- 0.1 Can you buy beer before noon in Kentucky?
- 0.2 What time can you buy alcohol in Louisville Kentucky?
- 1 Can you order alcohol on Sunday in Kentucky?
- 2 What are the alcohol laws in Kentucky?
- 3 Is Kentucky a zero tolerance state for alcohol?
- 4 Can food trucks sell alcohol in Kentucky?
- 5 Can you buy beer in Winchester KY on Sunday?
- 6 What time can you buy beer on Sunday in Kenton County KY?
Can you buy beer before noon in Kentucky?
Kentucky Alcohol Laws Where to Buy Alcohol It is legal to purchase alcohol from 6 a.m. to midnight in restaurants, bars, and retail package stores. Alcohol is not sold on Sunday except for restaurants in areas with more lenient local laws.
Legal Age for Drinking/Serving Alcohol Open Container Laws BAC Limits Penalties
You must be 21 to drink in Kentucky, as in all states. You can work in a restaurant serving alcohol at age 20 and as a bartender at age 20. You must be 20 to work in a package store or transport alcohol, although you may sell beer at age 18. Alcohol cannot be consumed in a vehicle by the driver or passengers.
Previously opened containers of alcohol must be carried in the car’s trunk. The legal limit for blood-alcohol content (BAC) in Kentucky is,08 percent, as it is in all states now. Over this amount, the driver is considered ‘per se intoxicated,’ meaning that DUI charges can be brought on this evidence alone.
A driver testing with a BAC that is,18 percent over the legal limit of,08 percent faces harsher penalties. To discourage underage drinking, ‘zero tolerance laws’ provide that a driver under the age of 21 with a BAC of,02 percent or more is subject to DUI penalties.
Laws requiring drivers suspected of driving under the influence to concede to breath, blood, or urine testing for alcohol content are known as “implied consent laws.” Refusal carries penalties including mandatory suspension of a driving license for up to a year. The DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) removes a driver’s license for 30 days for the first DUI offense, one year for the second offense, and two years for the third offense.
Vehicle confiscation for DUI conviction – either permanently or temporarily – is a penalty option in Kentucky, usually for repeat offenders. The courts can mandate that an ignition interlock device be attached to the vehicle of convicted DUI offenders at the driver’s expense.
What time can you buy alcohol in Louisville Kentucky?
A Louisville Metro councilwoman is “strongly considering” introducing legislation that would make the city’s bars and restaurants stop selling alcohol earlier, at least for a few months. Councilwoman Cassie Chambers Armstrong, a Democrat whose 8th District includes the popular entertainment area along Bardstown Road, may propose a citywide ordinance that would roll back “last call” for alcohol sales for many locations to 2 a.m. through the end of year. “I’m not looking to permanently change the liquor license hours. I think for a lot of people, they think that that’s one of the draws to the city of Louisville,” she told The Courier Journal. “I will say, we’re out of step with other cities. Even Nashville — that’s the nightlife capital of the United States, or bills itself that way — closes its bars at 2 a.m. Most major cities close their bars at 2 a.m.” Read more: Louisville reaches 100 homicides faster than ever. Here’s a look at what’s happening Under current Louisville law, retail locations with licenses to sell liquor, wine and beer can do so from 6 a.m. to midnight Monday through Saturday and from 1 p.m. to 11:59 p.m. on Sundays. But locations with an “extended hour supplemental license” can also sell from midnight to 4 a.m. “on any day of the week.” Chambers Armstrong said her district has the “highest density of 4 a.m. bars” in Louisville but that the idea for her potential legislation came from residents, neighborhood associations and businesses who raised concerns. “It’s wonderful that we have so many people who want to come out and enjoy Bardstown Road and the businesses and the bars and the restaurants,” she said. “However, there were a lot of people in a very condensed space in very dense residential areas, and quite frankly, a lot of guns were getting thrown into that mix. And so we were seeing this real spike in all sorts of problems with noise, gun violence, traffic, all happening really really late at night.” The Highland Commerce Guild, which represents businesses along Bardstown Road, said in a statement it “is in the process of discovery ourselves” when it comes to the potential proposal. The group also shared a message sent to its members asking for feedback on the idea. “We do not believe there is one single solution to our current situation. The neighborhood associations and businesses owners want to reverse the rising crime rate,” Guild President Aaron Givhan told The Courier Journal. “It is our understanding Cassie is also looking at a broad range of possible solutions.” Kentucky Restaurant Association President Stacy Roof said she hasn’t “yet seen proposed language or spoken with Councilwoman Armstrong” on the issue. This latest conversation about liquor sales comes days after 29-year-old Derrick Robinson II was shot multiple times along Bardstown Road, Robinson, the grandson of former Louisville Deputy Mayor William Summers IV, was found in the 1000 block of Bardstown Road at about 4 a.m. Sunday and died shortly after at a hospital. That was the third fatal shooting in the area in recent months. In June, 27-year-old Juvon Foster was found shot to death outside Nowhere Bar, 1133 Bardstown Road, and in May, 25-year-old Dequon Merriweather was fatally shot outside the McDonald’s in the 3300 block of Bardstown Road. Policing, arts, housing: Here’s what is trying to get a piece of the $350M ARP fund pie Chambers Armstrong said she’s spoken with law enforcement and believes the earlier closing time for “4 a.m. bars” could “free up” police resources at a time when the city is facing high rates of violent crime. “While I don’t think this is going to singlehandedly fix all of the gun violence issues, it’s one of the tools available to us on Metro Council, and I think it’s a start,” she said, adding that she thinks “various departments” across Metro Government need to do more to address “resource constraints that have made it challenging for (LMPD) to respond to gun violence.” LMPD has investigated at least 118 homicides so far in 2021, one year after reporting a record number of homicides, A department spokesperson did not immediately return a request for comment on the potential legislation and the policing of the area. Chamber Armstrong said she plans to talk to more businesses and community members before making a final decision on whether to introduce the ordinance. She added she expects there will be opportunities for public input on the issue in the coming weeks, including at a community meeting focused on Bardstown Road scheduled for 6 p.m. Aug.24 at Highland Shelby Park Library. “This is not something that I am doing lightly,” she said. “I think anytime you do anything that changes the map for our small businesses and our bars and restaurants right now, you have to be very thoughtful and intentional about it because there have been a lot of changes for the industry in the past couple of years.” Reach reporter Mary Ramsey at [email protected], and follow her on Twitter @mcolleen1996, Support strong local journalism in our community by subscribing to The Courier Journal today.
Can you order alcohol on Sunday in Kentucky?
No. The Department does not collect renewal or licensing fees on behalf of local cities or counties. No. The buyer of a business is prohibited from using the seller’s license. KRS 243.020(1), Also, the seller of a business is prohibited from allowing a buyer to use its license.
RS 243.020(2), The buyer must file an application to transfer the business/license(s) or obtain licenses in its own name. KRS 243.630(5), A buyer can obtain a transitional license to operate while the transfer application is being processed. KRS 243.045, If the Department of Revenue has placed a hold on your license renewal, our office will require a release before your license is renewed.
To obtain a release contact Department of Revenue at (502) 564-4921. Once the tax hold is released by the Department of Revenue, you must complete renewal online with full payment before the annual renewal term ends. A license holder who does not renew or attempt to renew by thirty (30) days after expiration will not be permitted to renew later and must instead apply for a new license.804 KAR 4:390,
Yes. The transporter’s license permits the holder to pick-up and deliver any type of alcoholic beverage in Kentucky or to drive through Kentucky with a load of alcoholic beverages. KRS 243.200(1), No. Each common carrier or company must apply for and obtain its own license. KRS 243.020(1), A broker cannot share a license with any other common carrier.
No. Bottle service refers to the sale of a bottle of wine or distilled spirits to patrons who then dispense the alcohol to themselves within the establishment. Under current ABC statutes and regulations, licensees are only allowed to sell “by the drink” for on-premises consumption or “by the package” (or bottle) for off-premises consumption.
Compare e.g. KRS 243.240 & KRS 243.250. Licensees may not sell “by the package” for consumption on a licensed premises. Therefore, selling an entire bottle of wine or distilled spirits for patrons to dispense themselves on the licensed premises is not allowed, whether the licensee has a retail drink license, a package license, or both.
A retail drink licensee is responsible for dispensing alcoholic beverages to its patrons and ensuring that these patrons do not become manifestly intoxicated or otherwise disorderly. A quota license holder who satisfies the 804 KAR 4:110 conditions for dormancy may apply using the Dormancy Request Form.
- The initial period of dormancy may not exceed twelve (12) months.
- The Department determines whether to grant the request for dormancy and may extend the time period once for up to an additional twelve (12) months.
