking in the street, In Mexico, it’s illegal to drink alcohol in public streets and to carry open alcohol containers in public.
Does New Mexico sell alcohol today?
A. Selling Alcohol – Businesses licensed to sell alcohol for use off their premises have different hours. They may sell on Mondays through Saturdays from 7:00 a.m. until midnight. Local option laws permit local jurisdictions to modify days and times of sales. In addition territories under control by Indian nations, tribes or pueblos determine their own alcohol laws. There are penalties for selling alcohol to anyone either under 21 or obviously intoxicated within a twelve month period. A first offense results in a fine of $1,000 to $2,000. The state also prohibits all alcohol sales for one business day. A second offense causes a fine of $2,000 to $3,000.
Which state has the strictest alcohol laws?
|Statefederal district or territory||Alcohol sale hours||Grocery Store Sales||Age||Notes|
|Beer||Wine||Distilled spirits||On-premises||Off-premises||Beer||Wine||Distilled Spirits||Purchasing||Consumption|
|Idaho||No||Yes||6:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m., 7:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. in some counties||Yes||No||Alcoholic beverages exceeding 16% can only be sold in stores, or contracted stores.|
|Illinois||No||Depending on local government; 24-hour bars are permitted in ; a handful of 21- to 22-hour bars exist in, and the, In Rock Island County, many establishments sell alcohol 24 hours a day.||Yes||Opening/closing hours are up to the decision of counties or municipalities.|
|No||7 a.m. – 3 a.m.||7 a.m. – 3 a.m.Noon – 8 p.m. on Sunday.||Yes||Indiana prohibits the sales of cold beer by grocery stores or gas stations, but allows cold beer to be sold from liquor stores (IC 7.1-5-10-11). Sales during a portion of the day (e.g., ) are prohibited, but all-day drink specials are allowed (IC 7.1-5-10-20). Minors, including babies, are not allowed to enter liquor stores, taverns, or bars (IC 7.1-5-7-9). Indiana has a photo identification requirement for all off-premises transactions to anyone who appears to be less than 40 years old. (IC 7.1-5-10-23). Public intoxication is a class B misdemeanor. (IC 7.1-5-1-3)|
|Iowa||No||Yes||6 a.m. – 2 a.m.||Yes||If a controlled substance is detected in a person’s system at or near the time they were operating a motor vehicle, they can be charged and potentially convicted of operating while intoxicated even if they were not “impaired” by that substance.|
|No||6 a.m. – 2 a.m. (in counties which allow on-premises sales)||9 a.m. – 11 p.m. (Mon–Sat)9 a.m. – 8 p.m. (Sun) (in communities which allow Sunday off-premises sales)||Yes (6.0% ABV maximum)||No||21||21 No exceptions to the law||Kansas’s alcohol laws are among the strictest in the United States. Kansas prohibited all alcohol from 1881 to 1948, and continued to prohibit on-premises sales of alcohol from 1949 to 1987. Sunday sales only have been allowed since 2005. Today, 3 counties still do not permit the on-premises sale of alcohol.63 counties require a business to receive at least 30% of revenue from food sales to allow on-premises sale of alcohol. Only 39 counties allow general on-premises sales. Not all communities which allow off-premises sales allow sales on Sunday. There are four towns where liquor stores are not allowed. Off premise sales are prohibited on, and, Beer containing no more than 6.0% alcohol by volume may be sold in grocery and convenience stores. Prior to April 1, 2019, the only alcoholic beverage which grocery stores and gas stations were allowed to sell was, Other liquor sales only are allowed at state-licensed retail liquor stores. Kansas has comprehensive open container laws for public places and vehicles, public intoxication laws, and requirements for prospective on-premises or off-premises licensees. Liquor stores can now be open at 9am on Sunday where Sunday Sales are allowed and cocktails to go are now permanently legal|
