- 1 Can you buy beer in grocery stores in Massachusetts?
- 2 Can you buy beer in convenience stores in Boston?
- 3 Where do you buy beer in Massachusetts?
- 4 What are the alcohol laws in Boston?
- 5 Can you walk around Boston with a beer?
- 6 Does Costco sell beer in Massachusetts?
- 7 Does Trader Joe’s sell beer in Massachusetts?
- 8 Can pharmacies sell alcohol in Massachusetts?
- 9 Can you buy beer on Sunday in Massachusetts?
- 10 Is Boston a drinking city?
- 11 Can you walk with open alcohol in Boston?
Can you buy beer in grocery stores in Massachusetts?
Can you buy beer, wine, and liquor at grocery stores in Massachusetts? Yes, you can purchase beer and wine at the grocery stores in MA, but not hard liquor.
Can you buy beer in convenience stores in Boston?
A. Selling Alcohol – Grocery and convenience stores can sell beer and wine from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. Monday through Saturday. Restaurants and bars can serve from 8 a.m. to 2 a.m. Monday through Saturday. No alcohol sales begin before noon on Sunday. It’s illegal to sell alcohol on any election day while polls are open.
Happy hours are illegal in the state. In addition, Massachusetts alcohol laws prohibit retailers from passing on their bulk buy discount to customers. Dry townships in the state are Alford, Chilmark, Dunstable, Gosnold, Hawley, and Montgomery. Also Mount Washington, Needham and Westhampton. These townships prohibit the sale of alcohol.
Discover more at Dry Counties,
Where do you buy beer in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts Alcohol Laws Where to Buy Alcohol Retail liquor stores sell alcoholic beverages in Massachusetts, rather than state-owned stores. Beer and wine are available in convenience stores and groceries. Alcohol is sold at off-premises licensed stores – meaning alcohol cannot be consumed on the premises – from 8 a.m.
Legal Age for Drinking/Serving Alcohol Open Container Laws BAC Limits A driver under the age of 21, Penalties ‘Implied consent laws,’ which require a driver suspected of driving under the influence to comply with breath, blood, or urine testing for intoxication, carry refusal penalties of driver’s license suspension of up to one year.
The legal age for drinking is 21, as it is in all states. However, at 18 years of age an individual may work as a bartender or in a restaurant serving alcohol, and may handle, transport, and sell beer, wine, and spirits in a retail store. Open containers of alcohol are not allowed in vehicles, so previously opened bottles of alcohol must be carried in the trunk of a car.
- DUI (driving under the influence) charges will be brought against a driver testing with over,08 percent BAC (blood-alcohol content) level.
- At this level a driver is considered ‘per se intoxicated,’ and no further evidence is required in court to charge a driver with DUI.
- A driver with a BAC that is,20 percent above the maximum legal level of,08 percent is subject to more severe punishment.
Drivers who refuse to cooperate with a request to take a breathalyzer test are automatically subject to license suspension by the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) for one year for the first offense, two years for the second conviction, and eight years for the third.
Temporary or permanent vehicle confiscation for DUI is a penalty possibility in Massachusetts, usually for repeat offenders. Installation of an ignition interlock device is also a penalty available to the courts, as is mandatory alcohol education and/or treatment. DUI is considered a felony after the third conviction.
: Massachusetts Alcohol Laws
Do they sell beer at gas stations in Massachusetts?
Location: FOOD PRODUCTS; LIQUOR; RETAIL TRADE; Scope: Other States laws/regulations;
|October 12, 2012||2012-R-0465|
|GROCERY AND PACKAGE STORES IN NEIGHBORING STATES|
|By: Katherine Dwyer, Legislative Analyst II|
You asked (1) how Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island statutes define “grocery stores,” (2) whether those states allow grocery stores to sell alcoholic beverages, and (3) what retail liquor stores (package stores) in those states are allowed to sell.
- SUMMARY Neither Massachusetts nor Rhode Island define the term “grocery store” in state law.
- New York law defines a “grocery store” as any retail establishment where food is regularly and customarily sold in a bona fide manner for off-premises consumption.
- This definition includes convenience stores.
- Massachusetts allows grocery and convenience stores to sell wine, beer, and liquor; New York allows them to sell beer and wine products; and Rhode Island does not allow them to sell any alcohol.
Package stores in Massachusetts and Rhode Island may sell wine, beer, and liquor. New York package stores can only sell wine and liquor. The laws in New York and Rhode Island restrict the items packages stores may sell in addition to alcohol. Massachusetts law does not include similar restrictions.
MASSACHUSETTS Massachusetts law does not define a “grocery store.” According to Massachusetts ‘ Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (ABCC), grocery, package, and convenience stores may sell liquor, wine, and beer. However, during the local approval process, a city or town may limit the license to sell alcohol for off-premises consumption to beer and wine sales only ( Mass.
Gen. Laws ch.138, 15 ). ABCC regulations prohibit package stores from selling alcoholic beverages, other than wines and malt beverages, in individual containers of more than one gallon capacity ( 204 CMR 2.05 ). The regulations do not specify any other limits on the type of products a package store may sell (such as non-alcoholic beverages, snacks, etc.).
NEW YORK New York law defines a “grocery store” as any retail establishment where food is regularly and customarily sold in a bona fide manner for off-premises consumption ( N.Y. Alco. Bev. Cont. Law 3(13 )). Convenience stores fit into the grocery store definition. Grocery and convenience stores may be licensed to sell beer and wine products at retail for off-premises consumption ( N.Y.
Alco. Bev. Cont. Law 54 a ). A “wine product” is defined as a beverage containing wine, concentrated or unconcentrated juice, flavoring, water, citric acid, and carbon dioxide. The product can contain no more than 6% alcohol by volume ( N.Y. Alco. Bev. Cont.
- Law 3(36a )).
- Grocery and convenience stores cannot sell wine or liquor.
- According to a 2010 New York Liquor Authority memo, in order to sell beer and wine products, at least 50% of the grocery or convenience store ‘ s inventory must be “consumer commodities”, including: 1.
- Food (solid, liquid, or mixed, for human or pet consumption), not including alcoholic or carbonated beverages; 2.
napkins, facial tissues, foil wrap, plastic wrap, paper towels, and disposable plates; 3. detergents, soaps, and other cleansing agents; and 4. non-prescription drugs, hygiene products, and toiletries. Package stores can sell wine and liquor, but not beer.
In addition to wine and liquor, package stores are limited to selling: 1. lottery tickets; 2. corkscrews; 3. ice; 4. publications, including prerecorded video and/or audio cassette tapes designed to help educate consumers about wine and wine products; 5. non-carbonated, non-flavored mineral, spring and drinking water; 6.
wine glasses and racks; and 7. devices to minimize oxidation in uncorked wine bottles ( N,Y. Alco. Bev. Cont. Law 63(4) ). RHODE ISLAND Rhode Island law does not define a grocery store. In general, beer, wine, and liquor may only be sold at retail liquor stores.
