FAQs on Georgia Beer, Wine & Spirits Sales – What are the alcohol laws in Georgia? There are lots of alcohol laws in the state of Georgia. Here are a few of the laws that you need to know. Spirits are sold in liquor stores aka package stores. What we mean by spirits is all types of spirits including but not limited to whiskey, scotch, bourbon, tequila, rum, vodka, and more.
- Both convenience stores and grocery stores sell beer and wine during the hours permitted.
- As for the timeframe in which alcohol can be purchased, consumers are able to purchase alcoholic beverages at retailers between the hours of 7 AM and 11:45 PM.
- This is for off-premise only.
- With regard to on-premise consumption, both bars and restaurants are able to sell alcohol between the hours of 11 AM and 11:45 PM.
Any individual under the age of 21 is prohibited from purchasing and consuming alcohol. However, there is one exception, if you are a parent or guardian purchasing the alcohol and the alcohol is being consumed at home with the parent or guardian present.
- What is the alcohol excise tax in Georgia?
- The excise tax rate varies depending on the type of alcohol.
- ≤ 14%: $0.40 per liter
- > 14%: $0.67 per liter”
- $0.32 per gallon
- $3.79 per gallon
- $0.83 per gallon local tax
- What are the policies when it comes to selling alcohol on Sundays in Georgia?
Georgia allows the sale of alcohol on Sunday between the hours of 12:30 PM and 11:30 PM provided the local government does not disapprove. There are some counties in the state of Georgia that do not allow the sale of alcoholic beverages on Sundays at any time.
- 1 Can you buy alcohol on Sunday in Athens GA?
- 2 What are the dry months in Georgia?
How early can you buy alcohol on Saturday in Georgia?
Serving & Selling Alcohol Time Periods
|Type of License||Day of Week or Holiday||Time Frame|
|Licensed Package Stores||Monday through Saturday||7 am to 11:45 pm|
|Licensed Package Stores||Sunday||12:30 pm to 11:30 pm|
|Licensed Consumption Practices||Monday through Friday||11 am to 12:45 am|
|Licensed Consumption Practices||Saturday||8 am to 11:45 pm|
Can you order alcohol in Georgia?
Delivery of Alcoholic Beverages – FAQ Delivery of Alcoholic Beverage – FAQ
- What business establishments are eligible to deliver alcoholic beverages? Licensed alcohol retailers are eligible to deliver unopened alcoholic beverages in the original container sealed by the manufacturer, except where prohibited by local ordinance or resolution. A licensed alcohol retailer that delivers alcoholic beverages is not required to obtain an additional license or permit from the Department of Revenue. Mixed drinks or cocktails are not permitted to be delivered, unless the mixed drink or cocktail is in the original can, bottle or other container sealed by the manufacturer. Below is a list of retailers and the types of alcoholic beverages that can be sold for delivery:
- Grocery Stores, Gas Stations/Convenience Stores:
- Retail Package Stores:
- Distilled Spirits
- Restaurants, Brewpubs, Bars, and other consumption-on-premises retail alcohol licensees:
- Can beer, wine and distilled spirits be sold for delivery anytime during the day or night? Alcoholic beverages can only be sold for delivery on a day and time when the sale of package beer, wine or distilled spirits is permitted by local jurisdictional law. Additionally, all deliveries must be completed on the same day of the sale and the same day the alcoholic beverages leave the licensed premises of the retailer.
- Am I eligible to deliver alcoholic beverages? To deliver alcoholic beverages for a retail licensee, you must be either:
- An employee of the alcohol retail licensee; or
- A third-party service (or its employee) that has a contractual relationship with the alcohol retail licensee.
- Are there any additional requirements for delivery drivers? Yes, all delivery drivers must meet the following requirements:
- 21 years of age or older
- Valid Georgia driver’s license
- Criminal background investigation completed within the last 12 months (local, national and motor vehicle driving record) with:
- No more than 3 moving violations in the past 3 year
- No major traffic violations within the last 3 years as defined by O.C.G.A. §40-5-142
- No convictions within the past 7 years for driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol
- No convictions of fraud, sex offense, or use of a motor vehicle to commit a felony crime involving property damage, theft, violence or act of terror
- No inclusion as a match on the National Sex Offender Registry data base
- Complete a mandatory delivery training course approved by the Department of Revenue and pass an examination upon completion of the course. Please visit for detailed information.
- Keep a copy of the training certification and retail licensee’s employment contract (or third-party services contract with the retailer) in the vehicle at all times. In the alternative, such documents may be stored in an accessible electronic format via cellular phone or other electronic device.
- Delivery drivers are not required to obtain a license or permit from the Department of Revenue. However, a retail licensee may provide the delivery driver or third-party service with a type of delivery certification card or similar document.
- How long is the training certification valid? Training certification is valid for 2 years. Upon expiration, all delivery drivers will be required to retake the training course to renew certification.
- Delivery drivers are required to comply with the following laws:
- Drivers shall only deliver beer, wine or distilled spirits in an original unbroken container that was sealed by the manufacturer.
- Alcoholic beverages must be delivered on the same calendar day the alcoholic beverages leave the licensed premises of the retailer for delivery.
