FAQs on Buying Beer, Wine & Liquor in Colorado –
- Can you buy liquor in grocery stores in Colorado?
- In Colorado, consumers are allowed to buy beer and malt beverages at grocery stores.
- Can you buy alcohol in gas stations in Colorado?
- Yes, you can buy beer at gas stations between the hours of 8:00 AM and 12:00 AM.
- Does Colorado allow direct-to-consumer shipping?
- Yes, they allow DTC shipping for wine, but not for liqour or beer.
- What times can you buy liquor, wine, or beer in CO?
- Consumers of legal age are able to buy alcohol at package stores between 8:00 AM and 12:00 AM 7 days a week.
- Can you order alcohol to go in CO?
Yes, Govenor Jared Polis signed a bill which went into law in 2021, allowing the sale of alcohol for both takeout and delivery. As of today, this still stands. Where in Colorado can buy alcohol off-premise? Liquor and wine can be purchased in liquor stores. Beer can be purchased at gas stations and grocery stores. All purchases must take place during designated hours.
- Where can you buy alcohol for on-premise consumption in Colorado?
- You can buy beer, wine, and spirits at on-premise locations such as bars and restaurant providing they hold a license to sell and they are selling within the legal hours allocated for selling such products.
- ( Data Sources – Visit the following pages for further information:, )
Here at Park Street, we provide various services i.e.,,, and, that allows you to focus on marketing and brand building. We handle everything else! If you’re interested in learning more about the services at Park Street Companies, then please feel free to complete the form below. : Colorado Alcohol Laws, Sales Data, and Trends (2023)
- 1 How late can you sell alcohol in Colorado?
- 2 What is the drinking law in Colorado?
- 3 Can you buy beer at Costco in Colorado?
- 4 Is Colorado a beer state?
- 5 Can you buy beer in Walgreens Colorado?
- 6 Can you buy beer after 12 in California?
- 7 Can you buy beer at 18 in Colorado?
How late can you sell alcohol in Colorado?
You can still buy beer at grocery and liquor stores after 10 p.m. in Colorado, but ‘on-premise’ consumption at bars and restaurants must stop DENVER (KKTV) – Following the Colorado governor’s “last call”, the Office of Governor Jared Polis sent out an amended update on Thursday.
- The “last call” part of a makes it so that bars and restaurants won’t be able to serve alcohol for in-person consumption after 10 p.m.
- However, an amendment to the order announced on Thursday makes it so that liquor and grocery stores could continue after 10 p.m.
- To midnight.
- The hours for beer sales in Colorado are from 8 a.m.
to midnight at grocery stores. The order impacting bars and restaurants goes into effect Thursday and lasts for 30 days. The following was sent out by the governor’s office: “Rather than applying to all who are licensed to sell alcohol, the Executive Order has been amended to apply to only those who are licensed to sell alcohol for on-premises consumption.
Alcohol may still be delivered and grocery and liquor stores may continue alcohol sales after 10:00 p.m. Last call for sales for on-premise alcohol consumption or takeout alcohol orders is at 10:00 p.m. This takes effect at 10:00 p.m. today, July 23, 2020.” Copyright 2020 KKTV. All rights reserved. : You can still buy beer at grocery and liquor stores after 10 p.m.
in Colorado, but ‘on-premise’ consumption at bars and restaurants must stop
What is the drinking law in Colorado?
According to Colorado state law, persons consuming or in possession of alcohol must be of at least 21 years of age, and it is illegal to enter a liquor store if under 21 years of age.
Can you buy beer at Costco in Colorado?
1. You don’t have to be a member to buy alcohol. – Many states have a law prohibiting stores from requiring membership to purchase alcohol, which means you can buy those beverages without a club card. You’re in luck if you reside in Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Texas, or Vermont.
Is Colorado a beer state?
Home to such notable breweries as New Belgium Brewing Company, Odell Brewing Co., Great Divide Brewing, Left Hand Brewing and many others, the state is a beer-lover’s dream destination.
Can you drink in public in Colorado?
Can I Drink or Have An Open Container in Public? – In the state of Colorado, drinking alcohol with restrictions is permitted in public areas such as state or city parks. Colorado state law allows individuals to consume alcoholic beverages in public places that contain 3.2% or less ABV.