- No alcohol may be sold at grocery or convenience stores.
- Package stores are limited to selling alcohol, nonalcoholic beverages, and the following: 1.
- Cigarettes, cigars, and cigarette lighters; 2.
- Newspapers; 3.
- Gift bags; 4.
- Prepackaged peanuts, pretzels, chips, olives, onions, cherries, and hot stuffed cherry peppers; 5.
Slim Jims and similar pre-packaged dried meat products; 6. pickled eggs, popcorn, and pre-packaged candy; 7. styrofoam coolers; 8. lemons, limes, and ice; 9. home bar accessories such as pourers, glasses, cork screws, stirrers, flasks, jiggers, wine racks, ice crushers, bottle openers, can openers; and 10.
Does Massachusetts sell beer in walmart?
02/09/2018 – WESTFIELD – Walmart is still planning on introducing beer, wine and liquor at its Westfield store. But a start date has not been announced. (Jim Kinney/ The Republican) WESTFIELD – Walmart has sold beer, wine and liquor at its Supercenter at 141 Springfield Road (Route 20) for about a month now, a fact store officials plan to highlight at an official announcement Friday.
The mega-retailer plans to show off a number of renovations at the store, including a new electronics department with interactive displays and updated pharmacy space that gives customers the ability to scan their own prescriptions for refilling. It’s the fifth Walmart location in Massachusetts that sells alcohol.
the next nearest one is in Ware. Westfield Walmart is open 24 hours, but alcohol sales are 8 a.m. to 11 p.m., seven days a week, according to the store’s website. Walmart bought the liquor license from the independently owned Pop the Cork in March 2017 for $140,000.
Pop the Cork, now closed, had been located in a small rented space near the East Silver Street Big Y, 2.5 miles away from Walmart, for more than 30 years. Walmart used a different corporate name, Westborough Beverage Corp., for the purchase. At the time it closed, Pop the Cork’s owner, Craig Worrall, said it was increasingly difficult for an independent store to compete with chain liquor stores and with beer increasingly sold at convenience stores.
In 2017, Walmart instituted a drive-up pickup service for grocery customers in Westfield. Walmart now also offers grocery delivery from its stores in Westfield, Springfield, Ware and Chicopee. Walmart had fiscal year 2018 revenue of $500.3 billion. It employs approximately 2.3 million associates worldwide.
What are the alcohol laws in Boston?
Sale of alcohol – The sale of alcohol off premises (in a licensed liquor store for spirits other than beer and wine) is allowed from 8 AM to 11 PM Monday through Saturday and 10 AM to 11 PM on Sundays. The sale of alcohol on premises (for all types) is allowed from 8 AM to 2 AM Monday through Saturday and 10 AM to 2 AM on Sundays.
Can you drink beer on the street in Boston?
No person shall drink any alcoholic beverage as defined in Chapter 138, Section 1 of the General Laws of the State, or possess an open container, full or partially full, of any alcoholic beverages, while on, in or upon any public way, upon any way to which the public has right of access, in any place to which members of the public have access as invitees or licensees, in any park or playground, conservation area or recreation area, on private land or place without consent of the owner or person in control thereof.
Can you walk around Boston with a beer?
Level Contributor 76 posts Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago Is walking around the waterfront/harborwalk with an alcoholic drink allowed? Report inappropriate content Level Contributor 2,390 posts 2 reviews 2 helpful votes 1. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago No. There are no open containers permitted in public in Boston and it’s pretty strictly enforced other than for a few events (St Pats parade, Boston Marathon). Report inappropriate content Level Contributor 9,343 posts 124 reviews 204 helpful votes 2. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago It is enforced strictly all the time, especially during St. Pats and the Marathon. There is no tolerance in Massachusetts for public drinking, especially at special events. Report inappropriate content Level Contributor 3,054 posts 59 reviews 86 helpful votes 3. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago To reiterate, alcoholic drinks can only be consumed in a private residence or a place with a liquor license. Report inappropriate content 4. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago This post was determined to be inappropriate by the Tripadvisor community and has been removed. Destination Expert for Provincetown, Wellfleet, Truro, North Truro Level Contributor 9,634 posts 230 reviews 134 helpful votes 5. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago I do not think that people in this forum should be advising others on how to break the law. Report inappropriate content Level Contributor 76 posts 6. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago Thank you all for your feedback. Report inappropriate content Level Contributor 9,343 posts 124 reviews 204 helpful votes 7. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago I’m with Howland. Also, there really is zero tolerance, and anyone who is advising you on how to get around the law is not being honest with you about how law enforcement here feels about it and how you really can get your a@@@ arrested and put in jail for this. Report inappropriate content Level Contributor 76 posts 8. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago People, I understood after the first comment. I get the point. I was just wondering and asking a simple question. Report inappropriate content Destination Expert for Provincetown, Wellfleet, Truro, North Truro Level Contributor 9,634 posts 230 reviews 134 helpful votes 9. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago Except that the first response contained a misstatement. Report inappropriate content Level Contributor 76 posts 10. Re: Walking around waterfront with a drink 6 years ago You know what I meant. I get the point and my question has been answered. Let’s all move on. Report inappropriate content Get answers to your questions about Boston
What is the most common beer in Boston?
This Bud’s for you. It turns out the ‘King of Beers’ is the beer king of Massachusetts. Traditional Budweiser finished at the top of the data report. In fact, the Bud family of brews was the top choice for most of the New England states.
Does Costco sell beer in Massachusetts?
Alcohol Laws and Regulations by State – The laws and regulations surrounding the sale of alcohol vary by state in the United States. As such, whether or not Costco sells liquor in a particular state can depend on local laws and regulations. In states such as Arizona, California, Hawaii, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and Connecticut, Costco is permitted to sell liquor. In these states, customers can purchase beer, wine, and spirits from Costco without any additional membership requirements.
- However, in some states, Costco is only permitted to sell beer and wine, and not spirits.
- For example, in Delaware, Indiana, New York, and Texas, Costco stores are only authorized to sell beer and wine.
- In Vermont, Costco can sell spirits, but only to customers with a membership.
- Other states, such as Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, and Washington D.C., permit Costco to sell beer, wine, and spirits to all customers, regardless of membership status.
It is important to note that the laws and regulations surrounding the sale of alcohol can change over time, and can vary by city or county within a state. As such, customers should always check their local laws and regulations to determine what types of alcohol Costco is authorized to sell in their area.
Does Trader Joe’s sell beer in Massachusetts?
Where and when you can get liquor to buy from a grocery store can be a tad confusing as it varies so much from state to state. But since Trader Joe’s is known to sell a lot of good stuff at low prices, you might be wondering, “Does Trader Joe’s sell liquor?” Here’s what I know from shopping there: Trader Joe’s does sell liquor in every state they operate in which allows grocery stores to sell liquor.
