Selling alcohol and asking for ID – If you are not sure about the age of a customer who wants to buy alcohol, you must ask to see valid ID. This is not necessary if the customer is obviously old enough. Even if a buyer is 18 or older, it is prohibited to sell them alcohol if it is obvious that they will immediately pass the alcoholic beverage on to someone who is under 18.
- 1 Can you drink in public in the Netherlands?
- 2 What is drinking age in Italy?
- 3 What is the legal age in Amsterdam?
- 4 Is alcohol cheap in the Netherlands?
- 5 Can a 14 year old date a 18 year old in Oregon?
- 6 Can you buy alcohol with a minor present Oregon?
- 7 What are the rules for buying alcohol in Oregon?
Can I buy alcohol if I have a minor with me UK?
For under 18s – It is against the law:
To buy, or attempt to buy, alcohol if you’re under 18 For an adult to buy, or attempt to buy, alcohol for someone under 18 To sell alcohol to anyone under the age of 18
Retailers can refuse the sale of alcohol to an adult if they’re accompanied by a child and the shop worker thinks the alcohol is being bought for the child. And the police have the power to confiscate any alcohol they believe will be drunk by someone under-18 in a public place.
- There are some limited exceptions that allow under-18s to drink alcohol at home, and for over-16s to consume (but not buy) alcohol with a meal in some licensed premises.
- Find out more about alcohol and the law for under 18s here.
- It’s a criminal offence to use false or borrowed ID to gain entry to licensed premises or to buy alcohol.
The maximum penalty is a £5,000 fine and up to 10 years in prison.4
Can you drink in public in the Netherlands?
Amsterdam is for everyone – Amsterdam is for everybody, regardless of race, religion, gender identification, political beliefs or sexual preference. Visitors and residents are free to be who they want to be, and have their views and choices respected.
- Hate crimes against members of any community or minority will never, ever be tolerated.
- Amsterdam is known as an open, creative, innovative and tolerant city where a lot is possible and allowed.
- The city is known worldwide for its freedom.
- This freedom arose under an essential condition: respect for each other.
Amsterdammers live in every neighbourhood, including the Red Light District and Leidseplein. Limit noise and drunkenness, clean up your mess and don’t pee in the canals. Keep in mind the locals, and they will welcome you with open arms. Please be aware of the law, and the on-the-spot fines for unacceptable behaviour as follows:
€150 for public urination €150 for littering €150 for noise pollution €100 for drunkenness
The consumption of alcohol is prohibited in the majority of public places in the city centre, but you are of course welcome to visit one Amsterdam’s many bars. Never combine alcohol and drugs. For more information about health matters in the city, contact the,
When it comes to soft drugs such as cannabis, a tolerance policy (“gedoogbeleid”) is applied in the Netherlands. This means that although the possession and buying of soft drugs are recognised as a violation of the law, you will not be prosecuted if it concerns a maximum amount of five grams of cannabis, and coffeeshops can sell cannabis.
To enter a coffeeshop, you must be 18 years of age – your ID will be checked. Visitors should keep in mind that most venues other than coffeeshops do not allow soft drugs to be consumed on their premises. In other words, you may not smoke cannabis in most clubs or bars, even in smoking areas.
Find out more about the policy on coffeeshops and drug safety, As in the rest of the world, drugs are officially illegal in the Netherlands. Possession, dealing, selling, production and most other acts involving any drug are punishable by law. Bringing drugs into a club, bar or festival is prohibited.
If you choose to use drugs, it’s good to be aware of the risks. Find a number of useful tips and information on our dedicated, For serious drug and alcohol-related emergencies, seek immediate medical assistance. If someone is not feeling well, don’t be afraid to ask for help or call medical services at 112.
What is the legal age to drink in the Netherlands?
Selling alcohol to minors is illegal – It is illegal to sell alcohol to people under 18, This is laid down in the Licensing and Catering Act. Local authorities monitor businesses that sell alcohol for compliance with the legal age limits and with the conditions of their licence.