- Be mindful that any person approved for dormancy will still be required to pay annual licensing fees.
There is a specific statute, KRS 243.540, that provides several different options to the license holder. If the license holder has not yet closed its business, it may sell its alcoholic beverage inventory to the public as long as it does not sell the inventory for below cost.
- If the license holder has multiple business locations and intends to close one, it may request Department approval to transfer the inventory from the closing location to one that will stay in operation.
- RS 243.540(3)(c),
- If the business is closed, it may request Department approval to sell the inventory to another license holder who wishes to purchase the inventory.
A request to transfer or sell inventory may be mailed to the Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 500 Mero Street 2NE33, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601, or emailed to [email protected]. Generally, a license holder may surrender a license(s) by signing and mailing a letter to the Department’s Licensing Division that states that the license holder is surrendering its license(s).
- The license holder should return the Department’s issued license(s) in the letter.
- If the Department has initiated an administrative penalty case against the license holder, the license holder should contact the Department’s Legal Division about surrendering the license in resolution of the case. No.
- Caterers can only sell alcoholic beverages by the drink, not by the package.
KRS 243.033, As such, caterers cannot allow attendees to leave a catered event with bottles/packages of distilled spirits, wine, or malt beverages to take home. State law permits alcohol sales on any election day. A county or city has authority to enact a local ordinance that prohibits alcohol sales while election polls are open.
RS 244.290, KRS 244.480, It is the responsibility of the license holder to know, and comply with, any Election Day ordinance restrictions. A list of local ABC Administrators and some ordinance information can be found at: Local Information, Normally no. The state default end time for alcohol sales is midnight.
KRS 244.290, KRS 244.480 Daylight savings time ends at 2:00 a.m. on the first Sunday of November. As such, at 2:00 a.m., clocks are set back to 1:00 a.m. Since this occurs after midnight, it has no effect on the state default sales end time. If a local ordinance permits a license holder to sell alcoholic beverages until, or after, 2:00 a.m., the license holder will gain an additional hour of sales.
No. KRS 244.550 prohibits adulteration of malt beverages “which changes the character or purity” of the product. The Department opines that adding green food coloring to beer does NOT materially change the character or purity of the beer. KRS 244.550 exists to ensure that consumers receive the quality product for which they bargained.
When consumers order “green beer,” they know that they are receiving the same character and purity of beer with food coloring simply added. Although green beer is not a prohibited adulteration, a distributor does not have to provide green beer to its retailers, even if requested.
- A person must be at least twenty (20) years old to sell, serve or accept payment for distilled spirits, wine, or malt beverages.
- RS 244.090,
- A person must be at least twenty-one (21) years old to buy, consume, or possess an alcoholic beverage.
- RS 244.085, No.
- It is illegal for a license holder to permit consumers to bring and consume their own alcoholic beverages onto the licensed premises.
KRS 243.020(4), Businesses without an ABC license: No. It is a crime for a business without a license to give alcoholic beverages to a person. KRS 243.020(1), KRS 243.990, It is a crime for a person to drink alcoholic beverages in an unlicensed public place.
- RS 222.202(2), KRS 222.990,
- It is a crime for an unlicensed public business to allow persons to sell, give away or drink alcoholic beverages inside the business.
- RS 243.020(3), KRS 243.990,
- Businesses with an ABC license: Generally no.
- A licensee cannot give away alcoholic beverages for free.
- RS 244.050,
A retailer holding a sampling license is permitted to give one (1) ounce of distilled spirits samples per day and six (6) ounces of wine samples per day to a consumer. Free malt beverage samples are prohibited. KRS 243.0307(2), A distillery holding a sampling license is permitted to give one and three-fourths (1¾) ounces of distilled spirits samples per day to a visitor.
KRS 243.0305(7), A brewery in a wet territory is permitted to give sixteen (16) ounces of malt beverage samples per day to a visitor. KRS 243.150(5), A microbrewery is permitted to give sixteen (16) ounces of malt beverage samples per day to a visitor. KRS 243.157(1), A small farm winery in a wet/moist territory is permitted to give six (6) ounces of wine samples per day to a visitor.
KRS 243.155(2), Yes. All retail licenses allow the holder to sell alcoholic beverages to consumers. An auction is a form of a contract to sell (offer to sell to highest bidder, acceptance of offer by seller, and exchange of consideration). It is not gambling and therefore not prohibited.
- The lowest bid accepted cannot be lower than the wholesale cost of the alcoholic beverages.
- RS 244.050,
- No, unless the charity or nonprofit organization obtains a special temporary alcoholic beverage auction license.
- If a charity or nonprofit organization obtains a special temporary alcoholic beverage auction license, it may auction or raffle alcoholic beverages as a fundraiser.
KRS 243.036, No, unless the charity or nonprofit organization obtains a special temporary alcoholic beverage auction license. Manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, retailers and any other persons are only permitted to donate alcoholic beverages to a charity or nonprofit organization that holds a special temporary alcoholic beverage auction license.
KRS 243.036. Yes. Any territory annexed by a city takes on the same status as the city. If a city is wet and annexes territory from a dry county, the annexed territory becomes wet. KRS 242.190(2). Yes. Before doing any business, all license holders must post the licenses issued by the Department in the principal room where business is conducted so that all persons visiting the licensed premise may readily see them.
KRS 243.620, No. Licensees are no longer required to print or display their licensee name and number on the front window or door of their premises. The only exception is for wholesalers who must still display their licensee name and license number on the front window of the licensed premises (or the front of the building if there is no window) in uniform letters not less than three (3) inches in height.
- RS 244.270,
- Not for beer and wine.
- Both Kentucky and federal law allow an adult person to produce beer and wine for personal consumption.
- The aggregate amount of beer and wine that can be produced in any household with two (2) or more adults must not exceed two hundred (200) gallons per calendar year, or one hundred (100) gallons per calendar year, if there is only one (1) adult in the household.804 KAR 14:010 ; see also 26 U.S.C.
§ 5053(e) (malt beverage) and 27 C.F.R. § 24.75 (wine). Both Kentucky and federal law prohibit the production of distilled spirits for personal use without a license. KRS 243.020(1) ; 26 U.S.C. § 5601 – 5602. Yes. Stills are regularly used by various industries to distill water, petroleum, and other non-alcoholic beverage liquids for commercial purposes.
For that reason, possession of a still is not illegal per se. A still only becomes an illegal apparatus when it is used to distill alcoholic beverages without appropriate licensure. KRS 244.170. Still displays and demonstrations using water for educational purposes are permitted since there is no criminal intent to make distilled spirits illegally.
Nine or eighteen. A limited golf course license may be issued to a golf course in wet or golf course moist territory ( KRS 242.123 ) that meets the United States Golf Association criteria as a regulation nine (9) or eighteen (18) hole golf course. KRS 243.039,
To verify that a course meets with the United States Golf Association criteria please see its website at www.usga.org, It depends. Restaurants generally hold three (3) types of licenses: (1) Non-quota Type 2 (NQ2) retail drink licenses; (2) Limited Restaurant (LR) licenses; and (3) Quota Retail Drink (QD) licenses.
There is no requirement for restaurants holding NQ2 or QD licenses to sell food at all times. KRS 243.084(1)(b), A restaurant holding a NQ2 license is simply required to demonstrate that their prepared food receipts are at least 50% of their total net or gross and alcoholic beverage receipts.
RS 241.010(5), If a restaurant holding a QD license permits minors on the premises, it is also required to demonstrate that its prepared food receipts are at least 50% of their total net or gross and alcoholic beverage receipts. KRS 244.085(5) ; KRS 241.010(5), However, restaurants holding LR licenses with seating for only fifty (50) persons may not sell alcoholic beverages unless food is being served.
KRS 243.034(4), LR restaurants are also required to demonstrate that their prepared food receipts are at least 70% of their total food and alcoholic beverage receipts. KRS 241.010(35), KRS 242.1244, Although confusing, restaurants holding LR licenses with seating for one hundred (100) persons are not required to sell food at all times.
- Yes. A distillery, winery, or brewery may be located in a dry territory for production purposes.
- Produced alcoholic beverages must be transported to other parts of the state, or out-of-state, where alcoholic beverages can be lawfully sold.
- RS 242.250(3),
- A distillery, winery, or brewery located in a dry territory cannot sell alcoholic beverage drinks or packages to consumers visiting the premises.
KRS 242.230(1), A precinct in a dry territory can have a moist local option election to permit alcoholic beverage drinks or packages to consumers visiting: (1) a small farm winery in the precinct ( KRS 242.124 ); or (2) a distillery in the precinct. KRS 242.1243,
- No. A distillery in dry territory is not be permitted to have souvenir package sales under KRS 243.0305, or obtain a sampling license under KRS 243.0307,
- However, a precinct in a dry territory can have a moist local option election to permit distilleries in the precinct to sell alcoholic beverage samples, drinks or souvenir packages to consumers visiting the distillery.