- Those states include California, Colorado, Illinois, and Massachusetts, and many others, with some states having additional restrictions.
- But don’t worry.
- Below, I’ll cover every state and all the limits and restrictions per state.
- And I’ll even review some of the details specifically about what brands Trader Joe’s carries in the states that allow it.
Let’s get started. Kris was very patient with me while in Trader Joe’s scoping out the wine section for what probably felt like an eternity 😅 pic.twitter.com/Bdf08fTV5i — cat lady (@MissEricaCC) December 11, 2020
Can pharmacies sell alcohol in Massachusetts?
Registered pharmacists MAY NOT sell alcoholic beverages (or alcohol) at any time during the day except upon the prescription of a registered physician on all mentioned holidays.
Can you drink beer in public in Massachusetts?
Drinking in Public – It is against the law and local town ordinances to drink any alcoholic beverage in public areas outdoors such as streets, parks, and beaches. The law is to discourage public drunkenness. If you are discreet, you can usually have wine or beer quietly with your picnic.
Do American gas stations sell alcohol?
This list of alcohol laws of the United States by State provides an overview of alcohol-related laws by state throughout the United States. This list is not intended to provide a breakdown of such laws by local jurisdiction within a state; see that state’s alcohol laws page for more detailed information. As of July 1988, all U.S. states have a minimum purchase age of 21. However, prior to 1988, the minimum purchase age varied from state to state. Unlike the states, the U.S. territories of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands have a minimum purchase age of 18; however, the minimum purchase age is 21 in the Northern Mariana Islands and Guam.State Alcoholic beverage control state Alcohol sale hours Grocery Store Sales Notes Beer Wine Distilled spirits On-premises Off-premises Beer Wine Distilled Spirits Alabama No No Yes No later than 2 a.m. on Sundays in some counties. Yes No 13.9% ABV cap on beer Beer containers may not exceed 16 ounces (0.47 l) ABV > 14.9% wine sold in state stores Alcohol may be served 24 hours unless restricted by local ordinances. Twenty-six of Alabama’s 67 counties do not allow the sale of alcohol. However, possession and consumption remains legal within those twenty-six counties. Cities with populations greater than 1000 within dry counties can “go wet” if passed by 50% of voters. Alaska No 8 a.m.–5 a.m., except election days (liquor stores may not open until polls close) No (although many grocery stores have separate areas that sell all forms of alcoholic beverages and many bars sell packaged liquor as well) Most communities have more restrictive laws, ranging from restrictions on operating hours to bans on sale and possession. Sellers/servers may not, for any reason, give a person alcohol for free or sell it for less than its cost. Sellers/servers may drink while on duty, but no intoxicated person may remain on the premises, so an impaired server could be arrested. Arizona No 6 a.m.–2 a.m.7 days a week-No election day nor holiday restrictions Yes Sales of any type of alcohol are legal at any store that has an off-premises liquor license, including but not limited to convenience stores and grocery stores. Bars may sell closed containers of alcohol for consumption off the premises. Drive-through liquor stores are allowed. Everclear Grain Alcohol Proof 190 (95% alcohol) is legal. A large percentage of the land area of Arizona is in Indian reservations, many of which have liquor laws considerably more restrictive than state law, up to and including total prohibition. “Beer busts” (all the beer/liquor one can drink for a set price) in bars are illegal. Persons 19 years of age or older may work in bars and liquor stores serving and selling alcohol. Patrons may not have more than two drinks in front of them at any time, or one large pitcher of beer. DUI penalties are some of the most severe in the nation. A person convicted of a DUI (even first offense) must have an interlock installed in his or her car for one year. Arizona has an ‘Impaired to the Slightest Degree’ law that can convict a person even if his or her BAC is less than,08%. Arkansas No 7 a.m.–2 a.m. (Class A Private Club) 10 a.m.–5 a.m. (Class B Private Club) 7 a.m.–1 a.m. (Restaurant) 7 a.m.–1 a.m. (Mon.–Fri.) 7 a.m.–midnight (Sat.) Yes No Has numerous dry counties and other dry areas, but private clubs can serve even in dry areas. Alcohol sales are generally prohibited on Sundays, but exceptions can be made through local option (usually for restaurants and private clubs). No sales on Christmas Day. California No 6 a.m.–2 a.m. Yes Relatively unrestricted; beer, wine and liquor available at grocery stores, convenience stores, gas stations, and warehouse clubs. No statewide holiday restrictions. Motor vehicles entering from Mexico may only import 1L of alcohol (duty free). Sale or distribution of alcohol higher than 153 proof is illegal. You may serve alcohol if you are at least 18 years of age. City and County governments can set different sale hours. Colorado No 7 a.m.–2 a.m. Beer, wine, and liquor: 8 a.m.–midnight 3.2 beer: 5 a.m.-midnight 3.2 only* No* Spirituous, vinous & malt liquor available in liquor stores and liquor-licensed drug stores only. Liquor stores closed on Christmas Day. Sunday sales restriction lifted on July 1, 2008. Liquor stores and liquor-licensed drug stores may have only one location, while 3.2% beer may be sold in gas stations, supermarkets, and convenience stores. Appropriately licensed businesses may also sell 3.2% beer for both on and off-premise consumption. A small number of grocery stores are licensed as drug stores and sell full strength beer, wine, and spirits. Connecticut No 9 a.m.–1 a.m. (Mon.–Thurs.) 9 a.m.–2 a.m. (Fri.–Sat.) 11 a.m.–1 a.m.(Sun.) 8 a.m.–9 p.m. (Mon.–Sat.) Yes No No No off-premises sales on Sundays; Sunday on-premises sales subject to local ordinances. Beer can be purchased at grocery/convenience stores. Spirits and wine can only be purchased at liquor stores. Delaware No 9 a.m.–1 a.m. 9 a.m.–1 a.m. (Mon.–Sat.) noon–8 p.m. (Sun.)Municipalities with a population over 50,000 persons may impose stricter hours of sale by local ordinance. No For off-premise consumption, alcohol may only be purchased in liquor stores, taprooms or brew pubs that have an off-premise license. No person under 21 may enter a liquor store or taproom for any reason even for the intent of purchasing only tobacco or lottery tickets. No sales of alcohol by liquor stores or taprooms are permitted during designated holidays. Delaware Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement agency website District of Columbia No 8 a.m.–2:00 a.m. Mon.–Thu., 8:00 a.m.–3:00 a.m. Fri–Sat., 10:00 a.m.–2:00 a.m. Stores Closed Sun, but bars/restaurants are open 9 a.m.