Getting your spirits from out of state? You’re likely breaking the law. – Fancy spirits you can’t find in NC delivered straight to your door? Whether it’s that ever-elusive bottle of Blanton’s or that Spicy Ranch Water you had on Broadway in Nashville—or even if you just wanted to send your out-of-state bestie a bottle of our local Conniption gin turns out, you’d be breaking the law.
Perhaps you’ve seen the likes of websites such as Drizly, Frootbat and the like promising to have “the drinks come to you.” Sounds simple enough? Well, things that sound too good to be true usually are. According to the hundred-plus-page North Carolina ABC Laws spelled out in Chapter 18B of the NC General Statutes, shipping or receiving any malt beverages or liquor to residents without a valid wholesaler’s permit is illegal.
(Vino lovers—don’t sweat that wine subscription though. Wine can legally be shipped from out of state to your in-state address in specified amounts.) And before you go rolling your eyes and turning the page because you just drive a state over for those bottles and brews—well, our liquor mule friend, that makes you a criminal too above a certain quantity. WHAT CAN I DO?
It is legal to have wine shipped or delivered—both in state and out of state—in limited quantities.A winery may ship no more than 2 cases per month to any person in NC. A case of wine constitutes 12 standard 750ml bottles—thus 24 standard bottles per month. It is legal to transport liquor or malt beverages* over state lines by car, boat or plane in limited quantities. But a person may bring no more than 4 liters of spirituous liquor (a standard size bottle is 750ml) and 80 liters of malt beverages (aka 9 cases).
WHAT CAN’T I DO?
It is illegal to have any person or business out of state mail malt beverages or liquor to you in NC for any reason.It is illegal to mail/ship any beer or liquor to anyone outside of NC for any reason.
The newest whiskey sensation, Smoke Wagon shows 10 states it cannot legally ship to—but despite our laws, NC is not listed as one of them. BUT WHAT ABOUT THOSE WEBSITES Self-billed as “any bottle, anywhere,” Massachusetts-based Frootbat is an online purveyor for “the world’s finest whiskey, wine and liquor, all in one place.” Likewise, Liquor Bar Delivery out of California delivers “carefully crafted and exceptional liquors.” And the web is rampant with another dozen-plus sites just like them that will drop-ship any bottle you crave tomorrow.
So what happens when you live in NC where it is both illegal to have that liquor shipped to you and illegal for you to receive it? Well, turns out, best we can tell, nothing. We put on our investigative caps and talked to Raleigh residents who are using these sites to see what red tape or rejection they’ve encountered, if any.
During the month of February, two bottles of ever-elusive Blanton’s and Buffalo Trace whiskeys were purchased via two separate orders from Frootbat. Upon remit, the customer was sent immediate receipt and tracking details with a simple note that someone 21 years of age or older needed to be home to sign for the package.
- In essence, it was as easy as Amazon Prime—signed, sealed, delivered.
- The order was easy; the shipment was fast; arriving from F-Bat Inc. Irokos.
- Over on Liquor Bar Delivery, the same experience unfolded upon ordering a $60 bottle of Rabbit Hole Rye, a bottle impossible to find here (and it’s worth noting it was marked at the going price in every other state—compared to exorbitant prices on the black market).
With the seemingly standard hefty $25 shipping fee, the bottle was delivered as promised in the one- to five-day timeframe. So we wondered, are these sites an anomaly? Turns out, not so much. Distillers are shipping too. Relatively new Smoke Wagon whiskey is not yet available for purchase in NC.
But while bellied up to the Dram & Draught bar recently, we were told by a bargoer sipping on the latest whiskey sensation—who was oblivious to our efforts on this story—that he liked the whiskey so much that he went to their website and ordered it to his residence with no problem. Interestingly, Las Vegas-located Smoke Wagon seems to think they are doing their due diligence, as upon “add to cart,” you see a message stating “orders cannot be fulfilled” in the following states: “Alabama, Arkansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah and Vermont.” Thus, deeming NC one of the states the site is “legally” shipping to.
So what gives? Well, not all websites will mail you spirits all willy-nilly. Popular website Drizly, which promises to “let the drinks come to you,” asks you to select your location, and once you select Raleigh, liquor is off the table. Malt beverages can be purchased, but are brought from a proximal location and delivered to you within 60 minutes (um, score).
- So, given the product is being delivered within the state, this is legit.
- But Drizly does give you the option to send liquor as a gift.
- And since Drizly is based in California, you are arguably buying that liquor outside of NC and shipping it to a destination outside of NC (say from California to that bestie in New York).
WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO ME? If you violate these laws, you are guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. What will happen to you? Well, we’re not sure. So we asked the NC Alcohol Law Enforcement (ALE) how this is happening and how it’s being enforced—and if it’s not, why the arguably outdated law in hypertech times remains on the books.