Can you buy beer in Walgreens Colorado?
Can You Buy Liquor At Walgreens? – Yes, you can buy liquor at Walgreens. You have an option to buy in-store or shop online on their website for alcoholic beverages. However, not all branches offer the same price, brands, and availability of liquor. In addition, some branches do not sell liquor because each state has laws regarding liquor sales and consumption.
Do grocery stores in Denver sell beer?
Why is the change in CO liquor law important for real estate? – Currently next to almost every grocery store I’ve visited in Colorado there is also a liquor store. Liquor stores locate next to grocery since many consumers buy groceries and then go next door to buy a bottle of wine or beer.
- In almost every other state, you can go to the grocery store and buy beer and wine in the same store.
- With, grocery stores were able to sell full strength beer.
- The new initiative will also allow wine in grocery stores.
- This will drastically change the foot traffic to liquor stores.
- Think of how many consumers would go into a liquor store to just buy a bottle of wine or a case of beer.
This will no longer occur as consumers will likely just buy the bottle when they are picking up other grocery items. This will drastically impact the profitability of liquor stores. Furthermore, stores like King Soopers (owned by Kroger) will be able to buy product considerably cheaper than a single liquor store just due to volume.
For example, there is one Costco in Colorado (on Wadsworth) that also sells beer, wine, and liquor. Their prices on beer and wine are around 15-20% cheaper than liquor stores. Large grocery stores and C-store chains will be able to buy pallets of beer and wine at a time at much lower costs and will be able to price substantially lower than the liquor store next door due to volume.
Many Colorado liquor stores will go under There is a finite demand for beer, wine, spirits. As more consumers buy beer and wine from traditional grocery retailers it will be impossible for many liquor stores to stay in business. I was at a shopping center yesterday that had a grocery store, a liquor store, and a convenience store all now selling beer and likely wine.
- The numbers don’t work to sustain all three businesses and the liquor store will be the one on the way out as beer and wine are incremental to convenience stores and grocery stores, so they don’t have to make much if any money on each sale.
- The question is how many liquor stores will close? I did a quick analysis of liquor stores per person to see how Colorado stacked up against other states.
I chose Georgia as a baseline as in Georgia you can buy beer and wine in grocery stores but to buy liquor you would need to go to an actual liquor store. This is essentially the model that Colorado is transitioning to. I looked at total liquor stores per population in Georgia and Colorado.
|Number of stores
|less stores than today
Based on Georgia’s number of liquor store per person, this will lead to a decline of almost 60% of all liquor stores going out of business in Colorado.
Does CVS sell beer in Colorado?
Does CVS Sell Drinking Alcohol? (See by State) CVS sells different types of wines, spirits, beers, and more. However, not all CVS stores sell alcoholic beverages. Those that do have to follow their local state guidelines on the permitted sale times, days, and more.
Can you buy beer after 12 in California?
What are the lawful hours for retail sale of alcoholic beverages? – From 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. of the following day. In other words, it is unlawful to sell alcoholic beverages either by the drink or by the package, between the hours of 2 a.m. and 6 a.m. of the same day.
If grounds exist for the denial of an application for a license or where a protest against the issuance of a license is filed and if ABC finds that those grounds may be removed by imposition of those conditions; Where findings are made by ABC which would justify a suspension or revocation of a license, and where the imposition of a condition is reasonably related to those findings. In the case of a suspension, the conditions may be in lieu of or in addition to the suspension; Where ABC issues an order suspending or revoking only a portion of the privileges to be exercised under the license; Where findings are made by ABC that the licensee has failed to correct objectionable conditions within a reasonable time after receipt of notice to make corrections given pursuant to subdivision (e) of Section 24200,
Can you buy beer at 18 in Colorado?
Legal Drinking Age in Colorado: A Guide to CO Drinking Age Limits This article was last updated: Oct.25th, 2022 People under age 21 in Colorado are not allowed to possess or consume alcohol. Colorado, like every other state, has minor in possession laws that make underage drinking illegal.
Can you buy 3.2 beer at 18 in Colorado?