KRS 242.1243, Yes. Licensed small farm wineries, microbreweries, distilleries, and retailers have mobile privileges with their license types that allow them to sell their products at “fairs, festivals, or other similar events.” KRS 243.155, KRS 243.157, KRS 243.0305, KRS 243.240,
- No additional license is required.
- Small farm wineries, microbreweries, distilleries, and retailers each have different limitations on what they can sell, however.
- Small farm wineries are permitted to sell, by the drink or by the package, wine they produce or wine produced by another licensed small farm winery.
KRS 243.155(2)(e), Microbreweries are unlimited in how much malt beverages they produced on their premises that they may sell by the drink, but are limited to selling one case of packaged malt beverages they produced at their premises per consumer. KRS 243.157(1)(e),
Distilleries are unlimited in how much distilled spirits they produced or bottled on their premises that they may sell by the drink, but are limited to selling by the package no more than nine (9) liters per person, per day. Distilleries are also authorized to serve complimentary samples not to exceed one and three-fourths (1-3/4) ounces per person, per day.
KRS 243.0305(10), A retailer holding a quota retail package license may sell distilled spirits and wine in unbroken packages at fairs in festivals in wet territories provided that the fair or festival is located in the same county as the quota retail package license holder’s licensed premises.
- RS 243.240(1)(c)(1),
- Retailers holding a quota retail package license and a sampling license may also sell and provide samples of distilled spirits and wine at fairs and festivals held in wet territories provided that the fair or festival is located in the same county as the quota retail package license holder’s licensed premises.
KRS 243.240(1)(c)(2), Because of the similarity of language used with the special temporary drink license statute ( KRS 243.260 ), the Department interprets “other similar events” to mean any civic or charitable event which qualifies for a special temporary drink license under 804 KAR 4:250.
- This does not mean that someone must apply for a special temporary drink license; only that the event would qualify for one if an application was made.
- As such, a licensed small farm winery, microbrewery and distillery are permitted to participate at “fairs, festivals and similar types of events” even if held at a retail licensed premises.
KRS 243.0305(10) (distillery), KRS 243.157(1)(e) (microbrewery), and KRS 243.155(2)(e) (small farm winery). A landlord may make a written request to the Department to sell or destroy abandoned alcoholic beverage inventory in its possession, custody, or control.
The written request must be made at least twenty (20) days prior to any sale or destruction and provide: (1) the licensee purchasing the inventory or the business to destroy it; (2) proposed date of the sale or destruction; and (3) quantity, types, brands of alcohol to be sold or destroyed. KRS 243.540(5),
If approved by the Department, the landlord must notify the Department that the inventory was sold or destroyed within five (5) days of the sale or destruction. The Department has no authority to resolve contract disputes between a landlord and tenant.
- For this reason, the Department will not approve requests if the landlord evicts, claims a lien on inventory, or refuses to allow licensee to get inventory because of a lease or other dispute. Yes.
- If the spa or salon business obtains an appropriate retail drink license, it may sell alcoholic beverages to customers.
KRS 243.020(1), Licensed spas and salons cannot give away free samples of alcoholic beverage or sell below wholesale cost unless they hold a supplemental sampling license. KRS 244.050(1),804 KAR 5:070 also allows minors to enter and remain in salons and spas holding alcoholic beverage licenses.
- If a salon or spa business does not hold the appropriate type of retail drink license, it is illegal to serve or permit customers to drink alcoholic beverages at the business.
- RS 243.020(3) ; KRS 243.990(3),
- It is also illegal for the customer to drink alcoholic beverages at an unlicensed public business.
KRS 222.202(2) ; KRS 222.990(4), It depends. Sidewalks are usually owned by the city, not the licensee, so they are not automatically included as part of the licensed premises where alcoholic beverages can be sold and consumed. KRS 243.220, Some cities enact “café ordinances” whereby they grant a permit to a licensee, which allows the licensee to use an adjacent sidewalk as part of its licensed premises.
(i.e. Fayette-Lexington ordinance § 17-29.1.1. – Permit; required (f)), After a licensee is granted the local permit to use an adjacent sidewalk, it must file a copy of the permit with the Department so that the sidewalk can be recognized as part of the licensee’s premises. To determine if a city or county provides a café ordinance please contact the local ABC administrator.
Some city and county alcohol ordinances may be viewed by visiting the Department’s website at https://abc.ky.gov/Local-Information/Pages/default.aspx, Kentucky does not have a law that requires a consumer to present an identification card in order to purchase alcoholic beverages.
Entucky law only requires that a person be twenty-one (21) years of age or older to purchase alcoholic beverages. KRS 244.080(1) ; KRS 244.085, Even though Kentucky law does not require it, many businesses have adopted a strict store policy requiring employees to card everyone and refuse sales to customers without ID’s (“card”).
These strict policies exist because the only defense to a sale to minor violation is if a minor induces the retailer to make an alcoholic beverage sale through a fraudulent ID. See KRS 244.080(1), The Department encourages this responsible business practice.
- Yes. Kentucky does not require an identification card in order to purchase alcoholic beverages.
- Entucky law only requires that a person be twenty-one (21) years of age or older to purchase alcoholic beverages.
- RS 244.080(1) ; KRS 244.085,
- Even though the law does not require it, many businesses have adopted a strict store policy requiring employees to card everyone and refuse sales to customers without valid ID’s (“card”).
The Department encourages this responsible business practice. A vertical license is a valid state issued I.D. A sham small farm winery (“SFW”) is a licensee that is not using its license for the intended purpose of producing wine but instead generally operates as a bar.
In some counties, voters have only approved alcohol sales at SFW’s through a moist SFW local option election. A sham SFW attempts to circumvent the voter’s choice and operates a bar rather than a SFW. KRS 241.010 (58) defines a “small farm winery” to mean “a winery whose wine production is not less than two hundred fifty (250) gallons and not greater than one hundred thousand (100,000) gallons in a calendar year.
(emphasis added). See also KRS 243.155 (2)(a), The statutes make clear that a SFW licensee must produce at least two hundred fifty (250) gallons of wine per year. KRS 243.155 (2)(c) allows a SFW to enter into a “custom crush” agreement with another SFW to produce wine, but only ” for a production year,” The statute makes clear that a custom crush agreement is a temporary measure limited to one (1) year and is intended for a start-up SFW business or a SFW business that incurs a fire or other casualty loss.
- It does not permit a SFW to circumvent its production requirements indefinitely. Yes.
- The producer is also permitted to provide cash or credit refund, or replacement for the recalled product.27 CFR § 11.32,
- The producer is not required to notify the Department, however they should maintain adequate records reflecting the recall.
No. It is a crime to sell alcoholic beverages to consumers in Kentucky without a license. KRS 243.020(1) ; KRS 243.990(2), In an effort to avoid potential criminal culpability or civil liability, most online auction companies or sale listing services specifically prohibit a person from selling alcoholic beverages under their user terms of agreement.
As a limited exception, an unlicensed person is able to sell an unopened bottle of vintage distilled spirits to licensed distilled spirits retailers under the requirements set forth in regulation.804 KAR 5:080, See also KRS 241.010(66) ; KRS 243.232. As an alternative, an unlicensed person is allowed to donate unopened bottles of distilled spirits or wine to a charity or non-profit organization which holds a special temporary alcoholic beverage auction license.
KRS 243.036(2)(c). Yes. KRS 242.290 specifically allows licensees to transport alcoholic beverages from wet territory through dry or moist territory to another in-state wet territory or out-of-state where alcoholic beverages may lawfully be sold. The license type held by a licensee determines the situations when a licensee may lawfully transport alcoholic beverages.
- Yes. The Department regulates alcoholic beverages and not barrels.
- A used empty barrel or bottle does not meet the definition of an alcoholic beverage.
- RS 241.010(2), No.
- Powdered or crystalline alcoholic beverage products are prohibited in Kentucky.
- RS 244.652.
- It depends.
- As the state default rule, the sale of alcoholic beverages is prohibited on Sunday.
KRS 244.290(3) (distilled spirits and wine sales); KRS 244.480(2) (malt beverage sales). However, local governments have the authority to permit Sunday alcohol sales by ordinance. KRS 244.290(4) ; KRS 244.480(4), Sunday sales are permitted for those business types, and at the times, permitted by any local ordinance.