- 1 Is it illegal to bring alcohol across the US Canada border?
- 1.1 Can you take alcohol across state lines Texas?
- 1.2 Can you transport alcohol across state lines Kansas?
- 1.3 Is it illegal to bring alcohol across state lines Utah?
- 1.4 How much alcohol can you bring over the US Canada land border?
- 1.5 What is the duty-free limit in the US?
- 1.6 What happens if you carry more than 2 Litres of alcohol?
- 1.7 Can you FedEx alcohol in the US?
- 1.8 Can you bring alcohol into Florida?
- 2 Is it illegal to walk with alcohol in Texas?
- 3 Is it illegal to carry around alcohol?
- 4 Is it illegal to bring alcohol into Alabama?
- 5 What is duty on alcohol into Canada?
- 6 How much can you bring from US to Canada?
Is it illegal to bring alcohol across the US Canada border?
Alcohol Quantities Permitted – You may bring in only one of the following:
1.5 liters (50.7 U.S. ounces) of wine, including wine coolers over 0.5 percent alcohol. This is equivalent to (up to) 53 fluid ounces or two 750 ml bottles of wine.1.14 liters (38.5 U.S. ounces) of liquor. This is equivalent to (up to) 40 fluid ounces or one large standard bottle of liquor.Up to 8.5 liters of beer or ale, including beer with more than 0.5 percent alcohol. This is equivalent to 287.4 U.S. fluid ounces or about 24 cans or bottles (355 ml or 12.004 U.S. fluid ounces each).
According to the Canadian Border Services Agency, the quantities of alcoholic beverages you can import must be within the limit set by provincial and territorial liquor control authorities that apply where you will enter Canada. If the amount of alcohol you want to import exceeds your personal exemption, you will have to pay the duty and taxes as well as any provincial or territorial levies that apply.
- Contact the appropriate provincial or territorial liquor control authority for more information before you go to Canada.
- Assessments typically start at 7 percent.
- You must be staying for more than 24 hours to bring alcohol into the country.
- For Canadians returning after a stay in the United States, the amount of personal exemption is dependent on how long the individual was out of the country; the highest exemptions accrue after stays of more than a 48 hours.
In 2012, Canada changed exemption limits to more closely match those of the United States.
How much alcohol can be carried?
04 /5 Maximum quantities for liquors (Delhi specific) – Here are the exact quantities of liquors that you can legally store at home if you are a Delhi resident.
Indian Liquor and Foreign Liquor- Whisky rum, gin, vodka, and brandy (except wine liqueur, beer, cider and alcopop)- 9 litres.Wine, beer, liqueur, cider and alcopop- 18 litres.Indian Liquor or Foreign Liquor- 1 litre while entering Delhi from other states.Foreign Liquor – 2 litres while entering Delhi from other countries.
Can you transport alcohol to the US?
There is no federal limit on the amount of alcohol a traveler may import into the U.S. for personal use, however, large quantities might raise the suspicion that the importation is for commercial purposes. You are not permitted to ship alcoholic beverages by mail to the United States per U.S. postal laws.
Can you take alcohol across state lines Texas?
You must be importing the alcohol for personal consumption.Do not bring back more than the maximum quantity of alcohol allowed. (See the question below for the quantity limits.)You can’t import alcohol more than once in a 30-day period.The person doing the importing must accompany the alcoholic beverages. If you’re with a group of people, you can all import the maximum amount allowed within the group. For example, four people will be allowed to import 4 gallons of distilled spirits. Large groups will be questioned about whether the alcohol is for personal use. People who are younger than 21 or intoxicated may not bring alcohol into Texas.
Yes. All alcoholic beverages imported into Texas are subject to the state liquor tax and a $3 administrative fee collected by TABC’s regulatory compliance officers. Our officers document your payment by issuing you a receipt. If you do not pay the tax you can be subject to a fine ranging from $100 to $1,000 and/or a jail term of up to one year.
1 gallon of distilled spirits.3 gallons of wine.24 12-ounce containers of beer (288 ounces of beer).
You won’t be allowed substitutions between the types of beverages (e.g., 3 gallons of distilled spirits instead of wine). If the limits were not in place, more products that are untested would enter the state. The amount of alcohol imported per person is limited to ensure that it is safely consumed.
TABC will destroy alcoholic beverages over the importation limits. Officers will also not allow alcohol to be imported by people younger than 21 and intoxicated people, and cigarettes can’t be imported by people under 21. Texas law allows a person to import an unlimited personal collection of malt beverages, wine or distilled spirits along with their household goods when relocating to the state.
You do not have to fill out any paperwork or pay the typical state taxes. If you’re moving to Texas from outside of the U.S., contact U.S. Customs and Border Protection about federal regulations and taxes. See Alcoholic Beverage Code Section 107.11, If you are bringing liquor to sell at your bar, no.