–10 p.m. Yes No No singles sold Certain wards may be made dry by the decision of the local ANC, but as of 2005 Template:Dated maintenance category none are Last call may be as late as 2:30 a.m. Liquor stores must close on Sundays (except on December 24 and 31 when those dates fall on Sunday). Grocery stores, which are allowed to sell beer and wine only, can sell alcohol on Sundays. Florida No State law prohibits selling of alcohol between 3 a.m. and 7 a.m., unless the county chooses to change the operating hours later; such as for Sunday morning; Ormond Beach stays open until 7pm on Sundays. Miami-Dade County liquor stores may operate 24 hours a day. Yes No Sale, processing, or consumption of any liquor or spirit of greater than 153 proof is illegal. ( FSS 565.07) Supermarkets and other licensed business establishments may sell beer, low-alcohol liquors, and wine. Liquor must be sold in dedicated liquor stores which may be in a separate part of a grocery or a drug store. Beer must be sold in quantities of 32 or fewer ounces or greater than 1 gallon. Forty- and 64-ounce beverages are illegal. Georgia No Hours of sale determined by county. A bill was passed by the Georgia Legislature in 2011 and signed by the governor that will allow local governments to hold referendums to determine local Sunday alcohol sales. The first referendums are expected in November of 2011. For now, no alcohol sales on Sundays or on Christmas Day. Yes No 14% ABV cap on beer No Sunday off-premises sales as of May 2011 although that is expected to change later in 2011. In general, one may not be drunk in public. Though there is no state law prohibiting drinking in public, most municipal corporations and political subdivisions limit the possession of open containers of alcohol to private property, with one notable exception being Savannah. A charge of public drunkenness is only warranted when one is drunk in public and his acts are either loud or disorderly. Hawaii No Bars and restaurants stop serving alcohol at 2 a.m., but some hold a special ‘cabaret license’ that allows them to continue serving alcohol until 4 a.m. 11:50 a.m. to 12 a.m. Yes State Alcoholic beverage control state Alcohol sale hours Grocery Store Sales Notes Beer Wine Distilled spirits On-premises Off-premises Beer Wine Distilled Spirits Idaho No Yes 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m., 2:00 a.m. in some counties Yes No Alcoholic beverages exceeding 16% ABV can only be sold in Idaho State Liquor Dispensary stores, or contracted stores. Illinois No Depending on local government; 24-hour bars are permitted in Cicero ; a handful of 21-22 hour bars exist in Cook County, and the Metro East, Yes Opening/closing hours are up to the decision of counties or towns. Indiana No 7 a.m.–3 a.m. 7 a.m.–3 a.m. No sale on Sunday Yes Sales limited to on-premises in restaurants, wineries and breweries on Sundays. No sales on Christmas. Minors, including babies, are not allowed to enter a liquor store. No sales of cold beer in grocery stores or gas stations. ID must be presented for all off-premises sales as of July 1, 2010 per IC 7.1-5-10-23. Iowa No Yes 6 a.m.–2 a.m. Mon–Sat 8 a.m.–2 a.m. Sun Yes ABV > 5% beer shipped through state warehouse Kansas No 9 a.m. – 2 a.m. (in counties which allow on-premises sales) 9 a.m. – 11 p.m. (Mon–Sat) (in counties which allow off-premises sales) noon – 7 p.m. or 8 p.m. (Sun) (in communities which allow Sunday off-premises sales) 3.2 only No Kansas’s alcohol laws are among the strictest in the United States. Kansas prohibited all alcohol from 1881 to 1948, and continued to prohibit on-premises sales of alcohol from 1949 to 1987. Sunday sales only have been allowed since 2005. Today, 29 counties still do not permit the on-premises sale of alcohol.59 counties require a business to receive at least 30% of revenue from food sales to allow on-premises sale of alcohol. Only 17 counties allow general on-premises sales. Not all communities which allow off-premises sales allow sales on Sunday. Sales are prohibited on Christmas and Easter, The only alcoholic beverage which grocery stores and gas stations may only sell is beer with no more than 3.2% alcohol by weight, Other liquor sales only are allowed at state-licensed retail liquor stores. Kansas has comprehensive open container laws for public places and vehicles, public intoxication laws, and requirements for prospective on-premises or off-premises licensees. Kentucky No 6 a.m. to 4 a.m. on Monday through Saturday 11 a.m. to 4 a.m. on Sundays Yes No No Only beer may be sold at grocery stores, but beer, wine, and liquor are permitted to be sold at pharmacies. Local ordinance may vote to permit Sunday sales at restaurants. Sales from 2–4 a.m. only in Louisville. As of 2005 Sunday sales were allowed per state law, but may still be prohibited in some areas by local ordinance (as of early 2006, such a situation existed with smaller cities within Louisville Metro, though these cities have since changed local ordinances). Alcohol sale restriction and wet/dry (both by drink and package) allowed by both county and city local option. Approximately 53 counties in the state (mostly eastern and southern counties) are dry, all alcohol sale and possession prohibited; 16 “moist” counties (with “wet” cities allowing package liquor sales in counties otherwise dry); 21 counties that are otherwise dry but have communities with local option that allow sales of liquor by the drink or under special exemptions allowing sales at wineries. Majority of wet counties around major metropolitan areas in state (Louisville, Lexington, Covington, Owensboro, Paducah). Louisiana No No state imposed restrictions on on-premise hours. “24 hour” bars are common in New Orleans and in Jefferson Parish. Some municipalities and parishes require on-premise service to stop at 2:00 am. No restrictions on hours of package sales statewide. Yes Packaged alcoholic beverages of any strength may be sold in supermarkets, drug stores, gas stations, and convenience stores 24 hours a day. Local municipalities may not restrict this. As a result, dedicated “liquor stores” are mostly specialty stores in larger cities, and some supermarkets have large selections of liquors and wines, and compete on the basis of liquor prices and selection. Alcohol can be consumed in plastic cups in the streets of New Orleans and taken from club-to-club if the establishment allows it. Otherwise it depends on the locality. Most parishes other than Orleans Parish do not permit alcoholic beverages served at on-premise establishments to be taken from the premises. However, many parishes and municipalities permit consumption of packaged beverages (for example, cans of beer) on the street, as long as the packaging is concealed. Glass bottles on the streets are prohibited. One can enter most bars at 18 years of age but must be 21 years old to purchase or consume alcohol. Maine No No Yes 6 a.m. to 1 a.m. (Mon–Sat) 9 a.m. to 1 a.m. (Sun) Yes No* ABV > Alcohol may not be purchased after 1 a.m. any day of the week, may not be purchased prior to 6 a.m. Monday through Saturday, and not prior to 9 a.m. on Sunday. Wholesaling through state-licensed monopoly, Maryland Variable by locality Variable by locality Variable by locality Variable by locality Baltimore County prohibits the sale on Sunday in some areas. In the counties of Montgomery, Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester sale of alcoholic beverages are controlled directly by the county Liquor Control Boards, there is exceptions in Montgomery where some liquors are still sold in grocery store due to being grandfathered before the change of the law. Garrett County prohibits the sale on Sunday except in some areas. The sale of alcohol at grocery and convenience stores varies by county. There are no dry counties, but some individual voting districts within counties restrict or prohibit alcohol on a local-option basis. Massachusetts No 8:00 a.m.