If permitted by local ordinance, a licensee must obtain a Sunday retail drink license in order to sell drinks of distilled spirits and wine on Sunday. KRS 243.050(2), Some city or county ordinances may be reviewed by visiting the Department’s website at Local Information, Even if no ordinance exists, a licensee that holds an Extended Hours Supplemental License (ESL) is permitted to sell alcoholic beverages on Sunday during the times set forth in regulation, 804 KAR 4:230,
See, KRS 243.050(1), Local option elections are also available to permit Sunday sales in cities whose population exceeds twenty thousand (20,000), KRS 244.290(2), and in small farm winery moist precincts. KRS 242.1241 ; KRS 244.290(5). Yes. A producer licensee may contract with an independent contractor/third party to conduct alcohol sales at the producer’s licensed premises under the producer’s license as its agent.
RS 243.020(1), Of course, the producer licensee is responsible for any violation committed by its third-party agent. KRS 243.490(6), If a producer intends to use a third party/independent contractor to sell alcoholic beverages on its behalf at the licensee’s premises, the licensee must notify the Department with relevant information and provide copies of the relevant management, service or other agreement between the licensee and third party/independent contractor.
KRS 243.390(2). Yes and No. Kentucky law does not allow an unlicensed person to sell a bottle of distilled spirits or wine directly to another unlicensed person. KRS 243.020(1) ; KRS 243.240 ; KRS 243.990(2), As a limited exception, an unlicensed person is able to sell an unopened bottle of vintage distilled spirits to licensed distilled spirits retailers under the requirements set forth in regulation.804 KAR 5:080,
- See also KRS 241.010(66) KRS 243.232,
- As an alternative, an unlicensed person is allowed to donate unopened bottles of distilled spirits or wine to a charity or non-profit organization which holds a special temporary alcoholic beverage auction license.
- RS 243.036,
- Any person who is twenty (20) years of age or older is permitted to work in any licensed business and perform all job duties.
KRS 244.090(1)(c), A person who is eighteen (18) years of age or older is permitted to sell malt beverages by the packages at convenience stores and grocery stores which only hold a nonquota retail malt beverage package license if a person twenty (20) years of age or older is present and supervising the employee.
- RS 244.090(1)(c)(3),1.
- In a bottling house or room of a licensed distillery, winery, brewer, or rectifier; KRS 244.090(1)(c)(1),2.
- In an office of a wholesaler or manufacturer that is maintained in a building separate from the warehouses or factory; KRS 244.090(1)(c)(2) 3.
- In any business whose alcohol beverage sales do not exceed fifty percent (50%) of its gross sales (e.g.: restaurant) so long as the person’s job duties do not involve the sale or serving of alcoholic beverages.
Examples of job duties that do not involve alcohol sales or service include, but are not limited to, restaurant seaters, cooks, dishwashers, busboys, grocery baggers, and shelf stockers. KRS 244.090(1)(c)(3)(a)(b), The medical amnesty law is designed to encourage minors (persons under age twenty-one (21)) to immediately seek emergency medical attention if they or others have consumed a dangerous amount of alcohol.
- The law provides immunity from criminal prosecution for certain alcohol related offenses described in the statutes if the reporting individual fully cooperates with emergency medical assistance personnel and law enforcement officers.
- Medical amnesty laws are not designed or intended to immunize minors from punishment who simply drink alcohol.
KRS 244.992, Kentucky law does not specifically address whether an employee may consume alcoholic beverages. As such, the practice of allowing employees to drink on the job is a decision for the employer. However, the presence of an intoxicated employee could result in a disorderly premises violation ( KRS 244.120 ) or sale to intoxicated person violation.
KRS 244.080(2), Businesses are encouraged to incorporate responsible business practices and policies to minimize risk to public safety. Employees of producers are specifically allowed to sample products produced for purposes of education, quality control, and product development. KRS 243.130(3) ; KRS 243.150(4) ; KRS 243.155(8) ; KRS 243.157(7).
Generally, raffles are not permitted on licensed premises since they constitute illegal gambling. KRS 243.500(6) ; KRS 528.010, There are three (3) exceptions under which raffles are permitted on licensed premises: (1) lottery tickets issued under the authority of the Kentucky Lottery Corporation; (2) raffle tickets sold by charities, licensed or exempted, under the charitable gaming laws; and (3) raffles conducted by a holder of a special temporary alcoholic beverage auction license that comply with charitable gaming laws.
- RS 243.500(6)(a),(b) and (d); KRS 243.036(2)(a),
- Yes, if the raffle is free.
- Generally, raffles are not permitted on licensed premises as they constitute an illegal gambling game.
- RS 243.500(6) ; KRS 528.010,
- However, a licensee can have “free” raffles whereby any person can play (no purchase necessary).
Since the game is “free” to everyone, there is no necessary “wager” element for an illegal gambling game. A licensee would be permitted to have a no-purchase-necessary raffle, available to anyone, for the chance to buy a bottle of alcoholic beverages at the normal retail sales price.
- The licensee cannot require customers to buy something as a condition to participate in the raffle.
- In addition, a no-purchase-necessary raffle cannot offer a free bottle of alcoholic beverage as the prize or allow the winner to purchase the bottle below wholesale cost.
- See, KRS 244.050,
- It depends.
- No coupons on malt beverages are permitted.
KRS 244.461(3), Retailers cannot offer coupons on alcoholic beverages. However, discounted prices using loyalty cards are permitted so long as the discounted price is not less than the wholesale cost of the product. See, KRS 244.461(4), Producers and wholesalers can offer coupons, including digital coupons, on packages of distilled spirits and wine sold for off-premises consumption.
KRS 244.461(1), Yes, subject to agreement of the parties. A sale is simply a contract between a seller and a buyer. Contracting parties can voluntarily agree to cancel their contract (mutual rescission). A retail seller may permit a consumer to return sealed alcoholic beverages packages purchased from that seller for a refund or exchange.
However, since rescission of a contract is voluntary, retail sellers are not required to accept a return and make a refund if they chose not to do so. Yes, subject to agreement of the parties. A sale is simply a contract between a seller and a buyer. Contracting parties can voluntarily agree to cancel their contract (mutual rescission).
- A retail seller may permit a consumer to return sealed alcoholic beverages packages purchased from that seller for a refund or exchange.
- However, since rescission of a contract is voluntary, retail sellers are not required to accept a return and make a refund if they chose not to do so.
- A Kentucky resident, or military person moving to Kentucky, can bring alcoholic beverages purchased for personal use in another country back to Kentucky so long as necessary taxes are paid.
As of June 1, 2018, the form that a Kentucky resident must complete and file with the Kentucky Department of Revenue for that purpose is Revenue Form 73A504, which can be found at: https://revenue.ky.gov/Forms/73A504715.pdf Kentucky does not have a quantity restriction on the amount of personal alcoholic beverages that may be brought to a Kentucky residence.
Revenue Form 73A504 should allow a person to get through Federal Customs with their personal alcoholic beverages It is recommended that a person complete and obtain a signature from a Customs official or transportation officer on Revenue Form 73A504 and keep a copy of it when returning to United States.
If not signed, Customs may hold the person’s household goods in storage until the taxes are paid even though Kentucky does not require that the tax to be paid until the alcoholic beverages are in the state. On Revenue Form 73A504, be sure to specify cases or bottles in the “Containers” column under “No.” and “Size.” For your information, as of June 1, 2018, the excise tax for wine is $.50 per wine gallon (128 oz.), for distilled spirits is $1.92 per distilled spirts gallon (128 oz.), and for malt beverages is $.080646 per gallon (or $2.50 for a 31 gallon barrel).
Example: The excise tax on 1 case (12 bottles that are 750 milliliters each) of wine is $1.19, while the excise tax on the same volume of distilled spirits $4.56. The excise tax on 1 case (24 bottles that are 12 ounces each) on malt beverages is $.18. If you have any questions about Revenue Form 73A504, please contact Elizabeth A.
Gonzalez at the Department of Revenue: [email protected]. You should also check with the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (“TTB”), about any federal requirements. TTB information can be found at: http://www.ttb.gov/importers/personal_importation.shtml.
Yes. In 2017, KRS 244.350 was specifically repealed so that retailers with the proper package license may deliver all types of alcoholic beverages to a consumer in wet territories. To deliver packages of distilled spirits and wine, a licensee must hold a quota retail package license. To deliver packages of malt beverages only, a licensee must hold a non-quota retail malt beverage package license.
No additional licensure is required. A retailer wishing to deliver alcoholic beverages must comply with all alcoholic beverage laws regarding the sale. The retailer cannot deliver the alcoholic beverages to a minor or an intoxicated person. KRS 244.080,
The employee delivering the alcoholic beverage must be twenty (20) years of age. KRS 244.090, The vehicle used by a retailer must contain the licensee’s name and number as required by Board regulation.804 KAR 8:050, The licensee can make delivery sales through an online ordering process, telephone order, or application downloaded to a personal communication device.