|No||6 a.m. to 4 a.m. on Monday through Saturday||1 p.m. to 4 a.m. on Sundays||Yes||No||Local ordinance may vote to permit Sunday sales at restaurants. Sales 2–4 a.m. only in Louisville. As of 2005 Sunday sales were allowed per state law, but may still be prohibited in some areas by local ordinance (as of early 2006, such a situation existed with smaller cities within Louisville Metro, though these cities have since changed local ordinances). Alcohol sale restriction and wet/dry (both by drink and package) allowed by both county and city local option. Approximately 39 counties in the state (mostly eastern and southern counties) are dry, all alcohol sale and possession prohibited; 22 “moist” counties (with “wet” cities allowing package liquor sales in counties otherwise dry); 29 counties that are otherwise dry but have communities with local option that allow sales of liquor by the drink or under special exemptions allowing sales at wineries. Majority of wet counties are around major metropolitan areas (Louisville, Lexington, Covington, Bowling Green). Note: Beginning in 2013 Liquor by the drink and beer by the drink are available on Sundays in Louisville, KY beginning at 10:00 am. Bowling Green, KY recently began allowing Sunday sales in December 2013 for carry-out beer, wine, and liquor. Prohibition on liquor sales on Election Day was repealed effective June 24, 2013. Kentucky was one of only two states to still have Election Day prohibition, the other being South Carolina.|
|Louisiana||No||No state imposed restrictions on on-premises hours.24 hour bars are common in the New Orleans metro area.24 hour bars also exist in the Lake Charles metro area (Calcasieu Parish) and in Cameron Parish, however those in the city limits of Lake Charles must close on Sundays. Shreveport’s closing time for bars is 6am downtown and 4am elsewhere. Most municipalities and parishes (including and ) require on-premises service to stop at 3:00 am or earlier.||No statewide restrictions on hours of package sales.||Yes||21||Exceptions to state law include: For an established religious purpose;When a person under twenty-one years of age is accompanied by a parent, spouse, or legal guardian twenty-one years of age or older;For medical purposes when purchased as an over the counter medication, or when prescribed or administered by a licensed physician, pharmacist, dentist, nurse, hospital, or medical institution;In a private residence, which shall include a residential dwelling and up to twenty contiguous acres, on which the dwelling is located, owned by the same person who owns the dwelling;The sale, handling, transport, or service in dispensing of any alcoholic beverage pursuant to lawful ownership of an establishment or to lawful employment of a person under twenty-one years of age by a duly licensed manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer of beverage alcohol.||Packaged alcoholic beverages of any strength may be sold in supermarkets, drug stores, gas stations, and convenience stores. Local municipalities may not restrict this. As a result, dedicated “liquor stores” are mostly specialty stores in larger cities, and some supermarkets have large selections of liquors and wines, and compete on the basis of liquor prices and selection. Alcohol can be consumed in the streets of New Orleans as long as it is in an “unbreakable container” (no glass) and may be taken from club to club if both establishments allow it. Otherwise, it depends on the locality. Most parishes other than Orleans and Lafayette Parishes do not permit alcoholic beverages served on premises to be carried out. However, many parishes and municipalities permit consumption of packaged beverages (for example, cans of beer) on the street. Glass bottles on the streets are prohibited. One can enter most bars at 18 years of age but must be 21 years old to purchase or consume alcohol. Also, it is legal in the state of Louisiana for a legal parent or guardian to purchase alcoholic beverages for their underaged child. There are numerous dry towns in Louisiana with the bulk of them in the northern half of the state, and until 2020, West Carroll Parish was the last completely dry Parish in Louisiana. Drive-thru frozen stands are legal and common, but the police can arrest you for driving with an open container, if you have put the straw in the cup|
|No||Yes||5 a.m. to 1 a.m. (Mon–Sun)||Yes||21||21||ABV > Alcohol may not be purchased after 1 a.m. any day of the week, may not be purchased prior to 5 a.m. Bars and restaurants may serve until 1:15 a.m. On alcohol may be sold one hour later in all establishments. Wholesaling through state-licensed monopoly. Municipalities may prohibit the sale of alcohol by referendum; 56 towns have done so.|