–2:00 a.m. by state law, although individual cities and towns may prohibit sales before 11:00 a.m. and after 11:00 p.m. Not before 11:00 a.m. on Sunday. 8:00 a.m.–11:00 p.m., or 8:00 a.m.–11:30 p.m. on the day before a holiday. Not before noon on Sunday. Resident-owned or formerly resident-owned businesses only, large chains prohibited; see notes. No individual, partnership, or corporation may have more than three off-premises licences in the state, nor more than two in any city, nor more than one in any town. No individual, partnership, or corporation not resident or headquartered in Massachusetts may apply for a license, although one may devolve thereupon. On-premises regulations: No discounts at specific times (i.e. no ” Happy Hour ” discounts) or for specific individuals, no fixed-price open bar or all-you-can-drink (except at private functions), no more than two drinks per individual at any one time, no pitchers for fewer than two people, no drinking contests, no drinks as prizes, no free drinks. Off-premises sale of alcohol is prohibited on the last Monday in May (Memorial Day), Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and the day after Christmas if Christmas falls on a Sunday. Sale of alcohol is prohibited during polling hours on election days (subject to local exceptions). “Malt beverages” defined as having not more than 12% alcohol by weight. State Alcoholic beverage control state Alcohol sale hours Grocery Store Sales Notes Beer Wine Distilled spirits On-premises Off-premises Beer Wine Distilled Spirits Michigan No Yes 7 a.m.–2 a.m. (Mon-Sat) noon-2 a.m. (Sunday)*sales may begin at 7 a.m. with special license extension 7 a.m.-2 a.m. (Mon-Sat) noon-2 a.m. (Sunday)*sales may begin at 7 a.m. with special license extension, Yes The Michigan Liquor Control Commission allows the sale of alcoholic beverages until 11:59 p.m. on December 24 and after 12:00 p.m. on December 25. On-premises sales are permitted on January 1 until 4:00 a.m. Local or county ordinance may restrict Sunday or Sunday morning sales. State does not operate retail outlets; maintains a monopoly over wholesaling of distilled spirits only. Minnesota No (but see note) 8 a.m.–2 a.m.7 Days 8 a.m.–10p.m. (Mon–Sat) 3.2% Only No Local and/or County ordinance prevails for hours of operation for off-sale licenses. No alcohol off-sale on Sunday. Growler sales allowed until 10 p.m. Monday–Saturday. Certain municipalities may establish municipal liquor stores; they are permitted, but not required, to exclude privately owned stores, Mississippi No No Yes Local authorities fix hours of alcohol sale Yes No ABW > 5% wine and sparkling wine sold in state-contracted stores. Beer and light wine (ABW < 5%, ABV < ~6.3%) sold in convenience stores/supermarkets. Beer over 5% ABW prohibited. Beer and light wine (ABW < 5%) may be consumed by persons age 18-20 with parental supervision. No sales on Christmas Day. No state open container laws. Free alcohol all day and night in coastal casinos. In most counties, alcohol cannot be sold on Sundays. There are many dry counties in which it is illegal to possess alcoholic beverages, though some cities within dry counties have voted in beer sales. Missouri No Most establishments: (Mon–Sat) 6:00am–1:30am (Sunday) 9:00am–12:00am Special licenses in Kansas City and St. Louis : (Daily) 6:00am–3:00am (Mon–Sat) 6:00am–1:30am (Sunday) 9:00am–12:00am Sales permitted until 3:00 am in those Kansas City and St. Louis bars grandfathered into the ability to double as liquor stores. Yes One of the most alcohol-permissive states, perhaps only behind Nevada and Louisiana :
No open container law, No state public intoxication law. Liquor control law covers all beverages containing more than 0.5% alcohol, without further particularities based on percentage. Cities and counties are prohibited from banning off-premises alcohol sales. No dry jurisdictions, State preemption of local alcohol laws which do not follow state law. Certain bars in Kansas City and St. Louis grandfathered into the ability to double as liquor stores. Special licenses available for bars and nightclubs which allow selling alcohol until 3:00am in Kansas City, Jackson County, North Kansas City, St. Louis, and St. Louis County, Grocery stores, drug stores, and even gas stations may sell liquor without limitation other than hours.
Patrons allowed to take open containers out of bars in Kansas City’s Power & Light District, Parents and guardians may furnish alcohol to their children. Missourians over 21 may manufacture up to 100 gallons of any liquor per year for personal use, without any further state limitation, state taxation, or state license. (Obtaining a permit from the Federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau and meeting other requirements under federal law probably still is required for private citizens to manufacture distilled alcohol – but not wine or beer – for personal use.)
Missouri law recognizes two types of alcoholic beverage: liquor, which is any beverage containing more than 0.5% alcohol except “non-intoxicating beer”; and “non-intoxicating beer,” which is beer containing between 0.5% and 3.2% alcohol. Liquor laws apply to all liquor, and special laws apply to “non-intoxicating beer.” Montana No No Yes Closing 2am Yes No ABV > 16% wine sold in state-contracted stores, ABV < 16% may be sold in grocery stores. Nebraska No 6 a.m.–1 a.m. Legislation passed in 2010 allows for municipalities to extend on-premise sales to 2 a.m. with two-thirds approval of city or county councils. Yes No on- or off-premises sales of spirits before noon on Sundays. All beer, wine, and champagne can be sold starting at 6 a.m. In Omaha, it was illegal to sell all liquor before noon. On December 19, 2006, the Omaha city council voted 5-1 to repeal the law. Nevada No 24 hours 24 hours Yes There are few restrictions on the sale and consumption of alcohol in Nevada except for age, State law also renders public intoxication legal, and explicitly prohibits any local or state law from making it a public offence. New Hampshire No Yes Yes 6 a.m.–1 a.m. 6 a.m.–11:45 p.m. Yes Yes No Liquor sold in state-run stores, which may be placed on highway rest areas.14% ABV cap on beer. State is wholesaler of wine. However over the age of 18 you are allowed legally to drink if you remain in your house. New Jersey No Varies by municipality. Most municipalities have a last call of 2 a.m. Larger cities such as Newark, Hoboken, and Jersey City set their closing time at 3 a.m. Atlantic City and Brigantine serves 24 hours. Some dry towns in the southern part of the state, including Ocean City. 9 a.m.-10 p.m., unless bar/restaurant has license to permit Beer/Wine off-premises, then hours must be the same as on-premises hours Rarely Some dry communities in historically Methodist and Quaker communities in the southern part of the state. Though there is not a ban on selling alcoholic beverages at grocery stores, New Jersey limits each chain to two licenses, so except for a few exceptions, most supermarkets/convenience stores/gas stations/pharmacies do not sell alcoholic beverages. In addition, liquor sales are only permitted in a separate department or attached sister store. Bars are allowed to off-sale packaged goods. With the exception of Jersey City and Newark, all municipalities MUST allow off-sales of beer and wine at any time on-sales are permitted. However, since alcoholic beverages are generally only found in package stores, this right is rarely exercised. Alcoholic beverages by the drink as well as off-sales of beer and wine are permitted 24 hours a day in Atlantic City and Brigantine. New Mexico No 7 a.m.