- Any imported alcohol must be for personal consumption only and may not be resold.
- But if you’re relocating your household to Texas, you can import an unlimited personal collection of malt beverages, wine or distilled spirit as part of your household goods without paying state taxes or filling out any paperwork.
Yes. You may avail yourself to the state limit on liquor imported for personal use, so long as it is declared in accordance with U.S. Customs and Border Protection officials. No. A person 21 or older is allowed to import no more than 24 twelve-ounce containers (or one case) of beer per month.
A keg has 4,464 ounces of beer. This means you’d have to have seven people with you to bring over a keg. A pony keg has 496 ounces and would require two people.
Can you transport alcohol across state lines Kansas?
Carriers. (a) All alcoholic liquor, except beer, shipped into the state of Kansas shall be transported only by common, contract or private carriers that hold liquor carrier permits issued by the director.
Is it illegal to bring alcohol across state lines Utah?
Can I bring alcoholic beverages into Utah from another state? No, with some exceptions. It is ILLEGAL to go to another state, purchase the booze and bring it back to Utah. It is ILLEGAL to receive alcoholic beverages through the US Postal service or any other courier service.
How much alcohol can you bring over the US Canada land border?
You must have the tobacco products* and alcoholic beverages with you when you enter Canada, but the rest of the goods can arrive later, as goods to follow. You can bring back up to 1.5 litres of wine or 1.14 litres of alcoholic beverages or up to 8.5 litres of beer.
What is the duty-free limit in the US?
In most cases, the personal exemption is $800, but there are some exceptions to this rule, which are explained below. Depending on the countries you have visited, your personal exemption will be $200, $800, or $1,600.
How many liters of alcohol can I bring?
Alcoholic beverages Carry On Bags: Yes (Less than or equal to 3.4oz/100 ml allowed) Check with your airline before bringing any alcohol beverages on board. FAA regulations prohibit travelers from consuming alcohol on board an aircraft unless served by a flight attendant.
- Additionally, Flight Attendants are not permitted to serve a passenger who is intoxicated.
- Alcoholic beverages with more than 24% but not more than 70% alcohol are limited in checked bags to 5 liters (1.3 gallons) per passenger and must be in unopened retail packaging.
- Alcoholic beverages with 24% alcohol or less are not subject to limitations in checked bags.
Mini bottles of alcohol in carry-on must be able to comfortably fit into a single quart-sized bag. For more information, see FAA regulation: : Alcoholic beverages
What happens if you carry more than 2 Litres of alcohol?
You stop and shop after immigration and before customs at the baggage claim area. You are allowed two litres of spirits. If you walk through customs with more than that without declaring them then you may be stopped and have the bottles confiscated, or you may be fined, or both.
How many mL of alcohol allowed in airport?
How many ounces of alcohol can you carry on an airplane? – You can bring as many 3.4-ounce (100 mL) bottles that will fit comfortably into “one, quart-sized, clear plastic, zip-top bag.” Mini liquor bottles—a.k.a. airplane shooters—are 1.7 ounces. By “comfortably,” the TSA, means that “the bag will seal without busting at the seams.” There is a limit of one plastic bag per passenger. Kahlua or Baileys mini-liquor bottles make for a superb boozy coffee at 30,000 feet.
Can you pack alcohol in checked luggage internationally?
Want to bring some ‘air sodas’ on your next flight? That’s cool with us! Whether you are traveling with craft beer, cougar juice or hard liquor, we’ve got you covered. Don’t be absinthe-minded and make pour choices, follow these tips on your next trip! According to the FAA, it’s all about the alcohol content! Alcohol less than 24% alcohol by volume (ABV) or 48 proof, like most beers and wine:
For carry-on you are limited to containers of 3.4oz or less that can fit comfortably in one quart-sized, clear, zip-top bag. If it’s overflowing from the bag, that isn’t comfortable. Please remember, one bag per passenger, For checked bags, there is no limit! I wish this was true when I was in college.
Alcohol between 24% – 70% ABV (48 – 140 proof):
For carry-on, same rules apply as above. You are limited to containers of 3.4oz or less that fit in your quart-sized bag. For checked bags you are limited to five liters per passenger. However, it must be in unopened retail packaging!
Alcohol over 70% ABV or over 140 proof:
Leave your bathtub brew at home! Seriously the strong stuff isn’t allowed in carry-on or checked bags!
Our airline partners and the FAA ask that you don’t drink your own booze while flying. Let’s leave the pouring to the pros! And be sure to check your airline’s website to make sure they are cool with being a designated flyer for your hooch. Planning on buying some ‘cough medicine’ at the duty-free store after the security checkpoint? You’re limited to 5 liters of alcohol between 24%-70% ABV or 48 – 140 proof.