|No, except Montgomery County||Variable by locality||Variable by locality||No, with exceptions for stores grandfathered in prior to the law.||21||?||prohibits the sale on Sunday in some areas. In the counties of,,, and sale of alcoholic beverages are controlled directly by the county Liquor Control Boards, there are exceptions in Montgomery where some liquors are still sold in grocery store due to being grandfathered before the change of the law. Garrett County prohibits the sale on Sunday except in some areas. There are no dry counties, but some individual voting districts within counties restrict or prohibit alcohol on a local-option basis.|
|No||8:00 a.m. – 2:00 a.m. by state law, although individual cities and towns may prohibit sales before 11:00 a.m. and after 11:00 p.m. Not before 11:00 a.m. on Sunday.||8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m., or 8:00 a.m. – 11:30 p.m. on the day before a holiday. Not before 10:00 am on Sunday.||Yes.||21||21||As of January 2020, no individual, partnership, or corporation may have more than nine off-premises licences in the state, nor more than two in any city, nor more than one in any town. No individual, partnership, or corporation not resident or headquartered in Massachusetts may apply for a license, although one may devolve thereupon. As of October 29, 2012, a Massachusetts driver’s license, Massachusetts Liquor ID card, RMV-issued Massachusetts non-driver ID card, passport (issued by the US or a US-recognized foreign entity), US-issued Passport Card, and military identification card are the only acceptable proofs of age under state law. Out of state or Canadian driver’s licenses/ ID’s and other forms of identification do not grant the establishment legal protection if accepted as proof of age (and many establishments will not accept out of state licenses for this reason). On-premises regulations: No discounts at specific times (i.e. no “” discounts) or for specific individuals, no fixed-price open bar or all-you-can-drink (except at private functions), no more than two drinks per individual at any one time, no pitchers for fewer than two people, no drinking contests, no drinks as prizes, no free drinks. Off-premises sale of alcohol is prohibited on the last Monday in May (Memorial Day), Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and the day after Christmas if Christmas falls on a Sunday. Sale of alcohol is prohibited during polling hours on election days (subject to local exceptions). “Malt beverages” defined as having not more than 12% alcohol by weight.|
Can you buy alcohol in the morning in Texas?
Off-premise beer/wine license or permit (e.g., convenience store or grocery store): Monday – Friday: 7 a.m. – midnight. Saturday: 7 a.m. – 1 a.m. (Sunday morning)
Can you buy alcohol before 8am in New York?
How late can you buy alcohol in New York? – Restaurants, bars or other businesses who sell for on-premise consumption cannot serve: Between 4:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m. Before 12:00 p.m. noon on Sundays Liquor stores, supermarkets and other businesses who sell for off-premise consumption cannot sell: Between midnight and 8:00 a.m.
What time is last call in New Mexico?
United States – In the U.S., the last call time varies mostly on state, county and/or municipality. State-specific laws
- Alabama : 2 a.m. (Many bars and nightclubs in Birmingham serve alcohol past 2 a.m. with certain licensing and determine last call when business diminishes. There is at least one nightclub in the city that serves alcohol 24/7 365 days a year. Mobile has many 24/7 bars and the bars in their downtown entertainment district stay open typically until 7:00 am the next morning on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.
- Alaska : 5 a.m.; while most cities restrict this further, some do not (primarily smaller Matanuska-Susitna Valley towns), and some villages are dry,
- Arizona : 2 a.m.
- Arkansas : 2 a.m.
- California : 2 a.m.
- Colorado : 2 a.m.
- Connecticut : 2 a.m. Friday and Saturday nights.1 a.m. Sunday through Thursday., 3 a.m. New Year’s Eve (Day)
- Delaware : Last call is 12:45 a.m. Service must stop at 1 a.m. All drinks must be removed from tables by 2 a.m. Service resumes at 9 a.m.