–2 a.m., except Sundays, for establishments with full dispenser license.7 a.m.–11 p.m., except Sundays, for restaurants with beer and wine license. 7 a.m.–12 a.m. except Sundays Yes New Mexico issues two types of license for consumption on-premise: a full dispenser license allowing sale of all types of alcohol, or a restaurant license permitting sale of beer and wine only. An additional Sunday permit is available which allows sale (on and/or off premise) on Sundays from noon until midnight. Exceptions are the prohibition of alcohol sale on Christmas, regardless of the day it falls on, and a Sunday permit allowing of sale (on and/or off premise) until 2:00 a.m. January 1, if December 31 falls on a Sunday. Sunday permits are only available where approved by voters within a local option district. Selling, serving and giving alcohol to a minor is a class 4 felony punishable by up to 18 months in prison. State Alcoholic beverage control state Alcohol sale hours Grocery Store Sales Notes Beer Wine Distilled spirits On-premises Off-premises Beer Wine Distilled Spirits New York No 8 am–4 am. Some counties have more restrictive hours. Beer: Per state law, 24 hours/day. Wine & spirits: 9 am–midnight Mon–Sat, Noon–9 pm Sunday. Many counties have more restrictive hours, such as bans on beer sales overnight (hours vary). Yes No Off-premises sale of wine and spirits is only at liquor stores, and beer is not sold at liquor stores; it must be sold at supermarkets and convenience stores. Exchanges for returned items are permitted (at store owners' discretion). Some counties may retain the Sunday morning beer prohibition which the state discontinued as of July 30, 2006. Twelve dry towns, mostly in western region of state, All liquor stores must be owned by a single owner, who owns that store and lives within a certain distance of it — effectually banning chain liquor stores from the state. New York City law does not allow open containers of alcohol in public. Thus, having a beer on the stoop of a building may draw a citation. However, practically, bagged containers of alcohol are consumed in violation of the rule, since opaque bags conceal evidence necessary to prosecute a citation and it is difficult to warrant a search of the bag without other evidence (evidence discovered due to an improper search is inadmissible in court). North Carolina No Yes No sales between 2 a.m. and 7 a.m. Monday through Saturday or between 2 a.m. and noon on Sunday Yes Yes No 15% ABV cap on beer, No sale of alcoholic beverages between 2 a.m. and 7 a.m. Monday through Saturday, and from 2 a.m. until noon on Sundays, State stores closed on Sundays. Bottled liquor must be sold in ABC Packages stores, open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m., Monday through Saturday. Effective December 1, 2010, the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Commission, no longer carries any product stronger than 151 proof, citing concerns from a single county that the majority of the 190 proof grain alcohol product was being purchased in package stores near college campuses. North Dakota No 12 p.m. - 2 a.m. Sundays 8 a.m. - 2 a.m. Mon-Sat before 2.am. Thanksgiving Day No No off-sale on Thanksgiving Day. No Christmas Day on-sale, nor sales on Christmas Eve after 6 p.m. Ohio No Yes 5:30 a.m. - 2:30 a.m. 5:30 a.m. - 1 a.m. Yes, under 21% ABV 12% ABV cap on beer.21% ABV cap on wine. The Division of Liquor Control does not operate retail outlets; it appoints private businesses to act as its agents and sell its products in exchange for a commission. Normal proof spirits (>21% ABV) are sold only in a limited number of agent stores. Many retail outlets sell diluted spirits (diluted by water to 21% ABV) under a more readily obtained permit. No intoxicating liquor shall be handled by any person under twenty-one years of age, except that a person eighteen years of age or older employed by a permit holder may handle or sell beer or intoxicating liquor in sealed containers in connection with wholesale or retail sales, and any person nineteen years of age or older employed by a permit holder may handle intoxicating liquor in open containers when acting in the capacity of a server in a hotel, restaurant, club, or night club., Alcohol can be sold/given to people under the age of eighteen if given by a physician in the regular line of his practice or given for established religious purposes, or the underage person is accompanied by a parent, spouse who is not an underage person, or legal guardian. Oklahoma No 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. (Mon-Sat) 3.2 only No 4.0% ABV/3.2 ABW or higher only sold at room temperature in liquor stores, Liquor Stores closed on Sundays and some holidays. As of 2007, liquor stores are now open on election days. State law prohibits public intoxication, many counties and cities also prohibit public intoxication. Oregon No Yes 7 a.m. to 2:30 a.m. 7 a.m. to 2:30 a.m. Yes No Liquor, all of which is state-owned prior to sale to consumers, is sold in private liquor stores. These stores are approved by Oregon’s Liquor Commissioners to act as sales agents on the state’s behalf. Oregon Liquor Control Commission National Alcohol Beverage Control Association Pennsylvania No Yes Sunday sales at hotels and restaurants are permitted from 11:00am ET until 2:00am ET Monday only with a special annual permit and whose sales of food and non-alcoholic beverages are at least 30% of total sales. pacode.com Private clubs can serve alcohol from 7.00 a.m. till 3.00 a.m. Sales of alcohol have to stop at 3.00 a.m. State stores hours vary from 9a.m. to 10p.m. Mon–Sat and always noon until 5p.m. Sunday. Check with Liquor Control Board store search No Wine and spirits can only be sold at State-operated stores, All persons must be at least 21 years of age to enter a state-operated liquor store alone. Beer is not sold at state-operated liquor stores. Beer can be purchased at beverage outlets (cases only), or restaurants (6-packs/restricted quantities) with Liquor Control Board –issued licenses, but not supermarkets. Non-alcoholic beer is an exception, and may be sold in supermarkets, but persons buying it still must be at least 21 years of age. Sunday sales were prohibited in LCB stores until 2003 (selected locations) and beverage outlets (owner’s option) until 2005. There are currently seven state liquor stores located within supermarkets. In 2010, a trial was initiated to test selling wine in grocery stores using vending machines. The buyer must present identification, look into a camera to allow an offsite PLCB employee to verify the identification, and blow into a breathalyzer to authorize the sale. (See US Wine Vending Machines ) As of 2007, some convenience stores and grocery stores were trying to fight Pennsylvania’s strict laws on the sale of alcohol. (See Sheetz Weis Markets and Wegman’s ) Special permits may be purchased for certain organizations for fundraisers once per calendar year, and are valid for a total of six days under the same rules governing restaurants. PLCB FAQs Grain alcohol prohibited as a beverage. Rhode Island No 1 a.m. seven days a week.2 a.m. in Providence only on Friday and Saturday nights and nights before a state-recognized holiday. (Mon-Sat) 9 a.m. – 10 p.m. (Sunday) 12 p.m. – 6 p.m. No All alcohol may be sold only in liquor stores. Thus, convenience stores and supermarkets in Rhode Island are dry. South Carolina No No Yes On-premise closing times are local option and are not set by the state. 