The bottles are packed in a transparent, secure, tamper-evident bag by the retailer. Don’t try to sneak a swig! If the bag looks opened or tampered with, then it won’t be allowed to fly in your carry-on bag. Keep the receipt! You must show that the alcohol was purchased within the last 48 hours.
Are you brining wine or other spirits from overseas? Our friends at Customs and Border Protection are in charge of the rules for bringing alcohol into the United States, Cheers! Jay Wagner
Can you FedEx alcohol in the US?
How do I ship alcohol as a gift to friends or family? – As an individual, you may not ship alcohol, including wine, beer, liquor, or champagne, through the FedEx network. If you’d like to send alcohol as a gift to a friend or family member, you’ll need to have it shipped from the licensed retailer or winery you purchased it from.
How much is duty on alcohol into us?
Duty on wine and beer is generally low, $1-2 per liter, while fortified wines and spirits are considerably higher. Duty rates can be obtained in Chapter 22 ‘Beverages, Spirits and Vinegar, in the Harmonized Tariff Schedule. Federal IRS Excise tax is also collected.
Can you bring alcohol into Florida?
Florida’s Rules About Importing Alcohol – For those traveling to Florida, it’s important to understand that the state has specific requirements for importing alcohol for personal consumption. These rules apply even when the alcohol was purchased abroad and is intended for personal use.
- Florida requires that any person bringing in more than one gallon of alcohol for personal use must report it to the Florida Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco (ABT) and pay Florida excise taxes.
- To comply with Florida’s regulations, travelers must complete an Application for and Permit to Import Alcoholic Beverages (Form ABT 4000A-035) and submit it to the ABT along with an inventory of the alcohol being imported, including the bottle size and volume.
Because products originating in foreign countries are more likely to reflect measurements in liters, the ABT’s Gallonage Conversion Chart may help. Additionally, travelers must provide confirmation of the shipping and expected arrival dates in Florida and pay the appropriate Florida excise taxes.
- For those who are active duty military service members and their families, the ABT may excuse them from paying Florida excise taxes on alcoholic beverages purchased overseas for personal consumption.
- However, they still must complete and file the import application, inventory, and confirmation of dates with the ABT, and submit a copy of their orders to a post in the United States or retirement papers.
The ABT will determine whether to excuse payment of excise taxes on a case-by-case basis.
Is it illegal to walk with alcohol in Texas?
Is it Legal to Have an Open Container in Texas in Public? – Contrary to popular belief, there is no statewide ban prohibiting public consumption of alcohol in Texas, unless you are in a state park or in an area of a city where it has specifically been deemed illegal.
Public Places – You cannot drink in a public place on: Sunday between 12:15 a.m. and noon; Monday through Friday between 12:15 a.m. and 7 a.m.; and Sunday between 12:15 a.m and noon. Exception: Public consumption is legal between 10 a.m. and noon on Sunday at an on-premise establishment with food or at a winery, fair, festival, concert, or sports venue.
Public Places Permitted to Sell Alcohol – You cannot consume alcohol in a public place that is a permitted to sell alcohol on: Sunday between 2:15 a.m. and noon; Monday through Saturday between 2:15 a.m. and 7 a.m. Exception: Public consumption is legal between 10 a.m. and noon on Sunday at an on-premise location with the purchase of food or at a winery, fair, festival, concert or sports venue.
It is a Class A misdemeanor to sell or consume alcohol at a place permitted to sell alcohol during the restricted timeframes. Special rules apply to sports venues, wineries, distilleries, and special events. Additionally, cities can prohibit the possession of an open container or the public consumption of alcohol pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage Code Section 109.35,
Is it illegal to carry around alcohol?
Is it illegal to walk around with an open bottle of alcohol? – Most U.S. states prohibit you from having an open bottle of alcohol in a public place, such as on the streets. Open container laws generally also prohibit drivers and passengers from possessing an open container of alcohol inside of a car.
Is it illegal to bring alcohol into Alabama?
Alabama DMV: Carrying Booze in Your Car Once again, this surely doesn’t apply to you, but it’s best that you know anyway, for research purposes. It is absolutely verboten to have any opened containers of alcohol in your car, and clearly it is illegal for you to be drinking any of it.
All alcohol must be full, sealed, and unopened, and it must remain that way until you arrive at that sophisticated dinner party full of responsible adults you’re going to. If you are transporting a bottle of alcohol that has been previously opened but is now capped (and not being enjoyed in the backseat, hopefully), that alcohol should be in the trunk.
If you do not have a trunk, the alcohol should be in the compartment or space that is LEAST accessible to the driver. This rule does not apply to anyone in a chartered bus, taxi, or limousine for hire, provided the driver does not have any alcohol in the driving area.