- District of Columbia : 3 a.m. on Friday night, Saturday night, and the night before a federal or D.C. holiday; 4 a.m. on the night of New Year’s Eve and the beginning of daylight saving time; 2 a.m. other nights.
- Florida : Last call set statewide to 2 a.m., some cities have passed exemptions to the law, notably Tampa, St. Petersburg, and Pinellas County (3 a.m.), Broward County (4 a.m.), Key West (4 a.m.), and Miami (24 hours in the Miami Entertainment District; 4:50 a.m. otherwise). Liquor store closing times vary by county.
- Georgia : Varies by county (most are set at 2 a.m., while others may have different times or no time at all). In Atlanta, most bars are allowed to close at 2:30 a.m., but Underground Atlanta can operate until 4 a.m.
- Hawaii : 4 a.m. Not all bars qualify for a 4 a.m. license; these must close at 2 a.m.
- Idaho : 2 a.m.
- Illinois : 1 a.m. through 3 a.m., varies by municipality. In Chicago, it is regular license bars 2 a.m., Sunday to Friday at 3 a.m. Saturday. Some bars have a late night license, allowing them to close two hours later so 4 a.m. Sunday through Friday at 5 a.m. Saturday.
- Indiana : 3 a.m. (was 12:30 on Sundays, not currently)
- Iowa : 2 a.m.
- Kansas : 2 a.m. (in the 17 counties allowing bars without limitation)
- Kentucky : 2 a.m. In Louisville, some bars may buy 4 a.m. licenses.
- Louisiana : There is no statewide closing time. Bars may remain open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Except, Louisiana law provides:
“The governing authority of any municipality within a parish with a population between fifty-three thousand and fifty-seven thousand persons according to the most recent federal decennial census may enact ordinances to regulate the closing times of bars located within the municipality, subject to approval by a majority of the qualified electors of the municipality voting at an election held for the purpose.”
- Maine : 1 a.m., 2 a.m. on New Year’s Eve. In all instances, there is a 15-minute consumption period before the premises must be vacated.
- Maryland : 2 a.m.
- Massachusetts : 2 a.m., although cities and towns can (and frequently do) set last call earlier; Casinos can serve until 4 a.m., if purchaser is actively gaming. Alcohol sales stop 30 minutes prior to closing time.
- Michigan : 2 a.m., 4 a.m. New Year’s Eve.
- Minnesota : 2 a.m. Many cities have a 1 a.m. restriction.
- Mississippi : 12:00 midnight or 1:00 a.m.; depending on city. Larger metro areas usually adhere to “After Midnight” policy. Most casinos do not have a last call.
- Missouri : 1:30 a.m. in most of the state; 3 a.m. in specially licensed establishments in the two largest metropolises of St. Louis and Kansas City, and their surrounding areas.
- Montana : Last call for bars and taverns is around 1:30 a.m. One can purchase beer from many local gas stations and grocery stores until 2 a.m. State law reads, “Agency liquor stores may remain open during the period between 8 a.m. and 2 a.m.” In spite of this, most liquor stores close on or before 10 p.m. with the exception of casino/liquor stores.
- Nebraska : 1 a.m.; except for municipalities (Omaha & Lincoln) are allowed to stay open until 2 am.
- Nevada : There is no set statewide closing time. Bars may remain open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- New Hampshire : Statewide is 1:00 a.m., bars must close at 1:30 a.m. Must call last call at 12:45 a.m. On-premises licensees may sell from 6:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m., 7 days a week. The licensee may sell until 2:00 a.m. under conditions authorized by the city or town in which the premises (bar or club) are located if the city or town’s legislative body adopts an ordinance authorizing such sale
- New Jersey : No statewide closing time. Most municipalities set their last call at 2 a.m. Atlantic City serves 24 hours. Ocean City is a dry town,
- New Mexico : 2 a.m. Monday thru Saturday.12a.m. on Sundays.