A retailer may charge an additional fee for delivery so long as the fee is paid to the retailer as part of the sales transaction. Retailers must obey all ordinances for any territory to which they deliver, including prohibitions against Sunday sales. A retailer can sell and deliver alcoholic beverages to a consumer in any wet territory, but not a dry or moist territory.
- RS 242.260.
- A retailer can travel through a dry or moist territory to deliver alcoholic beverages in a wet territory.
- RS 242.290,
- A retailer is allowed to contract with an independent contractor to deliver alcoholic beverages as its agent ( KRS 243.020(1) ); however, the retailer is responsible for all violations or acts by its agents.
KRS 243.490, If the independent contractor acts exclusively for one retailer, no additional licensure is required and the independent contractor can operate under the retailer’s license. Any independent contractor vehicle used for delivery must contain the retailer’s name and license number.804 KAR 8:050.
If a company wishes to deliver alcoholic beverages for multiple retailers, that company is a common carrier and must first obtain a transporter’s license and display its license name and number on its vehicles used for delivery. KRS 243.200 ; 804 KAR 8:050, A common carrier is not required to display its license.
No. Alcoholic beverage laws do not set a maximum retail sales price for alcoholic beverages. The only applicable law dealing with retail sales prices forbids the sale of alcoholic beverages below wholesale costs. See KRS 244.050, Yes. If a licensee’s usual and customary business is as a “restaurant”, minors are permitted to remain on a licensee’s premises.
- RS 244.085(5)(a),
- A “restaurant” is a business whose usual and customary business is the preparation and serving of meals to consumers, that has a bona fide kitchen facility, and that receives at least fifty percent (50%) of its food and alcoholic beverage receipts from the sale of food at the premises.
KRS 241.010(50). Some restaurants include a bar area inside their premises where customers purchase and consume alcoholic beverages, appetizers, and other food. Since a bar area is part of a restaurant’s premises, minors are allowed to sit in the bar area.
- RS 241.010(43),
- It should be noted that other states have laws that prohibit minors in restaurant bar areas.
- To comply with all states’ laws, some national restaurant chains have adopted company policies that prohibit minors in the bar areas of their chain restaurants.
- Licensed restaurants may prohibit minors from sitting at bars, at their discretion, to comply with company policy.804 KAR 5:070 Section 4 (“.
a licensee may exclude minors from parts or all of its premises,”(emphasis added)) No. There is no law that establishes a maximum retail sales price for bottles of bourbon or other alcoholic beverage containers. Although KRS 244.050 establishes a minimum retail sales price for alcoholic beverages, it does not establish a maximum retail sales price.
- The minimum retail sales price is the paid or current wholesale cost of the alcoholic beverage sold at retail.
- ABC Company, Inc.
- D/b/a Your Liquor Place hereby declares its intention(s) to apply for a Quota Retail Package license and NQ Retail Malt Beverage Package license no later than September 30, 2019.
The licensed premises will be located at 123 Only Street, Somewhere, Kentucky, 40000. The sole owner and president is Sally Smith, 456 Lone Alley, Anywhere, Kentucky, 40001. Any person, association, corporation, or body politic may protest the granting of the license(s) by writing the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 500 Mero Street 2NE33, Frankfort, Kentucky, 40601, within thirty (30) days of the date of legal publication.
Yes and No. A minor under the age of twenty-one (21) years may NOT enter any licensed premises to illegally purchase or receive any alcoholic beverages. KRS 244.085(1). However, a minor under the age of twenty-one (21) years MAY enter a liquor package store, without a parent or guardian, to lawfully purchase a non-alcoholic beverage product.
The minor cannot remain on the premises for a period longer than reasonably necessary to make the non-alcoholic beverage product purchase. Prior to enactment of KRS 244.085, the prohibition against minors on premises was controlled by a regulation which has since been repealed.
That regulation stated in pertinent part that minors could not “loaf” or “loiter” on licensed premises. The definition of “loaf” means “to spend time in idleness.” Loaf.2019. In Merriam-Webster.com, Retrieved August 27, 2019 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/loaf. “Loiter” means “to remain in an area for no obvious reason.” Loiter.
In Merriam-Webster.com, Retrieved August 27, 2019 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/loiter. As these definitions made clear, the prior regulation permitted minors to enter a licensed premises but they could not remain on the premises for no purpose.
- RS 244.085(6) currently provides in pertinent part that a liquor package store licensee “shall not allow any person under the age of twenty-one (21) to remain on any premises” (emphasis added).
- When KRS 244.085 was enacted, the General Assembly purposely used the term “remain” instead of “enter” to be consistent with the prior regulation as requested by industry members.
For the reasons discussed above, the Department interprets KRS 244.085(6) to NOT prohibit a minor from entering a liquor package store alone for the purpose of purchasing a non-alcoholic beverage product and then immediately leaving. Minors are permitted to remain in a liquor package store if accompanied by a parent or guardian though.
- Since minors are allowed to enter the premises, a package store does not have to post the “NO PERSONS UNDER 21 ALLOWED” sign.
- See, 804 KAR 5:070 Section 5. No.
- The law does not provide a maximum retail sales price for bottles of bourbon or other alcoholic beverage containers.
- Although KRS 244.050 establishes a minimum retail sales price for alcoholic beverages, it does not establish a maximum retail sales price.
The minimum retail sales price is the paid or current wholesale cost of the alcoholic beverage sold at retail. Yes and No. A minor under the age of twenty-one (21) years may NOT enter any licensed premises to illegally purchase or receive any alcoholic beverages.
- RS 244.085(1).
- However, a minor under the age of twenty-one (21) years MAY enter a liquor package store, without a parent or guardian, to lawfully purchase a non-alcoholic beverage product.
- The minor cannot remain on the premises for a period longer than reasonably necessary to make the non-alcoholic beverage product purchase.
Prior to enactment of KRS 244.085, the prohibition against minors on premises was controlled by a regulation which has since been repealed. That regulation stated in pertinent part that minors could not “loaf” or “loiter” on licensed premises. The definition of “loaf” means “to spend time in idleness.” Loaf.2019.
In Merriam-Webster.com, Retrieved August 27, 2019 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/loaf. “Loiter” means “to remain in an area for no obvious reason.” Loiter. In Merriam-Webster.com, Retrieved August 27, 2019 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/loiter. As these definitions made clear, the prior regulation permitted minors to enter a licensed premises but they could not remain on the premises for no purpose.
KRS 244.085(6) currently provides in pertinent part that a liquor package store licensee “shall not allow any person under the age of twenty-one (21) t o remain on any premises” (emphasis added). When KRS 244.085 was enacted, the General Assembly purposely used the term “remain” instead of “enter” to be consistent with the prior regulation as requested by industry members.
For the reasons discussed above, the Department interprets KRS 244.085(6) to NOT prohibit a minor from entering a liquor package store alone for the purpose of purchasing a non-alcoholic beverage product and then immediately leaving. Minors are permitted to remain in a liquor package store if accompanied by a parent or guardian though.
Since minors are allowed to enter the premises, a package store does not have to post the “NO PERSONS UNDER 21 ALLOWED” sign. See, 804 KAR 5:070 Section 5. KRS 244.050 generally prohibits a retail licensee from selling alcoholic beverages to consumers for a price less than the retailer’s paid or current wholesale cost for that product.
Illegally selling alcoholic beverages below cost is known as “treating.” One exception to the treating prohibition is a bona fide “close out” sale that has been approved by the Department after written request. KRS 244.050, This exception allows businesses to infrequently purge products that experience little or no sales for over a year.
The exception is not intended to allow a general clearing of slow moving items every few months, or periodically. When considering a written request to the Department for approval of a “close out” sale, a retailer should consider the following guidelines:
Provide an explanation as to why you are requesting permission. This should include what strategies you have used to sell the product above cost. Clearing your shelves to make room for new products is an unacceptable explanation.The product is to be removed from all stores of the licensed business.The product will not be offered for sale at any stores of the licensed business.The request should come from a designated agent of the licensee.Permission is required only for products sold at or below wholesale cost. You do not need our permission to sell wholesale cost.
Written requests to the Department for approval of a “close out” sale should be emailed to: [email protected]. Yes. KRS 243.430(1), If The Department of Revenue has placed a hold on your license renewal, our office will require a release before your license is renewed.
To obtain a release contact Department of Revenue at (502) 564-4921. Yes. Licenses expire when the annual renewal term ends. At that time, licensees have an additional thirty (30) day grace period to renew the license and maintain an interest in that license.804 KAR 4:390, If the license holder fails to renew during the thirty (30) day grace period, the grace period shall not be extended and the licensee must apply for a new license(s).