Can you bring alcohol into California?
Importing Alcoholic Beverages For Personal Or Household Use Adults (persons age 21 or older) who bring alcoholic beverages into California for commercial or business purposes must be licensed by the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC). Adults who bring alcoholic beverages into California for personal or household use do not need an alcoholic beverage license; however, some restrictions do apply, as explained below (Section 23661 Business and Professions Code).
Can you bring alcohol across the border to the states?
There is no federal limit on the amount of alcohol a traveler may import into the United States for personal use, however, large quantities might raise the suspicion that the importation is for commercial purposes, and an U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) officer could require that you comply with the
What state has the most restrictive alcohol laws?
|Statefederal district or territory||Alcohol sale hours||Grocery Store Sales||Age||Notes|
|Beer||Wine||Distilled spirits||On-premises||Off-premises||Beer||Wine||Distilled Spirits||Purchasing||Consumption|
|Idaho||No||Yes||6:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m., 7:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. in some counties||Yes||No||Alcoholic beverages exceeding 16% can only be sold in stores, or contracted stores.|
|Illinois||No||Depending on local government; 24-hour bars are permitted in ; a handful of 21- to 22-hour bars exist in, and the, In Rock Island County, many establishments sell alcohol 24 hours a day.||Yes||Opening/closing hours are up to the decision of counties or municipalities.|
|No||7 a.m. – 3 a.m.||7 a.m. – 3 a.m.Noon – 8 p.m. on Sunday.||Yes||Indiana prohibits the sales of cold beer by grocery stores or gas stations, but allows cold beer to be sold from liquor stores (IC 7.1-5-10-11). Sales during a portion of the day (e.g., ) are prohibited, but all-day drink specials are allowed (IC 7.1-5-10-20). Minors, including babies, are not allowed to enter liquor stores, taverns, or bars (IC 7.1-5-7-9). Indiana has a photo identification requirement for all off-premises transactions to anyone who appears to be less than 40 years old. (IC 7.1-5-10-23). Public intoxication is a class B misdemeanor. (IC 7.1-5-1-3)|
|Iowa||No||Yes||6 a.m. – 2 a.m.||Yes||If a controlled substance is detected in a person’s system at or near the time they were operating a motor vehicle, they can be charged and potentially convicted of operating while intoxicated even if they were not “impaired” by that substance.|
|No||6 a.m. – 2 a.m. (in counties which allow on-premises sales)||9 a.m. – 11 p.m. (Mon–Sat)9 a.m. – 8 p.m. (Sun) (in communities which allow Sunday off-premises sales)||Yes (6.0% ABV maximum)||No||21||21 No exceptions to the law||Kansas’s alcohol laws are among the strictest in the United States. Kansas prohibited all alcohol from 1881 to 1948, and continued to prohibit on-premises sales of alcohol from 1949 to 1987. Sunday sales only have been allowed since 2005. Today, 3 counties still do not permit the on-premises sale of alcohol.63 counties require a business to receive at least 30% of revenue from food sales to allow on-premises sale of alcohol. Only 39 counties allow general on-premises sales. Not all communities which allow off-premises sales allow sales on Sunday. There are four towns where liquor stores are not allowed. Off premise sales are prohibited on, and, Beer containing no more than 6.0% alcohol by volume may be sold in grocery and convenience stores. Prior to April 1, 2019, the only alcoholic beverage which grocery stores and gas stations were allowed to sell was, Other liquor sales only are allowed at state-licensed retail liquor stores. Kansas has comprehensive open container laws for public places and vehicles, public intoxication laws, and requirements for prospective on-premises or off-premises licensees. Liquor stores can now be open at 9am on Sunday where Sunday Sales are allowed and cocktails to go are now permanently legal|
|No||6 a.m. to 4 a.m. on Monday through Saturday||1 p.m. to 4 a.m. on Sundays||Yes||No||Local ordinance may vote to permit Sunday sales at restaurants. Sales 2–4 a.m. only in Louisville. As of 2005 Sunday sales were allowed per state law, but may still be prohibited in some areas by local ordinance (as of early 2006, such a situation existed with smaller cities within Louisville Metro, though these cities have since changed local ordinances). Alcohol sale restriction and wet/dry (both by drink and package) allowed by both county and city local option. Approximately 39 counties in the state (mostly eastern and southern counties) are dry, all alcohol sale and possession prohibited; 22 “moist” counties (with “wet” cities allowing package liquor sales in counties otherwise dry); 29 counties that are otherwise dry but have communities with local option that allow sales of liquor by the drink or under special exemptions allowing sales at wineries. Majority of wet counties are around major metropolitan areas (Louisville, Lexington, Covington, Bowling Green). Note: Beginning in 2013 Liquor by the drink and beer by the drink are available on Sundays in Louisville, KY beginning at 10:00 am. Bowling Green, KY recently began allowing Sunday sales in December 2013 for carry-out beer, wine, and liquor. Prohibition on liquor sales on Election Day was repealed effective June 24, 2013. Kentucky was one of only two states to still have Election Day prohibition, the other being South Carolina.|