- New York : Under state law, establishments must stop serving alcohol by 4 a.m. The actual closing time is left up to each of New York’s 62 counties. The 4 a.m. time applies in New York City ; clubs and bars may remain open without serving alcohol; they may start serving at 7 a.m. except on Sunday when sales begin at noon. Last call is also 4 a.m. in Albany, Buffalo, and Saratoga Springs, Binghamton has a last call of 3 a.m., Syracuse and Rochester have a time of 2 a.m., and Elmira, Geneva, and Ithaca have a time of 1 a.m. Rural counties may be even earlier.
- North Carolina : Last call is 2 a.m. statewide. On weekdays and Saturdays, alcohol can be sold beginning at 7 a.m., on Sunday alcohol sales begin at noon. Liquor stores (ABC) closed on Sundays.
- North Dakota : 1 a.m. Recent legislation allows each county and city by local option to set a 2 a.m. closing time. North Dakota’s closing time is strict. All drinks must be off the tables and the bar closed by the mandatory closing time.
- Ohio : Last call is 2 a.m. statewide, but establishments may acquire licenses that allow them to serve until 2:30 a.m. Store-bought beer and wine sales stop at 1 a.m. Liquor over 42 proof must be purchased in state-approved stores, whose sales stop at 10 p.m.
- Oklahoma : 2 a.m.
- Oregon : 2:30 a.m.
- Pennsylvania : 2 a.m. in taverns, 3 a.m. in membership-only clubs statewide. Sales may begin as early as 7 a.m. Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board –operated liquor stores (known as “Wine & Spirits Shoppes”, or commonly called “state stores”) operate various hours, but never open before 9 a.m. and never close later than 10 p.m. About ten percent of state stores, most of which near the borders of the Commonwealth, are open from noon to 5 p.m. on Sundays.
- Rhode Island : 1 a.m. seven days a week.2 a.m. in Providence only on Friday and Saturday nights and nights before a state-recognized holiday.
- South Carolina : Set by county or municipality. No alcohol sales (on or off premises) is permitted on Sundays, except in Aiken City, Columbia, Charleston, Greenville / North Augusta, South Carolina, Spartanburg, and the Myrtle Beach area.
- South Dakota : 2 a.m.
- Tennessee : 3 a.m.
- Texas : Serving stops at midnight or 2 a.m. (depending on city and county population) on Monday through Saturday; beverages may be sold until 1 or 2 a.m. Sunday (depending on population), and then again at 10 a.m. (if food is served with the liquor) or 12 noon (regardless of food). All drinks must be up fifteen minutes after serving stops. Starting September 1, 2021, hotel bars will be able to serve alcohol to registered guests 24/7
- Utah : Last call is 1 a.m., and establishments must be closed by 2 a.m.
- Vermont : 2 a.m., 3 a.m. on New Year’s Eve
- Virginia : All on-premises drinks must be up by 2 a.m. If Daylight Saving Time is ending, the first instance of 2 a.m. counts. Some bars possess grandfathered licenses obtained before the current last call was instituted, allowing them to sell at any time. Off-premises premises must stop by midnight. Liquors may be acquired for off-premises consumption only at state-run liquor stores, which have fewer hours.
- Washington : 2 a.m.
- West Virginia : 3 a.m.
- Wisconsin : 2 a.m. Sunday through Thursday, 2:30 a.m. Friday and Saturday. No closing time on New Year’s Eve.
- Wyoming : 2 a.m.
- Albany, New York : 4 a.m.
- Atlanta : 2:30 a.m.; 4 a.m. in Underground Atlanta, Midnight on Sunday night/Monday morning.
- Atlantic City : Bars may stay open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- Austin : 2 a.m.
- Baltimore : 2 a.m.
- Bloomington and Normal, Illinois : 1 a.m. on weeknights, 2 a.m. on weekends.