During the grace period, the licensee may not sell alcoholic beverages since the license has expired.804 KAR 4:390, The Department’s Enforcement Division receives notice if a license has not been renewed within two weeks of expiration. An investigator from the Enforcement Division may inspect the licensed premises to determine whether the business is active or closed and to remind the b No.
There is no late fee for a late renewal application; however, a license holder is not permitted to sell alcoholic beverages after a license expires. The Department must receive a completed renewal form and full payment no later than thirty (30) days after the license expires. A license holder who does not renew or attempt to renew by thirty (30) days after expiration will not be permitted to renew later and must apply for a new license(s).804 KAR 4:390,
Renewal applications are no longer sent by postal mail. You will receive an email reminder with instructions to renew online at https://abc-portal.ky.gov 45 days prior to license expiration. Your renewed license will not be sent by postal mail. Your renewed license will be emailed upon completion of renewing online.
What are the alcohol laws in Kentucky?
I. Minimum Ages – Young people often want to get part-time jobs in hospitality. So they want to know the ages needed for those jobs. What is the minimum age for working as a bartender? For working as a server in a restaurant that sells alcohol? Or for working in a store that sells alcohol for drinking elsewhere? They have questions. This distinction between beer on the one hand and wine and spirits on the other results from an old myth. That is, that wine and spirits are more alcoholic than beer. But standard drinks of beer, wine and spirits all have the same amount of pure alcohol.
Each has six-tenths of one ounce. When it comes to alcohol, they’re all the same. Kentucky alcohol laws let those of any age under 21 drink alcohol. A parent or guardian must give it to them. There are no restrictions on where they may drink it. It is illegal for those under age 21 to buy alcohol. The use of a false ID to do so is criminal.
The penalty may be driver’s license suspension. It is also illegal for those under 21 to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over 0.02%.
What’s the earliest you can buy beer in Kentucky?
What times can you buy liquor, wine, or beer in Kentucky? Kentucky allows the sale of alcohol from 6 AM to 4 AM Monday to Saturday and 1 PM to 4 AM on Sunday.
What is the blue law in Kentucky?
Boyett: Kentucky’s Blue Law had ministers, theater owners at odds A century ago, Henderson’s spiritual leaders were demanding enforcement of Kentucky’s Blue Law, which dates to the earliest days of the commonwealth and prohibits most commercial activity on Sunday.
- Local ministers maintained ignoring one law breeds disrespect for all laws – and that path is a slippery slope toward anarchy.
- But they were a little selective about how the law should be enforced; they wanted to focus solely on local movie theaters.
- The owners of Henderson’s theaters characterized the ministers’ objections as professional jealousy, that bottoms in theater seats on Sunday translated into fewer in church pews.
They called the ministers hypocrites for focusing only on theaters when Kentucky’s Blue Law, as it was commonly known, prohibited a wide swath of commercial activities on Sunday. That Blue Law, by the way, is still on the books at KRS 436.160, although it has been amended over the years to provide a number of exemptions.
- A related section, KRS 436.165, allows local governments to modify the restrictions.
- It also allows the people to do it by popular vote.
- I was a little surprised – probably like you – to learn that law is still on the books.
- The reason it’s not widely known is that it’s seldom been enforced.
- That was the case even back in 1920.
This story is more than just a spat between ministers and theater owners. In a way, locally at least, it was an opening skirmish in the battle between the forces of fundamentalism and modernism that characterized the 1920s. And it illustrates what a huge role movies had come to play in people’s lives.
- Motion pictures arrived in Henderson in late 1906, courtesy of Frank S.
- And William G.
- Haag, who set up the Nickelodeon at 120 N. Main St.
- Where short movies were seen back to back.
- By 1920 those short film strips had morphed into what we would recognize as movies, which dominated the public’s appetite for entertainment before radio and later television came on the scene.
Prosecutions for showing movies on Sunday had been rare until the Henderson Ministerial Association asked the theater owners to cease and desist. The Gleaner of Jan.25, 1920, said that meeting had occurred the prior week.F.B. Doxey, owner of the theater that served blacks, said he would comply but later changed his mind.
- The Gleaner of Jan.27 reported Louis Hayes of the Princess and Morris Holtzman of the Grand refused.
- There are quite a number of people who can only attend the movies on Sunday,” Hayes noted, adding that he had widespread support.
- Furthermore, he pointed out, neither city nor county officials had ever asked for Sunday closures.
Six churches, as well as the YMCA and the Women’s Christian Temperance Union, passed resolutions demanding Sunday closures, according to The Gleaner of Feb.3. The churches included Immanuel Baptist, First Baptist, Audubon Baptist, Clay Street Methodist, First Methodist and the Christian Church.
- Eleven ministers would eventually take a public stand.
- Warrants were sworn out on all three theater owners, according to the Feb.17 Gleaner, and the same issue carried a letter from First Methodist pastor Rev. James C.
- Rawlings, chairman of the Ministerial Association.
- He pointed out no other Western Kentucky city allowed Sunday movies.
(The only other Kentucky cities that permitted it at that time were Louisville, Lexington, Covington and Newport.) But the preachers got a bit of a surprise a few days later when the cases went before County Judge H.H. Farmer. All three were found guilty, but Farmer assessed the lowest possible fine of $2.
Even today the fine is the same: $2 to $50.) The ministers then tried a different approach, outlined in the Feb.27 Gleaner. County Attorney Marvin Eblen prepared 11 warrants, sworn to by Rawlings, and filed them in the court of Magistrate J.I. Farley of Spottsville. But the next day the movie men and their lawyers outsmarted them.
Doxey executed bond before Judge Farmer.S.H. Kimmel, the man who had posted bond for Hayes and Holtzman, withdrew his guarantee and surrendered them to the jailer. Hayes and Holtzman then demanded an immediate trial before Judge Farmer. It sounds a bit confusing, I know, but the upshot is that the finagling moved the case out of Magistrate Farley’s court and transferred it to Judge Farmer’s.
An unnamed “wag on the streets” was heard to remark, “There’s more ways to kill a cat than by choking it to death with hot butter.” In The Gleaner of March 2 the ministers announced their determination to “continue our effort in this matter ‘til the public is aroused to the danger which threatens us.
If the law is bad, it may be by orderly processes repealed; but as long as it is a law all good citizens will obey it.” Hayes responded in the March 6 issue. “I somehow doubt the sincerity of the ministers in their fight for law and order. It looks from the surface that the fight is for closing opposition.” Hayes said if he thought showing movies on Sunday “was the means of preparing our citizens of tomorrow to parade our streets flaunting the red flag of anarchy” he would close immediately.
In trying to have their prosecutions tried in Spottsville, Hayes wrote, “I leave it to the general public whether the ministers have done right.” F.J. “Boss” Pentecost was attorney for the theaters and The Gleaner asked for his response before running another letter from the ministerial association March 11.
Pentecost declined. “I am no more anxious for a newspaper controversy than I am for a trip to Spottsville.” But then the movie men folded. The Gleaner of March 14 announced the three theaters had agreed to close on Sundays once they had fulfilled their contracts for Sunday movies.
The Evansville Journal was nearly ecstatic about that news, according to a reprint of its story in The Gleaner of March 17. “Closing the shows and other places of amusements will cause hundreds to seek amusement in Evansville.” The Gleaner of June 20 carried an even more drastic announcement: The Blue Law would be enforced across the board as of that day.
“In other words, the ‘lid’ has been clamped down and sealed by Commonwealth Attorney N. Powell Taylor, who issued a warning to violators last week.” Taylor said the ban also applied to Union and Webster counties. A week later, however, Powell threw in the towel.
- The Gleaner published his statement June 27.
- Merchants and business owners were voluntarily complying, Powell wrote, but the outcry from consumers and customers was overwhelming as ramifications of the Blue Law’s enforcement rippled through society.
- He said the law must be applied uniformly or not at all.
“The man with no ice box can have no fresh meat Sunday because of this law. This is but one instance. Many could be cited.” The only way he would pursue a prosecution under the Blue Law, he said, is if the grand jury handed down an indictment. “It is good for everybody to have found out where the rigid enforcement of this law leads us.” I think that’s a good place to end this, even though the issue cropped up again later.
Can you drink in a car in Kentucky?
In Kentucky, it is against the law to possess an open container of an alcoholic beverage in the passenger area of a motor vehicle, if that vehicle is on a public highway or a right-of-way. Under the law, possession of an open container is a violation offense, punishable by a fine of between $35 and $100.
Can you walk around with alcohol in Louisville?
Do not traffic alcoholic beverages unless you hold a license. You may not give alcoholic beverages away without a license. You may not accept a donation for alcoholic beverages without a license. You may not (BYOB) bring your own alcoholic beverages to a public place.