|Louisiana||No||No state imposed restrictions on on-premises hours.24 hour bars are common in the New Orleans metro area.24 hour bars also exist in the Lake Charles metro area (Calcasieu Parish) and in Cameron Parish, however those in the city limits of Lake Charles must close on Sundays. Shreveport’s closing time for bars is 6am downtown and 4am elsewhere. Most municipalities and parishes (including and ) require on-premises service to stop at 3:00 am or earlier.||No statewide restrictions on hours of package sales.||Yes||21||Exceptions to state law include: For an established religious purpose;When a person under twenty-one years of age is accompanied by a parent, spouse, or legal guardian twenty-one years of age or older;For medical purposes when purchased as an over the counter medication, or when prescribed or administered by a licensed physician, pharmacist, dentist, nurse, hospital, or medical institution;In a private residence, which shall include a residential dwelling and up to twenty contiguous acres, on which the dwelling is located, owned by the same person who owns the dwelling;The sale, handling, transport, or service in dispensing of any alcoholic beverage pursuant to lawful ownership of an establishment or to lawful employment of a person under twenty-one years of age by a duly licensed manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer of beverage alcohol.||Packaged alcoholic beverages of any strength may be sold in supermarkets, drug stores, gas stations, and convenience stores. Local municipalities may not restrict this. As a result, dedicated “liquor stores” are mostly specialty stores in larger cities, and some supermarkets have large selections of liquors and wines, and compete on the basis of liquor prices and selection. Alcohol can be consumed in the streets of New Orleans as long as it is in an “unbreakable container” (no glass) and may be taken from club to club if both establishments allow it. Otherwise, it depends on the locality. Most parishes other than Orleans and Lafayette Parishes do not permit alcoholic beverages served on premises to be carried out. However, many parishes and municipalities permit consumption of packaged beverages (for example, cans of beer) on the street. Glass bottles on the streets are prohibited. One can enter most bars at 18 years of age but must be 21 years old to purchase or consume alcohol. Also, it is legal in the state of Louisiana for a legal parent or guardian to purchase alcoholic beverages for their underaged child. There are numerous dry towns in Louisiana with the bulk of them in the northern half of the state, and until 2020, West Carroll Parish was the last completely dry Parish in Louisiana. Drive-thru frozen stands are legal and common, but the police can arrest you for driving with an open container, if you have put the straw in the cup|
|No||Yes||5 a.m. to 1 a.m. (Mon–Sun)||Yes||21||21||ABV > Alcohol may not be purchased after 1 a.m. any day of the week, may not be purchased prior to 5 a.m. Bars and restaurants may serve until 1:15 a.m. On alcohol may be sold one hour later in all establishments. Wholesaling through state-licensed monopoly. Municipalities may prohibit the sale of alcohol by referendum; 56 towns have done so.|
|No, except Montgomery County||Variable by locality||Variable by locality||No, with exceptions for stores grandfathered in prior to the law.||21||?||prohibits the sale on Sunday in some areas. In the counties of,,, and sale of alcoholic beverages are controlled directly by the county Liquor Control Boards, there are exceptions in Montgomery where some liquors are still sold in grocery store due to being grandfathered before the change of the law. Garrett County prohibits the sale on Sunday except in some areas. There are no dry counties, but some individual voting districts within counties restrict or prohibit alcohol on a local-option basis.|
|No||8:00 a.m. – 2:00 a.m. by state law, although individual cities and towns may prohibit sales before 11:00 a.m. and after 11:00 p.m. Not before 11:00 a.m. on Sunday.||8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m., or 8:00 a.m. – 11:30 p.m. on the day before a holiday. Not before 10:00 am on Sunday.||Yes.||21||21||As of January 2020, no individual, partnership, or corporation may have more than nine off-premises licences in the state, nor more than two in any city, nor more than one in any town. No individual, partnership, or corporation not resident or headquartered in Massachusetts may apply for a license, although one may devolve thereupon. As of October 29, 2012, a Massachusetts driver’s license, Massachusetts Liquor ID card, RMV-issued Massachusetts non-driver ID card, passport (issued by the US or a US-recognized foreign entity), US-issued Passport Card, and military identification card are the only acceptable proofs of age under state law. Out of state or Canadian driver’s licenses/ ID’s and other forms of identification do not grant the establishment legal protection if accepted as proof of age (and many establishments will not accept out of state licenses for this reason). On-premises regulations: No discounts at specific times (i.e. no “” discounts) or for specific individuals, no fixed-price open bar or all-you-can-drink (except at private functions), no more than two drinks per individual at any one time, no pitchers for fewer than two people, no drinking contests, no drinks as prizes, no free drinks. Off-premises sale of alcohol is prohibited on the last Monday in May (Memorial Day), Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and the day after Christmas if Christmas falls on a Sunday. Sale of alcohol is prohibited during polling hours on election days (subject to local exceptions). “Malt beverages” defined as having not more than 12% alcohol by weight.|
How much alcohol can you bring to Utah?