Can you refuse to show ID in Oregon?
IF YOU ARE STOPPED, QUESTIONED, AND/OR FRISKED WHILE ON FOOT –
What you say to police is always important. Be polite at all times. Everything you say can be used against you. You have the right not to speak. To exercise this right, say “I would like to remain silent.” Do not interfere with or obstruct police – you can be arrested for doing so. Police may stop and detain you briefly only with reasonable suspicion that you have committed, are committing, or are about to commit a crime or a violation. However, you do not have to stop unless police order you to. Unless ordered to stop, you may leave at any time, but should ask whether you are free to leave. It is not illegal in Oregon to refuse to identify yourself, but police may detain you until they establish your identity. You can be charged with a crime if you provide false identification information.
You may refuse to provide your Social Security number. You do not have to answer questions without a lawyer present. To exercise this right, say “I want to speak to a lawyer before answering any questions.” You may be required to show immigration papers if you are not a U.S. citizen and are being detained or arrested for a crime. Under federal law, you are required to carry immigration documents at all times.
You do not have to consent to any search or seizure and cannot be arrested simply for refusing. This may not stop the search from happening but will protect your rights if you have to go to court.
If police threaten to get a warrant, you may tell them to get one. Police may be able to detain you until they obtain a warrant. If searched without a warrant, do not resist physically. Say “I do not consent to this search.” If police say they have a search warrant, ask to see it. If asked to empty your pockets or your bag—even if the officer says you will not get in trouble—do not do it. Say “I do not consent to this search.” Police may ask for consent to search or inquire about the presence of weapons and may pat down your clothing without consent if they have reason to believe you are carrying a weapon. If any property is taken from you by police, you have the right to request a receipt.
You do not have to leave the vicinity with police unless you have been arrested. Do not badmouth a police officer or run away, even if you believe what is happening is unfair. Doing so could lead to your arrest. In many situations, police do not have to advise you of “Miranda” rights in order to use your statements in court.
Can you drink at 16 in Oregon?
Oregon law prohibits anyone, except a parent or legal guardian, from providing alcohol to a minor or juvenile. A minor is any person under the age of 21 and a juvenile is any person under the age of 18.
Can a 17 year old drink in a pub with parents UK?
You can be stopped, fined or arrested by police if you’re under 18 and drinking alcohol in public. If you’re under 18, it’s against the law:
for someone to sell you alcohol to buy or try to buy alcohol for an adult to buy or try to buy alcohol for you to drink alcohol in licensed premises (such as a pub or restaurant)
However, if you’re 16 or 17 and accompanied by an adult, you can drink (but not buy) beer, wine or cider with a meal. If you’re 16 or under, you may be able to go to a pub (or premises primarily used to sell alcohol) if you’re accompanied by an adult.
What is the lowest drinking age?
The Legal Drinking Age in Each Country For many, being able to buy a legal drink is a sign of maturity and freedom — and perhaps a harbinger of questionable decisions and good times to come. While 21 years old is the standard for most of the United States (looking at you, ), many consumers across the world have earlier introductions to alcohol.
- In fact, 64 percent of the world’s nations have legal drinking ages of 18.
- The youngest legal drinking age in the world is 15, with both Mali and the Central African Republic allowing folks to drink at that time.
- Seven countries do not have a government-mandated drinking age, while 11 countries ban the consumption of booze entirely.
Get the latest in beer, wine, and cocktail culture sent straight to your inbox. In Canada, India, and the United Arab Emirates, different regions have varying legal drinking ages. Want to know more about legal drinking ages around the world? Check out the map below to discover the legal minimum drinking ages of countries around the world!
What is drinking age in Italy?
What is the minimum drinking age in Italy? The drinking age in Italy is 18 years old. However, it is not strictly enforced. We recommend to always carry a photo ID to prove your age.
What is the drinking age in Germany?
