Texas Alcohol Law: What Time Do Stores Stop Selling Beer? – Beer sales start at 7 AM at grocery stores and 7-Elevens Monday through Saturday and 10 AM on Sunday. Sunday through Friday, sales end at midnight, but on Saturday, you have until 1 AM. It is against the law in Texas to sell beer and wine, or any type of liquor, before 10 AM on a Sunday.
The “blue laws,” which were put in place right after Prohibition, have been updated by these new laws. Concerned Texans voted for them after it became legal again to serve and sell alcohol. Now, almost 100 years later, the Texan government has finally loosened the rules about the Sunday sales restrictions.
Read: What’s the Cheapest Beer To Drink?
- 1 Do they sell beer after 12 in Texas?
- 2 Can you buy beer 24 hours in Texas?
- 3 Does Texas still do alcohol to go?
- 4 Can I buy beer on Sunday in Texas?
- 5 Can you pour alcohol at 18 in Texas?
Do they sell beer after 12 in Texas?
What Time Can You Be Served Alcohol in Texas? – Alcohol sales hours are different if you’re being served for consumption on-premises, as you would at a bar or restaurant. For on-premises consumption, the rules are the same whether you’re buying beer, wine, liquor, or mixed drinks.
Sunday start times at bars or restaurants depend on whether you’re ordering food as well – if you are, you can be served at 10 am. If not, you can’t be done either until noon. Alcohol service can begin at 10 am on Sunday during live events at sports venues, festivals, fairs, or concerts, whether food is served. Certain bars or restaurants in the state can serve until 2 am any night of the week with a “late hours” permit. Hotel bars can serve registered guests at any time of day.
Wineries, which are usually a mix of on- and off-premises sales, can operate from 8 am to midnight every day but Sunday, when their hours are 10 am to midnight. Due to COVID-19, on-premises licensees can offer alcohol pickup and delivery for the moment under certain conditions,
What time do gas stations stop selling beer in Texas?
Morning and Night Restrictions – Gas stations across the United States generally stop selling beer at around 2 a.m. However, there are a few exceptions to this rule, and some gas stations may sell beer later in the night. For example, in Texas, gas stations are allowed to sell beer until midnight from Monday through Saturday and until 1 a.m.
- On Sundays.
- In some states, gas stations may not be allowed to sell alcohol before noon on Sundays.
- It is important to note that city councils have the power to reduce these periods if they so choose.
- Beer is sold at some convenience stores, but not in grocery stores or petrol stations, according to state regulations,
In addition, happy hours are not permitted in some states. Please drink responsibly, be fully accountable with your alcohol consumption, and show others respect.
Do they stop selling beer in Texas?
What Time Do They Stop Selling Beer In Texas? – Texas beer laws say that grocery stores can sell beer (and wine) until midnight every day of the week except Saturday when sales are extended until 1 am.
Can you drink at 12 in Texas?
Definition of Underage Drinking – The Texas minimum drinking age varies according to whom and to where the drinker is served alcoholic beverages. Waiters, bartenders, and other alcohol servers must be a minimum of 18 years of age in places where spirits, beer, and wine are sold.
The drinking age is 21 in Texas. It was raised from 18 years in 1971, to 19 years in 1979, and to 21 years in 1984 as legislators sought to curb drunk-driving instances. However, there are exceptions to the law. An individual less than 21 years of age may drink at home when supervised and permitted by an adult.
The adult must be present on the premises when a minor individual is served alcohol.
Can you buy alcohol after 11 in Texas?
Texas law allows bars and restaurants inside hotels to serve alcoholic beverages on Sunday. Fort Worth Liquor stores in Texas may be closed on Sunday, but that doesn’t mean it is dry. State laws regulating the use of adult beverages have changed substantially over the past few years.
- There was a time when Sundays were dry in the Lone Star State.
- Originally, Texas placed “blue laws” on 42 items in 1961, banning the sale of certain products on consecutive weekend days such as pots, pans, cars, washing machines and liquor.
- The law was repealed in 1985.
- But while kitchen tools can now be sold anytime during the week, liquor was still a no-no, according to The Dallas Morning News,
Liquor stores to this day are shuttered on Sundays, New Year’s Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Sale of liquor is only allowed Monday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m., according to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. With Gov. Greg Abbott’s signing of HB 1518 last year, the hours when beer and wine can be sold on Sunday have changed.
Can you buy beer 24 hours in Texas?
Where Can You Buy Beer In Texas? – Aside from the local brewery, you can buy beer in Texas at various liquor stores, convenience stores, and gas stations. But you may find straight liquor the hardest to get hold of. Basically, the only place you can buy whiskey, vodka, or any other kind of liquor is at a liquor store.
What time is last call in Texas?
Texas: As late as 2am with a permit in large cities. Midnight elsewhere.
Does Texas still do alcohol to go?
AUSTIN — Texas law now lets customers and businesses safely enjoy alcohol-to-go options. Temporary waivers to provide relief to businesses during the COVID-19 pandemic have been updated and made permanent, thanks to recent action by Texas Gov. Greg Abbott and the Texas Legislature.
The change comes as part of House Bill 1024, which was approved by the Legislature on April 28 and signed into law by Gov. Abbott on May 12. The law, which took effect immediately after it was signed by the governor, authorizes Mixed Beverage and Private Club permittees to sell alcohol — including mixed drinks — for pickup by customers or delivery, as long as they meet the requirements in the law.