May I bring alcoholic beverages into Utah? –
A person who enters Utah may possess for personal consumption and not for sale or resale, a maximum of nine liters of liquor purchased from outside the state. Utah’s state liquor and wine stores have excellent selections of wines, spirits, and full-strength beers. However, if you want a product that Utah Department of Alcohol Beverage Services does not normally carry, or is difficult to obtain, you may special order it in advance.
What is duty on alcohol into Canada?
What if I want to bring more than my duty & tax-free entitlement? – Alcohol If you want to bring more alcohol than the amounts listed above, you’re allowed to do so. However, exceeding the personal exemption limit means that you’ll pay duties and taxes.
Newfoundland and Labrador – 9.09 ltr Nova Scotia – 9.09 ltr Prince Edward Island – 9.09 ltr New Brunswick – 45 ltr Quebec – 9 ltr Ontario – 45 ltr Manitoba – no limit Saskatchewan – 9.1 ltr Alberta – 9.09 ltr British Columbia – 45.45 ltr Northwest Territories and Nunavut – ZERO Yukon – 9.09 ltr
Example: You want to bring 14 bottles of wine (750ml x 14 bottles = 10.5 litres) into the province of Quebec after being away for over 48 hours. You are exempt from paying any duties on one of the of 1.5 litres bottles. You must pay duties and taxes on additional 9 litres.
- If you want to bring even more than that, you would need to get a permit from the appropriate territorial or provincial liquor control authority before you (or the bottles) get to Canada.
- Buyer beware, this can be VERY expensive.
- The CBSA alcohol duty rate you’ll owe depends on several factors, such as the province you enter, the type of alcohol, the alcohol content percentage, and its country of origin.
Predicting the total amount you’ll pay is tricky, but it could be up to 85% of what you paid for the alcohol. Tobacco If you want to bring more tobacco products in addition to your personal exemption amounts, you are allowed to do so. You will need to pay duties on taxes on all products that exceed the amount listed above.
Unlike alcohol, there is no limit on how much you can bring back, but you will still be held to total personal exemption limits, You can read more about this in our earlier blog about duty exemptions, Additionally, there is a limit on how many tobacco products not stamped “duty paid Canada droit acquitté” that you can bring in.
The limit is five units of unstamped tobacco products, one unit being:
200 cigarettes; or 50 cigars or cigarillos; or 200 tobacco sticks; or 200 g (7 oz.) of manufactured tobacco.
Example: After spending over 48 hours abroad, you want to bring a combination of 200 cigarettes and 50 cigars into Canada. You purchased them at the duty free, so they are stamped “duty paid Canada droit acquitté”. You also want to bring back 200 tobacco sticks that you purchased from a local vendor on your trip.
These are not stamped “duty paid Canada droit acquitté”. You are under your personal exemption limit so you expect to pay no duties. However, you are informed by customs that you must pay duties and taxes on the 200 tobacco sticks because they are unstamped. Similar to alcohol, the Canada customs duty rates on tobacco are hard to calculate, and the amount you’ll have to pay will vary depending on several factors.
Each province has a different tobacco tax. The duties you pay will also change depending on whether the tobacco you’re bringing is unstamped or not. You can find details on how taxes and duties on tobacco are calculated on the Government of Canada website,
Is alcohol cheaper in US or Canada?
Alcohol prices in Canada are approximately twice as expensive as in the United States. The sole reason for this price difference is that the Federal and Provincial Governments regulate minimum prices and taxes on alcohol. This is often referred to as ‘social responsibility’.
How much can you bring from US to Canada?
Travellers – Bring Goods Across the Border When you return to Canada, you have to declare all of the goods you acquired while outside Canada, such as purchases, gifts, prizes or awards that you are bringing with you or are having shipped to you. Include goods that are still in your possession that you bought at a Canadian or foreign duty-free shop.
- As well, make sure you declare any repairs or alterations you made to your vehicle, vessel or aircraft while you were out of the country.
- If you aren’t sure if an article is admissible or should be declared, always declare it first and then ask the border services officer.
- Remember that officers are there to help you and will work out your personal exemption and any duty and taxes you owe in the way that benefits you most.