Legal age for consumption of alcohol –
- In countries like Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, Malta, etc., the age for consumption is the same as the age for purchasing alcohol. There are 13 such countries.
- Like Germany, there are other countries where there is a restriction on age for the consumption of alcohol only in public places like restaurants, pubs, clubs etc. These are Portugal, Greece and the Netherlands.
- In Estonia, the minimum age for alcohol consumption is set at 18 years but there is no minimum age for purchasing it.
- In some parts of the United Kingdom, like Wales, Scotland, and England, children belonging to the age group of 16-18 years are served alcohol with their meals only in the presence of their parents while the legal age in Sweden is 18 years.
- However, in countries like Croatia, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Romania etc, there is no imposition of any legal age for the consumption of alcohol.
What is the legal age in Amsterdam?
In the Netherlands, persons under the age of 18 years are considered minors by law (Burgerlijk Wetboek/Civil Code). From 18 years people are considered adults. In Dutch youth policy, youth is generally defined as the age group 0-25 years. Within this age group a distinction is made (in policy, not in laws) between Children (0-12 years), Young people (12-18 years) and Young Adults (18-25 years).
What is the youngest drinking age in Europe?
In 21 Member States ( Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom ), children cannot purchase alcohol. Belgium, Denmark and Germany set 16 years as the minimum age for purchasing beverages containing less than 1.2 % of distilled alcohol and 18 years for buying spirits (more than 1.2 % of distilled alcohol). Sweden set the minimum age for purchasing beverages with more than 3.5 % of alcohol at 20 years. The minimum age to purchase alcohol in Cyprus and Malta is 17 years; in Luxemburg, it is 16 years. In Austria, purchasing alcohol is regulated at the regional level. There are two different age requirements – either 16 or 18 years – depending on the region and the percentage of alcohol involved.
What is the Dutch national drink?
Jenever – the alcoholic beverage flavoured with juniper berries – is a traditional drink from the Netherlands. Jenever (also commonly spelled as genever) has a long history in the Netherlands. Jenever is often described as “Dutch gin” but this is incorrect.
Is alcohol cheap in the Netherlands?
Food is relatively cheap in the Netherlands Food in the Netherlands is slightly cheaper than the average of the European Union. The price of cigarettes is slightly higher and of alcohol slightly lower than the EU average. Groceries are more expensive in most popular holiday destinations, whereas alcohol and cigarettes tend to be cheaper than in the Netherlands.
Is it illegal to walk around with ID?
While having your identification on you in public is generally advisable, there is no law that requires people to carry identification with them when out in public. As such, you cannot be arrested simply for not having your ID on your person. However, there are situations that can lead to arrest if you fail to identify yourself.
Is California a stop and ID state?
In California, there is no stop-and-identify law which requires an individual to produce identification upon request by a peace officer.
Can you record police in Oregon?
Recording the Police in Oregon Recording the police in Oregon is lawful provided that you notify the officers that you are audio recording them. Video recording can be done without notification at all. This page is intended to provide you with a brief overview of why recording is important, and how you can do it lawfully.
Can a 18 year old kiss a 17 year old in Oregon?
The Oregon Criminal Code provides that a person is considered incapable of consenting to a sexual act if the person is:
Under 18 years of age; Mentally defective; Mentally incapacitated; or Physically helpless.
The law further provides that “a lack of verbal or physical resistance does not, by itself, constitute consent but may be considered by the trier of fact along with all other relevant evidence.” See ORS 163.315 The Rules of Consent A person under 18 cannot consent to a sexual act.
- Oregon Law provides that a person under 18 years of age cannot consent to a sexual act.
- In Oregon, you must be at least 18 years old to give valid consent.
- Consent given by an individual under the age of 18 will not be presumed valid.
- However, there may be defenses available, such as the defense specified in ORS163.345, nicknamed the “Romeo and Juliet” defense,
This defense applies when two individuals who are both at least 15 years of age, and are within three years of one another’s age, engage in intercourse. Applied successfully, this defense rebuts the assumption that the consent is de facto invalid because one or both of the parties were under 18 years old.