- Bloomington, Indiana : 3 a.m.
- Boston : 2 a.m.
- Buffalo : 4 a.m., 24 hours on specific holidays.
- Champaign, Illinois : 2 a.m.
- Charlotte : 2 a.m.
- Chicago : Some bars may choose to close at 2 a.m. or earlier. They may alternately get an extension to allow them to close at 4 a.m. or earlier. On Saturdays, closing times are shifted an hour back to 3 and 5 a.m.
- Cincinnati : 2:15 a.m. for last call; 2:30 a.m. for closing time.
- Cleveland : 2:30 a.m.
- Columbus : 2:30 a.m.
- Denver : 2 a.m.
- Florence, South Carolina : 2 a.m. for hard liquor, 3 a.m. for beer. This includes Sundays where any bar that is defined as a private club may operate 7 days a week, otherwise last call is midnight Saturday night, until the establishment reopens for business on Monday.
- Fort Wayne, Indiana : 3 a.m.
- Houston : alcohol service stops at 2 a.m.
- Indianapolis : 3 a.m.
- Kansas City, Missouri : 1:30 a.m. for most bars, 3 a.m. for specially licensed bars in certain geographic areas, 6:00 a.m. for one bar only, the Mutual Musicians Foundation.
- Key West, Florida : 4 a.m.
- Lake Charles, Louisiana : 24 hours a day except Sundays. Bars must be closed between 2:30 a.m. on Sunday and 12:01 a.m. on Monday.
- Las Vegas : Bars may stay open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- Los Angeles : 2 a.m.
- Lexington, Kentucky : 2:30 a.m.
- Louisville, Kentucky : 2 a.m. or 4 a.m., depending on license.
- Miami : 3 a.m.; Bars may stay open 24 hours, 7 days a week in the Downtown Entertainment District.
- Minneapolis–Saint Paul : 2 a.m.
- Mobile : No last call for bars operating under a private club license
- New Orleans : Bars may stay open 24 hours, 7 days a week.
- New York City : 4 a.m.; nightclubs are permitted to stay open after 4 a.m. but cannot serve alcohol.
- Pensacola, Florida : 3 a.m. (within city limits, 2 a.m. for county)
- Peoria, Illinois : Bars in the downtown district may stay open until 4 a.m. Bars in other areas may stay open until 1 a.m. Sunday through Wednesday and 2 a.m. Thursday through Saturday. Bars may stay open 2 hours later than normal closing hours on New Year’s Eve, but additional patrons are not allowed after normal closing hours.
- Phoenix / Scottsdale : 2 a.m.
- Philadelphia : 2 a.m.
- Pittsburgh : 2 a.m.
- Providence : 2 a.m. on weekends, and nights before a state-recognized holiday.1 a.m. on weeknights.
- Rochester, New York : 2 a.m.
- Salt Lake City : 1 a.m.
- San Diego : 2 a.m.
- San Francisco : 2 a.m.
- Saratoga Springs, New York : 4 a.m.
- Savannah, Georgia : 3 a.m.
- San Antonio, Texas: 2 a.m.
- Seattle : 2 a.m.
- Shreveport, Louisiana : 6 a.m. for Downtown, 4 a.m. everywhere else.
- St. Louis : 1:30 a.m. for most bars, with some 3 a.m. bars
- St. Petersburg, Florida : 3 a.m.
- Tampa : 3 a.m.
- Washington, D.C. : 3 a.m. on Friday night, Saturday night, and the night before a federal or DC holiday; 4 a.m. on the night of New Year’s Eve; 2 a.m. other nights.
What are the blue laws in New Mexico?
New Mexico – On-premise sale of alcohol is allowed from 7 AM to 2 AM and until midnight for off-premise, including Sundays. Restaurants, but not bars, can serve alcoholic beverages on Christmas Day between noon and 10 PM. There are no package (off-premise) sales on Christmas day.