Personal exemption You may qualify for a personal exemption when returning to Canada. This allows you to bring goods up to a certain value into the country without paying regular duty and taxes. You are eligible for a personal exemption if you are one of the following:
a Canadian resident returning from a trip outside Canada; a former resident of Canada returning to live in this country; or a temporary resident of Canada returning from a trip outside Canada.
Children are also entitled to a personal exemption as long as the goods are for the child’s use. Parents or guardians can make a declaration to the CBSA on behalf of the child. The length of your absence from Canada determines your eligibility for an exemption and the amount of goods you can bring back, without paying any duty and taxes.
Personal exemptions do not apply to same-day cross-border shoppers.
You can claim goods worth up to CAN$200. Tobacco products and alcoholic beverages are not included in this exemption. If the value of the goods you are bringing back exceeds CAN$200, you cannot claim this exemption. Instead, duty and taxes are applicable on the entire amount of the imported goods. Goods must be in your possession and reported at time of entry to Canada. A minimum absence of 24 hours from Canada is required. For example, if you left at 19:00 on Friday the 15th, you may return no earlier than 19:00 on Saturday the 16th to claim the exemption.
You can claim goods worth up to CAN$800, You may include alcoholic beverages and tobacco products, within the prescribed limits. Refer to sections Tobacco Products and Alcoholic Beverages. Goods must be in your possession and reported at time of entry to Canada. If the value of the goods you are bringing back exceeds CAN$800, duties and taxes are applicable only on amount of the imported goods that exceeds CAN$800, A minimum absence of 48 hours from Canada is required. For example, if you left at 19:00 on Friday the 15th, you may return no earlier than 19:00 on Sunday the 17th to claim the exemption.
You can claim goods worth up to CAN$800, You must have tobacco products and alcoholic beverages in your possession when you enter Canada, but other goods may follow you by other means (such as courier or by post). However, all of the goods you are bringing back must be reported to the CBSA when you arrive. See Unaccompanied Goods section. A minimum absence of seven days is required. When calculating the number of days you have been absent, exclude the day you left Canada but include the day you returned. For example, we consider you to have been absent seven days if you left Canada on Friday the 7th and return no earlier than Friday the 14th to claim the exemption.
You cannot combine your personal exemptions with another person’s or transfer them to someone else. You cannot combine your personal exemptions. For example, if you are absent from Canada for 9 days total, you cannot combine your 48-hour exemption (CAN$800) with your 7-day exemption (CAN$800) for a total exemption of CAN$1,600. In general, the goods you include in your personal exemption must be for your personal or household use. Such goods include souvenirs that you purchased, gifts that you received from friends or relatives living outside Canada or prizes that you won. Goods you bring in for commercial use or for another person do not qualify for the exemption and are subject to applicable duties and taxes. In all cases, goods you include in your 24-hour exemption (CAN$200) or 48-hour exemption (CAN$800) must be with you upon your arrival in Canada. Except for tobacco products and alcoholic beverages, goods you claim in your 7-day exemption (CAN$800) may be shipped to your home by mail, courier or other means of transportation. You must always report the value of the goods you are importing in Canadian funds. Foreign currency amounts including any foreign taxes must be converted to Canadian dollars at the applicable exchange rate recognized by the CBSA.
For more information on personal exemptions, consult, Alcohol and tobacco limits Alcoholic beverages are products that exceed 0.5% alcohol by volume. Certain alcoholic and wine products that do not exceed 0.5% by volume are not considered alcoholic beverages.
|Wine||Up to1.5 litres of wine||Up to 53 fluid ounces||Two 750 ml bottles of wine|
|Alcoholic beverages||Up to 1.14 litres||Up to 40 fluid ounces||One large standard bottle of liquor|
|Beer or ale||Up to 8.5 litres||Up to 287 fluid ounces||Approximately 24 cans or bottles (355 ml each) of beer or ale.|
You must meet the minimum age of the province or territory where you enter Canada. Minimum ages are established by provincial or territorial authorities: 18 years for Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec and 19 years for the remaining provinces and territories.
The CBSA classifies “cooler” products according to the alcoholic beverage they contain. For example, beer coolers are considered to be beer and wine coolers are considered to be wine. The quantities of alcoholic beverages you can import must be within the limit set by provincial and territorial liquor control authorities that apply where you will enter Canada.
If the amount of alcohol you want to import exceeds your personal exemption, you will be required to pay the duty and taxes as well as any provincial or territorial levies that apply. Contact the appropriate provincial or territorial liquor control authority for more information before you return to Canada.
You can speed up your clearance by having your tobacco products available for inspection when you arrive.Whether they are stamped or unstamped, if you bring in tobacco products that exceed your personal exemption, you will be required to pay the regular duty and taxes as well as any provincial or territorial levies that apply on the excess amount.Note: You must be 18 years of age to bring tobacco products into Canada under your personal exemption.