However, both individuals must still have voluntarily consented. Your ignorance or mistake may not be a defense. ORS 163.325 provides that in certain sex crime prosecutions ignorance or mistake is a limited defense when it comes to knowing the age of your sexual partners. An affirmative defense may apply if the defendant reasonably believed the child to be above a specified age at the time of the alleged offense for crimes that depend on the child being under a specified age other than 16.
If a child is under 16 years of age, however, it is not a defense that a defendant reasonably believed the child to be older than the age of 16. Even if they showed you a fake ID, it is a strict liability offense to engage in sexual activity with a minor under 16 years of age.
- Other Factors for Consent: Physical Helplessness, Mental Incapacitation or Mental Defect.
- In addition to age, other factors must be met in order for consent to be presumed valid.
- For instance, consent must have been given by an individual of sound mind.
- If there is evidence of mental defect, the person was unconscious or asleep, whether the person was under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol, or even if the individual believes that they were drugged, these circumstances could be the basis for and arrest and prosecution for major felony sex crimes.
Importance of Verbal Consent Under Oregon law, lack of physical or verbal resistance alone is not enough to find consent. In these instances, a judge or jury will look into the circumstances surrounding the alleged crime in order to determine of whether a person was capable of consent.
However, the best way to avoid difficult legal situations in court is to ensure that you have enthusiastic and verbal consent from your sexual partner before anything happens. Contact a Criminal Defense Attorney If you or your loved one has been accused of sexual misconduct, contact a lawyer immediately.
Sex crimes in Oregon can carry mandatory minimum sentences under Ballot Measure 11, In some circumstances, Jessica’s Law may also apply, which carries a mandatory minimum of 300 months imprisonment.
Can an 18 year old sleep with a 17 year old in Oregon?
Statutes governing Oregon’s age of consent, associated criminal charges, available defenses, and penalties for conviction. – In Oregon, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone younger than 18), even if the sex is consensual.
Those who break the law have committed statutory rape, Statutory rape laws are premised on the assumption that minors are incapable of giving informed consent to sexual activities. Their incapacity is written into the statute—hence the term, “statutory” rape. The age of consent can vary among states, and some states differentiate between consensual sex between minors who are close in age (for example, two teenagers of the same age), as opposed to sex between a minor and a much older adult.
Though statutory rape does not require that the prosecutor prove an assault, it is still rape. Of course, rape that does involve force or an assault is illegal in Oregon and prosecuted as forcible rape, Assaults of a sexual nature may also be charged under the state’s assault and battery laws,
Can a 14 year old date a 18 year old in Oregon?
Under Oregon law, minors under the age of 18 are legally unable to consent to sexual contact, and nonconsensual sexual contact constitutes a crime.
Can you buy alcohol with a minor present Oregon?
(1) – Except as provided in (2) below, only people 21 years of age or older may enter a retail liquor store, unless accompanied by a parent, spouse or Domestic Partner who is at least 21 years old. “Domestic Partner” means an individual who, along with another individual of the same sex, has received a Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership pursuant to the Oregon Family Fairness Act.
What are the rules for buying alcohol in Oregon?
A person must be at least 21 years old to purchase alcohol. The law requires you and your employees to ask anyone who looks under 26 years of age for proper identification. The law says you and your employees must check the age of a person when there is any reasonable doubt that the person is at least 21 years old.
Can a 18 year old drink alcohol at home in Oregon?
They may also work in a store that sells alcohol to drink off-site. Of course, an adult is anyone 18 or older. Persons of any age under 21 may drink in a residence. A parent or guardian must be present.
Can 18 year olds pour beer and wine in Oregon?
Applicants must be at least 18 years old and pass an in-person or online alcohol server education course certified by the OLCC. Oregon was the first state in the country to require all alcohol servers to be trained.