24 hours for beer and low-alcohol wine, 9am-7pm Mon-Sat. at liquor stores Yes No 14% ABW (17.5% ABV) cap on beer Wine > 16% ABV sold in liquor stores No hard liquor sales after 7 p.m. and none on Sundays. No off-premise alcohol sales after midnight Saturday until 7 a.m. Monday, except in Aiken, Greenville, Spartanburg, Horry County, Colleton County, Richland County, Charleston County/city and Beaufort County. No sales on election days at liquor stores. South Dakota No Yes 14% ABV cap on beer State Alcoholic beverage control state Alcohol sale hours Grocery Stores Notes Beer Wine Distilled spirits On-premises Off-premises Beer Wine Distilled Spirits Tennessee No Mon-Sat: 8 a.m. to 3 a.m.; Sun: 12 p.m. to 3 a.m. Hours of alcohol sale can be modified by local jurisdictions if approved by the alcohol control commission. 7 a.m. to 3 a.m. Mon–Sat Yes No Wine is only sold in liquor stores. Sales of liquor are limited to on-premises in restaurants on Sundays. Beer above 5% ABW / 6.3% ABV must be sold in liquor stores. Open container law only applies to drivers, not passengers. Texas No Monday-Friday: 7am-midnight Saturday: 7am-1am Sunday: 10am-midnight. Some cities/counties permit sale until 2am (with license). Beer/Non-hard liquor — 7 a.m. to midnight (Mon.-Fri.) 7 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. (Sat.) 12:00 p.m. to midnight (Sun.) Hard Liquor — 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. (Mon.-Sat.) Yes No No alcohol cap but ABV > 15.5% requires additional license, so many places are beer/wine only. Wet/dry issues determined by city/county election. Liquor stores statewide closed all day Sunday. An alcoholic beverage served (on-premise) to a customer between 10 a.m. and noon on Sunday must be provided during the service of food to the customer.29 Texas counties are completely dry. In many counties, public intoxication laws are vigorously upheld. Utah Yes Restaurants: Noon to midnight for liquor, 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. for beer. Bars may serve liquor from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. Varies by state liquor store hours 5% ABV or below only No ABV > 5.0+% sold in state-controlled stores only. State-controlled stores close on Sundays and cease operations no later than 10 p.m. the rest of the week. Restaurants must buy from the state-controlled store (no delivery) at retail prices. No alcohol may be served on Election Day until 8 p.m. No alcohol is served in restaurants without purchase of food. Sales of kegs prohibited. Vermont No No Yes 8 a.m.–2 a.m. 6 a.m.–midnight Yes No ABV > 16% beer and ABV > 16% wine are only available through state liquor stores. A 2008 bill allows the sale of beer in grocery and convenience stores up to ABV 16%. Virginia No No Yes 6 a.m.–2 a.m. No restrictions at any time for club licensees. 6 a.m.–11:59 p.m. Yes No Licensed supermarkets, convenience stores, and gas stations may sell beer and wine. Off-premises sales no later than 12 a.m. Numerous dry counties exist. Washington No Yes 6 a.m.–2 a.m. A local government subdivision may fix later opening hours or earlier closing hours than those here specified Yes No Beer and wine available in grocery stores and convenience stores every day (including federal holidays) from 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. Spirits for off-premise consumption are sold only in state-run or state-contracted liquor stores. Store hours vary by location, but liquor sales may not be rung up before 8 a.m. and may not be rung up after 11 p.m. Some stores are open Sundays from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m. State-owned stores were formerly closed on federal and state holidays but are now closed only on Thanksgiving and Christmas Day. Contract stores have the option to remain open on any holiday at the discretion of the store manager. Alcohol cannot be purchased by anyone under 21. West Virginia No Yes Beer/Wine : Mon-Sat:7 am-2 am, Sun:1 pm-2 am – Liquor : Mon-Sun:8 am-Midnight, Sun/Elections: Prohibited Mon-Fri:7 am-3:30 am, Sat: 7A-3:00A, Sun:1 pm-3 am Yes Yes 12% ABV Cap on Beer.75% ABV spirits Permitted. Liquor, wine and beer products that are not already in closed packaging must be bagged before exiting retail locations. State does not operate retail stores; retains monopoly over wholesaling of distilled spirits only; stores themselves are privately owned Wisconsin No 6 a.m-2 a.m. Sunday–Thursday, 2:30 a.m. Friday–Saturday, no closing time on New Year’s Day. 8 a.m.–12 midnight for beer (some counties and municipalities only allow sales until 9 p.m. for beer), 8 a.m.–9 p.m. for liquor and wine Yes Wisconsin permits the consumption of alcohol by minors, provided they are being supervised by parents/guardians/spouses. Most municipalities have a uniform 9 p.m. restriction on all alcohol sales. Notable exceptions: La Crosse, Maple Bluff (near Madison), Baraboo (near the Dells). Supermarkets, liquor stores, and gas stations may sell liquor, wine, and beer. Wyoming No Yes 6.00 a.m.-2.00 a.m. No Clubs holding liquor licenses may be exempt from the hours of operation here specified by local ordinance or regulation of the appropriate licensing authority, but it doesn’t seem to happen in practice Puerto Rico No Beer, wine and spirits available for sale in supermarkets, convenience stores and drugs stores as well as liquor stores. Minimum drinking age is 18. Dry law during elections and hurricane emergencies Drinking on the street is illegal in San Juan but not in all cities. Determined by municipal ordinance. In San Juan, the only times of the year one can drink on the street legally are during selected street festivals in designated areas.
The references in this article would be clearer with a different and/or consistent style of citation, footnoting or external linking, Please see the relevant discussion on the talk page for further details. Template:USStateLists Template:United States topic Template:US Alcohol Template:Social Policy in the United States Template:Prohibition
How much is beer in Massachusetts?
In Boston, Massachusetts is $8. This average is based on 5 price points. It can be considered reliable and accurate. Latest update: May 30, 2023.
Can you buy beer on Sunday in Massachusetts?
Do You Know What Time You Can Legally Purchase and Sell Alcohol in Massachusetts? – One thing that is good to know especially if you are a new resident of Massachusetts is when you can purchase alcohol. In case you’re not aware, there are certain time windows when it’s legal to sell and purchase alcohol in Massachusetts. That’s a pretty wide window and should give you plenty of time to get the beverages you need for your gatherings, celebrations, etc. In addition, for new Massachusetts residents, there are a few holidays when alcohol can’t be sold or purchased and you can find out more by going here,
Is Boston a drinking city?