Can you drink in Louisville on Sundays?
LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WDRB) – You will be able to order a beer, cocktails or other alcoholic beverage as soon as 10 a.m. on Sundays in Louisville restaurants, perhaps the day after the Kentucky Derby, if not sooner.
What cities are dry in Kentucky?
Prohibition is still a reality in some KY counties – Out of Kentucky’s 120 counties, only 10 are still legally dry, meaning they can’t sell alcohol within the county’s borders. Here’s a look at how that number has dwindled down – and why some hope it never gets to zero.
People used to joke that in Kentucky, Bourbon County was dry, meaning it barred alcohol sales, but Christian County was wet. It was an example of the tangle of laws and conflicting views on alcohol in Kentucky, as well as a reminder that even in the state synonymous with bourbon whiskey, dozens of counties had no legal alcohol sales.
This story is a subscriber exclusive For decades beginning in 1919, it was not legal to sell beer, wine, whiskey or other spirits across most of Kentucky. Even as recently as 2011, more than 40 of the 120 counties remained legally dry. No more: Bourbon County has been wet for some time, and now so is most of the commonwealth.
Through decades of battles over alcohol in Kentucky the arguments have broken down along the same lines, pitting supporters who argue that legal sales will mean more jobs, tourism and tax revenue for local governments against opponents who oppose alcohol on religious grounds or are worried that legal sales in more places will mean more use and abuse of alcohol, including more drunken driving.
There are just 10 counties remaining with no form of legal alcohol sales, and residents in several of those are trying to get enough signatures on petitions to call for a vote in November on whether to allow sales, according to information from the state Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control and local officials.
The remaining all-dry counties are rural: Menifee, Elliott and Morgan, clustered together in northeast Kentucky; Leslie and Knott in Eastern Kentucky; Casey; Clinton, Monroe and Allen, all on the Tennessee line; and McLean in the western part of the state. A few counties have limited alcohol sales, such as at a golf course or farm winery, and there are a number of wet cities in otherwise dry counties, but the time when many Kentucky residents had to drive an hour or more to legally buy a 12-pack of beer or a bottle of whiskey is gone.
“Now it’s just overwhelmingly wet,” said Tom Appleton, a retired Eastern Kentucky University history professor who researched alcohol prohibition as a political issue in the state. The change was a long time coming.
Is Louisville a dry county?
Wet and dry status – The ABC uses very specific terminology to classify the state’s 120 counties as “wet”, “dry”, “moist”, or dry with special provisions.
- Dry — All sales of alcoholic beverages are prohibited.
- Wet — Sales of alcoholic beverages for on-site or off-site consumption are allowed in at least some areas outside of an incorporated city. However, many “wet” counties have dry precincts. Kentucky’s two consolidated city-county governments, Louisville and Lexington, are both wet, although as noted below, a few precincts in Louisville are dry.
- Moist — The ABC uses this term strictly to refer to otherwise dry counties where one or more specific cities have voted to allow alcohol sales for off-premises consumption.
- Limited — A county in which at least some otherwise dry territory has approved the sale of alcohol by the drink at qualifying restaurants. Under this category, the ABC has secondary classifications of “Limited (100)” and “Limited (50)”, with the numbers referring to the seating capacity required for a restaurant to apply for a license.
- Golf Course — A county in which at least some otherwise dry territory has approved the sale of alcohol by the drink at a qualifying golf course.
- Winery — A county in which at least some otherwise dry territory has approved the operation of a winery.
- Qualified Historic Site (QHS) — A county in which at least some otherwise dry territory has approved the sale of alcohol by the drink at a qualifying historic site.
In popular usage, “moist” has a much broader meaning than the ABC’s specific usage. In addition to the ABC definition, “moist” can also refer to a county where alcohol sales have been approved under any of the special provisions allowed by Kentucky law—in other words, any status other than “dry” or “wet”.
Is Kentucky a zero tolerance state for alcohol?
DUI and BAC Facts – It’s essential to know how dangerous driving under the influence can be, and what the facts are surrounding impaired driving. First off, you’ve probably seen BAC or BRAC in DUI-related articles. The first, BAC, stands for Blood Alcohol Concentration or Blood Alcohol Content.
Nationwide states hold drivers to a legal limit of,08% BAC, which means the amount of alcohol in your blood cannot exceed that percentage. If you’re tested and your BAC comes back,08% or higher, you could face charges for driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence of alcohol. The second term, BRAC, stands for Breath Alcohol Concentration, and this is in reference to the amount of alcohol found in your breath.
Most states allow officers in the field to conduct a breathalyzer test as part of a DUI stop. The breath is an easy and accurate way to measure the amount of alcohol in your system. Kentucky DUI penalties apply to drivers who are convicted of driving with a BAC of,08% or higher.
Can you drink alcohol in a park in KY?
LIST OF PROHIBITED ACTIVITIES – DRINKING ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES KRS 222.202(2) A person is guilty of drinking alcoholic beverages in a public place when he drinks alcoholic beverages in a public place. KRS 222.203(1) A peace officer shall make an arrest for a violation of KRS 222.202.
- LITTERING KRS 512.070(1) A person is guilty of criminal littering when he: (a) drops or permits to drop on a highway any destructive or injurious material and does not immediately remove it; or (b) knowingly places or throws litter on any public or private property without permission.
- RS 433.753 When any paper, waste material, litter or other refuse is thrown or dropped from a motor vehicle, the operator thereof shall be deemed prima facie to be guilty of criminal littering.
INJURING OR REMOVING PLANTS KRS 433.750 A person who picks, pulls, digs, tears up, cuts, breaks, burns or otherwise damages any tree shrub, flower, vine, bush or turf or the right of way of any state highway or county road or upon any land set aside, dedicated or maintained by this state as a public park or as a refuge or sanctuary for wild animals, birds or fish, without having first obtained permission in writing of the engineer having charge of the highway, or the superintendent or custodian of the park, refuge or sanctuary shall be fined not less than $25 nor more than $300.
WRITING ON OR DEFACING PARK PROPERTY OR NATURAL ROCK FORMATIONS KRS 512.040(1) A person is guilty of criminal mischief in the third degree when: (a) having no right to do so or any reasonable ground to believe that he has such right, he intentionally or wantonly defaces, destroys or damages any property.
INJURING WILDLIFE KRS 148.029(1) All areas controlled by the Department of Parks and designated as camping, hiking or other family oriented recreation areas are designated wildlife sanctuaries for the purpose of affording protection to the wildlife thereon as natural, integrated, interrelated, ecological communities.
2) No unauthorized person shall enter a wildlife sanctuary and take, damage, injure, kill, destroy or unduly disturb the wildlife therein. SWIMMING 304 KAR 1:020 No person shall swim, bathe, or otherwise enter any water owned by. or under the control of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, Department of Parks.
unless they are within a swimming area designated by the Department of Parks. DOGS RUNNING AT LARGE KRS 258.215(1) Peace officers or animal control officers shall seize and impound any dog which does not bear a valid rabies tag or other legible identification which is found running at large.
Is Kentucky a liquor control state?
Finding bourbon while you travel – If we look at my home state of Michigan as an example, the government does not operate any retail outlets but has a monopoly over the wholesale distribution of distilled spirits. The Michigan Liquor Control Commission no longer warehouses alcohol but contracts with private sector distributors.
- In Michigan, you can only purchase at retail what the state liquor control board offers at wholesale.
- It is frustrating when you find out there is an exciting bourbon release available in non-control states, but they are simply not for sale.
- During your travels, you may find unique bourbon when you least expect it.
Other states have more of a monopoly on distilled spirits by both wholesaling and selling in state-run retail stores. Others control the retail marketplace by allowing private businesses to operate as contract liquor agencies. Currently, the seventeen control states are Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
Does Kentucky have dry counties?
Here’s how many dry counties are left in Kentucky. As of January 2019, there are 15 counties where the sale of booze is completely prohibited in Kentucky. There’s a few close to Louisville, but most of the cities within them now allow alcohol sales. Kentucky has a lot fewer completely dry counties than it used to.
Is Bourbon County dry?