Certain other permittees, such as Wine and Beer Retailers, already had authority to send alcohol to go. “This new law will help businesses keep their doors open and ensure Texans keep their jobs,” said TABC Executive Director Bentley Nettles. “TABC is grateful to Governor Abbott and members of the Texas Legislature for their leadership on this critically important measure.
Allow customers to pick up alcohol (i.e., mixed drinks, wine and malt beverages, which will include both beer and ale starting Sept.1) with food orders.Deliver alcohol with food orders to customers.Use third parties, including agents of the retailer or contractors holding a Consumer Delivery Permit (CD), to make deliveries on their behalf.
Alcoholic beverages such as wine or malt beverages must be in their original containers or tamper-proof containers sealed by the retailer and properly labeled when sold for pickup or delivery. Distilled spirits should be sold in an original single-serving container of 375 milliliters maximum.
Mixed drinks that contain distilled spirits must be in a tamper-proof container sealed by the retailer with a label that includes the retailer’s business name and the words “alcoholic beverage.” Permit holders must follow all requirements in the law, including holding a Food and Beverage Certificate (FB).
Alcoholic beverages picked up or delivered under this authority may not be transported in the passenger area of a motor vehicle. TABC also offers the Texas Responsible Alcohol Delivery Training course specifically for drivers who will be delivering alcoholic beverages directly to consumers.
Can I buy beer on Sunday in Texas?
Do these new rules apply to other days of the week? No. Alcohol sales are still allowed between 7 a.m. and midnight, Monday through Saturday. You can, however, buy booze until 1 a.m. on Sunday.
Can a 20 year old drink with parents in Texas?
In Texas, a minor may consume an alcoholic beverage if it is in the visible presence of the minor’s adult parent, guardian or spouse.
Can my son drink with me in Texas?
If a minor is in visible presence of their legal-aged parent, legal guardian, or spouse, Texas law allows the minor to possess and consume alcohol.
Can you pour alcohol at 18 in Texas?
A. Selling Alcohol – It’s illegal to sell alcohol to anyone, including adults, under age 21. Licensed businesses may sell beer and wine from 7:00 a.m. until midnight on Monday through Friday. They may sell them from 7:00 a.m. until 1:00 on Saturday. And on Sunday they may sell from noon until midnight.
But only liquor stores may sell distilled spirits. Restaurants may sell alcohol on Sundays before noon if it’s paired with food. However, it’s illegal to sell any beverage anywhere on Sunday that is over 17% alcohol by volume (ABV). No venue may sell any alcohol on Thanksgiving, New Year’s Day or Christmas Day.
A restaurant or other retailer can’t sell alcohol from only one producer. Nor can food trucks sell any alcohol.
Can a minor sit at a bar in Texas?
As long as a legal guardian is present – and the bar permits patrons under the age of 21 – a minor can get wasted with his or her parents (although if you drink too much, you can get charged with public intoxication).
Why can’t you buy alcohol on Sunday in Texas?
Update: Updated at 4:05 p.m. March 9 with a statement from a group opposing the bills. A couple of Texas lawmakers want to end the state’s ban on Sunday liquor sales. State Sen. Kelly Hancock, who represents Fort Worth, has filed a bill to allow grocery and convenience stores to sell ready-to-drink cocktails seven days a week.
Rep. Justin Holland, of Rockwall, filed a similar bill in the Texas House last month. Under current Texas law, ready-to-drink cocktails made with vodka, tequila and other spirits are sold in liquor stores, which must close on Sundays. Grocery and convenience stores are permitted to sell only beer and wine on Sundays.
But Hancock said he wants to continue to keep “free market principles at the core of Texas’ economic success.” Political Points Get the latest politics news from North Texas and beyond. “As industries innovate and new products become staples in the marketplace, it only makes sense for us to take a look at ways government can reduce regulatory red tape,” Hancock said in a statement from the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States.
Hancock did not respond to a request for comment Wednesday or say whether he would support allowing liquor stores to open Sundays. Related: Here’s how it’s going since Texas lifted a ban on Sunday morning beer and wine sales Wholesale Beer Distributors of Texas, a trade association which opposes the bills, said this would allow children as young as 16 to sell hard liquor.
Currently, the minimum age to sell liquor is 21. “There is no great consumer demand to make this drastic change to Texas liquor law,” President Tom Spilman said in an email. The bills come two years after Texas moved to considerably loosen restrictions on alcohol sales.
- State leaders changed the law to allow restaurants to sell to-go drinks and permit beer and wine sales on Sunday mornings,
- Before that, sales were prohibited before noon.
- Texas has restricted liquor sales on Sundays since 1935 when the Texas Liquor Control Act was passed in response to the repeal of Prohibition.
Bills to allow liquor stores to open on Sundays failed in the past. But the rise in ready-to-drink cocktails might help soften the ban. Drinks like canned Ranch Waters from Dallas-based RancH2O and whiskey-based cocktails from Fort Worth’s TX Whiskey distillery have helped drive the surge.
- Pre-mixed cocktails generated $1.6 billion in sales in the U.S.
- In 2021, up more than 40% from the previous year, according to the Distilled Spirits Council, a trade association representing producers and marketers.
- By 2025, canned cocktails are predicted to account for 8% of all alcohol sales, doubling the share since 2020, according to International Wines and Spirits Record, which analyzes alcohol sales.
“States all across the U.S. are taking a look at beverage laws to ensure consumers of these products are being treated fairly, and Texas consumers should not get left behind,” Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the Distilled Spirits Council, said in a statement.