Get a compelling long read and must-have lifestyle tips in your inbox every Sunday morning — great with coffee! – Photo by Phil Dubois via Flickr When The Daily Beast named us ” America’s Drunkest City ” for the second year in a row this week, we here at Boston were as interested as anyone else—which is to say, we were interested enough to share it with you and chuckle.
- But among the reactions we saw, there was a more emphatic, uniform glee, even a sense of pride.
- A BostInno writer declared herself “extremely proud,” in a rather long and entirely celebratory post.
- Reactions on Twitter ranged from ” Good news! ” to ” I’ll drink to that,” Of course, some of these joyful reactions are tinged with irony.
But there are a few reasons why the rejoicing strikes us as a bit unwarranted. There’s the glaringly obvious wet blanket (dry blanket?) reason, which is that binge drinking isn’t all that good for a city or its residents. It cost the economy $223.5 billion in 2006, according to the CDC, it’s linked to death by violence, car crash, suicide, etc., etc.
That’s probably why Mayor Tom Menino, when confronted with the survey results last year, responded to say, “Who is The Daily Beast? What is their credibility? I am the beast of the city and what I say goes. We are not the drunkest city in America.” First of all: hilarious. Second of all: you can see that no actual policymaker wants to claim this distinction.
“Whatever,” you are probably saying. “Stop being lame.” Fine. But a look at why Boston keeps performing so well still reveals that gloating about our big win remains sort of unwarranted. As with any internet ranking, the one-line takeaway that makes headlines—”Boston is America’s drunkest city!”—masks a lot of nuance.
The Daily Beast gave 50 percent of its weighting to data it borrowed from a market research firm, which surveyed people to calculate how many drinks the average person imbibes every month. Boston came in ahead of all the other cities (we tied with D.C.) on the list with 15.6 drinks. This doesn’t necessarily tell us a whole lot about how “drunk” we get because it doesn’t speak to how we consume those drinks.
We could just be leading the way in having a casual glass of red wine every other night. (It’s good for the heart!) There’s also not a whole lot of range to that statistic among the 25 cities at the top. Burlington residents, who came in 25th, drink 13.2 drinks per month on average.
Sure, we drink 2.4 more. But while we might be winning, we’re not exactly the drunk uncles at America’s wedding, 16 drinks ahead of everyone else and making an ass of ourselves. To figure out how we consume all those drinks we have every month, The Daily Beast balanced out the marketing stats with the CDC’s data on binge drinking and heavy drinking, both of which tell us whether we drink a lot in one sitting.
(For men, “binge drinking” is consuming five drinks in one go. For women, it’s four.) Now we’re getting to the question of whether we get “drunkest,” and indeed, Boston led the way with 20.1 percent classified as binge drinkers. But when we elevate Boston above others with our “We’re number 1, we’re number 1” chants, we diminish the fact that binge drinking is a nearly uniform national past time.
- Nation-wide, 17.1 percent of people get the “binge drinker” classification.
- Nor are we even number 1 on The Daily Beast’s list for that stat.
- Cleveland comes in at 20.5 percent,
- Boston comes in above average, but again, we’re not America’s drunk uncle.
- People binge drink everywhere, and they don’t do so much less than we do.
Also, there’s a problem with looking only at the rate of people classified as binge drinkers. The CDC warns us against letting states with lower rates off the hook. “Binge drinking is a problem in all states, even in states with fewer binge drinkers, because they are binging more often and in larger amounts.” That stat seems weird, but it’s true.
For instance: Kentucky has a lower percentage of binge drinkers than Massachusetts. But the average number of drinks there is 8.4. Here it’s 7.6. Their average number of “episodes” per month is higher too. That’s like comparing a party where one-fourth of the people are sporting a heavy buzz to one where slightly less than a fourth are flat-out wasted (for the second time that week.) Which group is “drunker?” Does it matter? A look at demographics offers pretty obvious explanations for why Boston ranks highly on the binge drinking rates.
Looking at the CDC data, you’ll find that young people binge drink at much higher rates than older people. People with incomes above $75,000 binge drink at higher rates than those below. People with a college education binge drink at higher rates than those without.
- Boston being a hub of higher education, and thus a hub of younger residents and wealth, it’s not shocking at all to find that we score high on the binge drinking.
- So feel free to hit the bars tonight and proudly proclaim that Boston is America’s drunkest city.
- By this one measure, it is.
- And it’s fun enough, as statistics gleaned from internet slideshows go.
Just know that heavy drinking isn’t really what separates us from our countrymen. It’s what bonds us to them.
Is Massachusetts a strict alcohol state?
Massachusetts has some of the most strict alcohol laws, including that bars don’t have to accept out-of-state IDs as proof of age. Happy hours, free drinks, and drinking games like beer pong, are also prohibited in the state.
Can you walk with open alcohol in Boston?
Open Container Laws In Massachusetts | Offense or Violation for Open Container Laws in MA In Massachusetts, it’s against the law to have an open container of alcohol while driving, Open Container Laws refer to having open containers of alcohol in the passenger areas of the car while driving. For an alcohol container to be opened, it means the seal has been broken, or some of the contents have been removed.
Thus, if you opened up a bottle of wine, once the seal is broken, it is considered to be “open”. If you have an, you are supposed to put it in the trunk of the car, or in a locked glove box while driving. Anywhere else inside the car could be considered a “passenger area”, including the driver’s seat.
As our, it is illegal to drive with an open container in Massachusetts. However, recently, Massachusetts decided that having an open container was not a criminal offense. While in other states, you could get for driving with an open container, in Massachusetts, it is now only a civil violation.
Can you not buy alcohol in Massachusetts with an out of state license?
Changes to the Current Law – A state government task force is considering changing regulations and laws on the sale and consumption of alcohol. They are suggesting changing the alcohol tax and raising fines and fees for citations relating to alcohol,
- Such changes would ban price reductions and large sales from bulk items sold and make purchasing beer, wine, and liquor more expensive.
- Previously, many people considered the alcohol laws in Massachusetts old-fashioned.
- Many of the laws have not been updated since 1933.
- One of the least popular laws states that someone who wants to purchase alcohol must have a Massachusetts driver’s license, liquor identification card, a military identification card, or a United States passport.
This means that driver’s licenses from out of state are not enough to buy alcohol in Massachusetts. This limits many visitors to the state from being able to purchase beer, wine, or liquor. There is also a law that attaches brewers and alcohol producers to the distributors they use.
Can pharmacies sell alcohol in Massachusetts?
Registered pharmacists MAY NOT sell alcoholic beverages (or alcohol) at any time during the day except upon the prescription of a registered physician on all mentioned holidays.
Can you drink beer in public in Massachusetts?
Drinking in Public – It is against the law and local town ordinances to drink any alcoholic beverage in public areas outdoors such as streets, parks, and beaches. The law is to discourage public drunkenness. If you are discreet, you can usually have wine or beer quietly with your picnic.