Buying Alcohol – Colorado alcohol laws prohibit public consumption of beer that’s over 3.2% alcohol, wine, or distilled spirits. Spirits are vodka, bourbon, gin, rum, tequila, etc. However, some counties and localities prohibit the public consumption of 3.2% beer. Colorado does not consider businesses with an alcohol license to be public for the purposes of this law.
Can you buy beer after 12 in Utah?
Residents & Visitors – DABS Full liquor service is available in licensed restaurants, banquet facilities, hotels with a hospitality amenity, reception centers, airport lounges, recreational amenities, taverns and bars. Patrons may order liquor by the drink, wine by the glass or bottle, and beer in bottles, cans and on draft.
Packaged liquor, flavored malt beverages, wine, and heavy beer are available in State Liquor Stores and Package Agencies throughout the state. Restaurants with full-service liquor licenses: Liquor, wine, flavored malt beverages, and heavy beer may be served from 11:30 a.m. to midnight. Beer is available from 11:30 a.m.
to 1:00 a.m. On weekends (Saturday and Sunday), legal holidays and for private parties, alcohol service may begin at 10:30 a.m. Patrons must dine in the restaurant in order to be served an alcoholic beverage. Restaurants with limited-service liquor licenses: Wine, and heavy beer may be served from 11:30 a.m.
- To midnight.
- Beer is available from 11:30 a.m.
- To 1:00 a.m.
- On weekends (Saturday and Sunday), legal holidays and for private parties, alcohol service may begin at 10:30 AM.
- Limited restaurant licenses may not sell flavored malt beverages or distilled spirits.
- Patrons must dine at the restaurant to be served an alcoholic beverage.
Restaurants with a beer-only license: Beer may be served beginning at 11:30 a.m. and ending at 1:00 a.m. On weekends (Saturday and Sunday), legal holidays and for private parties, alcohol service may begin at 10:30 a.m. Patrons must dine at restaurants to be served an alcoholic beverage.
- Banquet licenses: Allows the storage, sale, service and consumption of liquor, wine, flavored malt beverages, heavy beer, and beer for contracted banquet activities on the premises of a hotel, resort facility, sports center, convention center, performing arts facility and an arena.
- It also allows for alcohol to be delivered through room service to adult guests in hotels and resorts.
Minibars are not allowed in the guest rooms. Alcoholic beverages may be sold on any day from 10 a.m. until 1:00 a.m. Reception center licenses: Allows the storage, sale, service and consumption of liquor, wine, heavy beer, and beer for contracted events on the licensed premises such as weddings, birthday parties, quinceañeras, etc.
Alcoholic beverages may be sold on any day from 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 a.m. Bars: Liquor, wine, flavored malt beverages, heavy beer, and beer may be served from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. Patrons may be served at a bar or table, but food must be available at all times. There are three types of bars: a) social, which are usually open to the public, b) equity, such as country clubs, and c) fraternal, such as VFW, Elks, Eagles, and Moose.
Both Equity and Fraternal are bars for members and their guests only. Airport lounges: Liquor, wine, flavored malt beverages, heavy beer, and beer may be served from 8:00 a.m. until midnight. Alcoholic beverages may be sold with or without food, and patrons may be served at a bar or table.
Airport lounges are located at the Salt Lake International Airport. Beer: Beer-only establishments sell beer to customers in a variety of venues. These include taverns, bowling alleys, ski resorts, golf courses, arenas, etc. Taverns are the only license not required to have revenue from anything but the sale of beer.
However, minors are not allowed on the premises of a tavern. The hours for beer sales in these establishments are 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. and sold on draft or in bottles and cans. Packaged beer is also available at supermarkets, grocery and convenience stores.
Liquor Stores & Package Agencies: Liquor, wine, and heavy beer sold to-go can be found at many state liquor stores throughout the state. There are also smaller stores called “package agencies” that offer a more modest selection of these products. Package agencies are often located in smaller cities, towns and in hotels and resorts for customer convenience.
Special orders may also be requested from DABS for those items not regularly carried in the stores. Utah also offers world class wine selections located at specialty wine stores. Other selected state stores also offer expanded wine selections. Find a, : Residents & Visitors – DABS