September is National Bourbon Month. As the weather cools off (OK, everywhere except Southern California), it’s a good time to consider one of the finest drinks made in America. Uncork a bottle, pour a little into a snifter, add a little pour of cool spring water, and lean back. Here are five things you may not have known about bourbon. ] 5. It doesn’t have to be from Bourbon County, Kentucky. That’s right bourbon can hail from any point in these United States and still legally be called bourbon. What’s odd is that this rule only applies for bourbon produced for domestic consumption. When produced for export, all bets are off. Still, most bourbon comes from Kentucky, and if it says Kentucky bourbon, it has to be from Kentucky.4. Bourbon County, Kentucky is a “wet” county. Kentucky gives counties the local option when it comes to alcohol sales. Internet lore insists that Bourbon County is a “dry” (i.e., alcohol-free) county. This is not true; in fact, all the counties along the Kentucky Bourbon trail are “wet,” including the homes of Maker’s Mark, Bulleit, Jim Beam and Woodford Reserve. [ 3. Jim Beam is bourbon; Jack Daniels is not. Jack Daniels is filtered through charcoal in a step called the Lincoln County Process; bourbon is not allowed to go through this step according to the federal laws regarding the naming of whiskey, so it’s called “Tennessee whiskey” instead.2. Bourbon is distilled at up to 160 proof. Like most distilled liquors, bourbon is distilled at liver-destroying concentrations of alcohol, then tempered with water before and after aging in new charred white oak barrels. The bourbons you buy in the bottle are typically 80 to 100 proof, which makes it possible to have a couple of glasses before you start embarrassing yourself.1. Many bourbon distilleries also produce rye. Bourbon has to be distilled from at least 51% corn, and rye whiskey must be distilled from at least 51% rye. The two are closely related, but the difference between the two is obvious: bourbon is sweeter than rye, and rye has a slightly smoky, grassy flavor absent from bourbon.
Can food trucks sell alcohol in Kentucky?
Liquor License in Kentucky In most states, food trucks cannot obtain a full liquor license. The best they can do is to get short-term liquor licenses for special events, but selling alcohol regularly should not be part of your Kentucky food truck business plan.
What is Kentucky’s funny law?
Written by Cooper & Friedman PLLC on November 19, 2021 – Since the state of Kentucky was founded in 1792, the local legislature has passed many necessary and impactful laws. However, there have been just as many truly bizarre statutes that seem to have slipped through the cracks of time and circumstance! Keep reading to learn about 9 obscure and funny laws you never knew existed in the Bluegrass state.1.
One weird law states “No female shall appear in a bathing suit on any highway within this state unless she be escorted by at least two officers or unless she be armed with a club. ” The law was later changed to add: “The provisions of this statute shall not apply to females weighing less than 90 pounds nor exceeding 200 pounds, nor shall it apply to female horses” (KRS 436.140),
We can only imagine what circumstances once led to the creation of this legislature! 2. In Owensboro, women are required to receive their husband’s permission in order to buy a hat! ( KRS 252.130 ) That’s right. If you live in Owensboro, make sure to spread the word.
We don’t want this dangerous crime to go unenforced! 3. “Any person who displays, handles or uses any kind of reptile in connection with any religious service or gathering shall be fined not less than fifty dollars nor more than one hundred dollars ( KRS 437.060).” Be warned: if your church handles snakes or reptiles of any kind, you can be fined between $50 and $100.4.
Citizens are required to bathe once a year. Did you know that the Kentucky legislature dictates that all citizens must shower or bathe at least once a year? Hopefully this law hasn’t had to be enforced! 5. In Frankfort, it is illegal to shoot off a policeman’s tie.
And, we’re assuming, shoot off any part of him! 6. “No person shall sell, exchange, offer to sell or exchange, display or possess living baby chicks, ducklings, or other fowl or rabbits which have been dyed or colored; nor dye or color any baby chicks, ducklings or other fowl or rabbits; nor sell, exchange, offer to sell or exchange or to give away baby chicks, ducklings or other fowl or rabbits, under two months of age in any quantity less than six, except that any rabbit weighing three pounds or more may be sold at an age of six weeks.
Any person who violates this section shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500″ (KRS 436.600), What does this mean? You can’t use dye or artificial coloring on baby animalsunless you have more than 6 of them! 7. As of a 2001 ordinance, animals are not allowed to “molest cars” in Fort Thomas, Kentucky.8.
It is illegal to marry the same man 4 times in Kentucky. This law hopefully shouldn’t be a problem for most of us.9. It’s illegal to catch certain fish with a bow and arrow in Kentucky. However, some types are allowed. Why are these laws still in the books? Mainly, because no one really cares. Changing laws is a tedious process that requires sponsorship by state lawmakers and extensive formal effort.
Therefore, most of these obscure laws have remained in place because no one is impacted enough by them. The experienced attorneys at Cooper and Friedman have been serving the legal needs of seriously injured people across the state of Kentucky since 1991.
Is there a law about showering in Kentucky?
You Shan’t Stink – Ok, this is a law everyone should agree with. All Kentucky citizens are required to shower at least once per year. While today’s dermatologists say a shower every other day is best for your skin, many people make it part of their daily routine, easily meeting the annual requirement.
What is Kentucky sexting law?
What Is the Law on Teen Sexting in Kentucky? – In Kentucky, sending explicit pictures of minors falls under the definition of child pornography. This includes any depiction of genitals, pubic area, buttock or female breast, actual or simulated sex acts, or physical contact with genitals. This definition covers a wide range of potential pictures — even photographs that could potentially be sent as a joke, such as a snap of one person “mooning” the other.
Under Kentucky law, there is no distinction between adults producing and distributing child pornography and minors doing the same. This is the part of Kentucky law that several lawmakers have unsuccessfully tried to change: the fact that a teen who sends a picture of himself to a girlfriend would potentially face the same criminal charge as an adult who exploits a child and publishes it online.
Kentucky Revised Statute 531.320 prohibits the production of child pornography. This includes producing, directing any performance that includes sexual conduct by a minor while knowing the character and content of the material. If the minor is less than 18 years old, producing child pornography is a Class C felony.
- If the minor is under 16 years old, it is a Class B felony.
- If the minor incurs physical injury, it is a Class A felony.
- Entucky Revised Statute 531.340 prohibits distributing child pornography.
- This includes sending or bringing the material into Kentucky for sale or distribution while having knowledge of the materials content, or exhibiting for profit, distributing, offering to distribute, has in his/her possession with intent to distribute, or offering to distribute any material portraying a sexual performance by a minor.
The first offense for distributing child pornography is a Class D felony. Each subsequent offense is a Class C felony. There is no exception under the law for two minors who consensually send pictures or videos to each other. There is also no specific category of offense for minors who share pictures or videos of others without their permission.
Is noon too early for a beer?
Is it too early in the day to have an alcoholic drink? It doesn’t necessarily have to be 5 p.m. to crack open a beer, according to some American s, Data from a recent YouGov survey of 2,747 US adults shows roughly one in six (16%) consider noon the earliest acceptable time of day to have an alcoholic drink on non-working days.
- O ne in 10 (1 0 %) say 5 p.m.
- Most seem to believe that meal times are a good time for a drink, such as noon lunch and dinner at 6 p.m. or later.
- Roughly one in eight (13%) say 6 p.m.
- Or later is the earliest acceptable time, while nine percent of Americans say it’s fine to grab a libation before 10 a.m.
Men (13%) are more likely than women (7%) to say 10 a.m. or earlier is appropriate to raise a glass, Young Americans age 25-30 (17%) are also fine with morning drinks before 10 a.m. A mong YouGov Direct users who list beer as their favorite type of alcoholic beverage, noon is the right time to indulge for about one in four ( 23%),
- Same goes for l iquor drinkers (22%),
- W ine drinkers (13%) are more likely to say 5 p.m.
- Is the earliest appropriate time to have a drink.
- According to YouGov Profiles, a third (33%) of Americans identify as “special occasion drinkers,” while roughly a quarter (26%) say they’re “social drinkers” and 15 percent say they’re “weekend drinkers.” Nine percent say they’re “after work drinkers,” five percent identify as “daily drinkers” and three percent are “anytime, anywhere drinkers.” Methodology : 2,747 US adults were interviewed through YouGov Direc t,
Results are weighted by gender and age to best represent the US population. This survey was conducted online between June 11 –12, 2020. Users considered beer drinkers is a group who said their favorite alcoholic beverage is domestic beer, imported beer, craft / microbrew beer,
Can you buy beer before noon in Tennessee?
Monday through Saturday: As a result of this new law, grocery stores and liquor stores will be permitted to sell beer, wine, and liquor from 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday.
Can you buy beer in Winchester KY on Sunday?
October 2, 2019, WINCHESTER, Ky. (WTVQ)- A board of commissioners passed an ordinance that will now allow distilleries, wineries, breweries, and microbreweries to sell alcohol on Sundays, according to the Winchester Sun. The ordinance allows alcohol sales from 1 p.m.
What time can you buy beer on Sunday in Kenton County KY?
Package Liquor – The sale of package liquor by establishments holding a retail package license issued by the Commonwealth of Kentucky, within the area subject to regulation by the Kenton County Fiscal Court, is permitted Monday thru Sunday, between the hours of 12:00 P.M. and 2:30 A.M.