- Alcoholic beverages shall be transported in a vehicle for delivery within the local licensing jurisdiction of the packaged goods retailer.
- The local licensing jurisdiction is the city or county that issued the local alcoholic beverage license to the retail business.
- Alcoholic beverages shall not be commingled or transported in a vehicle containing products or goods traveling outside the state of Georgia.
- Alcoholic beverages must remain in the possession of the delivery driver and cannot be transferred to another driver or any other person.
- Delivery of alcoholic beverages is only for the consumer’s personal use and cannot be delivered to:
- Schools, including dormitories, housing or common space located at a school or campus
- Prison, reformatories, or other correctional facilities
- Any locker mailbox, package shipping location or storage facility business
- Any other retailer
- Alcoholic beverages shall be delivered to a person at the address specified in the purchase order and cannot be placed on the curbside, driveway, door stoop, porch, etc.
- Alcoholic beverages shall only be delivered to a person who:
- Is 21 years of age or older
- Presents proper identification verifying age (driver’s license, passport, Georgia identification card or military identification)
- Provides a signature that matches such identification
- Is not noticeably intoxicated
- Delivery drivers should not receive any compensation from the purchaser for the sale or delivery of alcoholic beverages.
- Delivery drivers shall allow the purchaser to inspect the delivered alcoholic beverages at the time of delivery. All sales of alcoholic beverages are final.
- Violations of delivery laws can result in a fine for the delivery driver, retail licensee or both. Local governing authorities that issue alcohol retail licenses may impose additional penalties and criminal penalties otherwise prescribed by law may apply.
- If the delivery driver is unable to complete the delivery because the person accepting the delivery is not 21 years of age or older, or presents a fake identification card, or is noticeably intoxicated, what are the next steps for the delivery driver? The delivery driver should cancel the delivery and return the alcoholic beverages to the retailer on the same day, prior to the close of business. Delivery drivers should familiarize themselves with the retail licensee’s or third-party service’s procedures for delivery refusal and/or delivery cancellation.
- Alcohol retail licensees that deliver alcoholic beverages are required to:
- Allow purchasers of alcohol for delivery to establish an account maintained by the alcohol retail licensee.
- Deliver alcoholic beverages on the same calendar day that alcoholic beverages are sold and leave the licensed premises.
- Maintain control and responsibility of the sale of alcoholic beverages, which includes receiving payment from the purchaser and appearing as the merchant of record at all times. If a licensee uses third-party applications or vendor ordering platforms, these services are prohibited from up-charging the alcoholic beverages sold by the licensee.
- Process all payments for the sale and delivery of alcoholic beverages prior to the alcoholic beverages leaving the premises of the retailer.
- Deliver only alcoholic beverages that are currently in the retailer’s inventory. Likewise, retailers shall not obtain products from any other source, retailers or other licensed premises.
- Are alcohol retail licensees required to maintain any additional records? Retailers should keep the following records of employees and third-party services that deliver alcoholic beverages:
- Criminal background investigation report
- List of employees and contractual agreements of third party services delivering alcoholic beverages
- Employees’ training course certifications
- A record of the individual’s name and date of birth who accepted delivery of the alcoholic beverages for a 3 year retention period. Such records shall be provided to special agents or enforcement officers upon request.
- Are retail licensees responsible for the actions of employees or third-party services that deliver alcoholic beverages? Licensees are ultimately responsible for the delivery of alcoholic products from their licensed premises, including deliveries by third party services and employees of the retailer. Illegal alcohol deliveries committed by an employee or a third party are deemed to be an act taken by the retailer. For example, if a third-party service delivers an alcoholic beverage to a customer of the retailer and the alcoholic beverage is delivered to an individual that is not 21 years of age or older, the third-party service and the retail licensee could both be subject to fines and other penalties.
- What can the Department of Revenue inspect with regards to the delivery of alcoholic beverages? For the purposes of determining violations of law and/or securing evidence as may be needed for an administrative proceeding (and in addition to provisions in O.C.G.A §3-2-30), special agents or enforcement officers of the Department of Revenue can inspect the following:
- The customer accounts established by the alcohol retail licensee
- Any vehicle transporting alcoholic beverages for delivery
- Who can be held responsible for a violation of alcoholic beverage delivery laws and what are the consequences?
- Alcohol retailers, delivery drivers that are employees of the alcohol retailer and third- party services can receive a fine, up to $500 for each violation.
- Retail alcohol licensees may also be suspended from delivering alcoholic beverages for a period not to exceed 30 days for each violation.
- Local governing authorities that issue alcohol licenses to retailers may also impose penalties on the retailer, employee or third-party service; and
- Any other criminal penalties provided by law.
: Delivery of Alcoholic Beverages – FAQ
Can you buy alcohol on Sunday in Athens GA?
In a 4-1 vote Monday, Athens City Council members legalized the sale of alcoholic beverages on Sundays. City voters had already legalized the sale of alcohol Mondays through Saturdays in 2003.
Can you walk with open alcohol in Atlanta?
The State of Georgia is one of only seven states that do not have a law prohibiting the possession of an open container in a public place. However, local jurisdictions have passed ordinances prohibiting open containers of alcohol in public. A notable exception is the historic district of downtown Savannah.
Do grocery stores sell hard liquor in Georgia?
FAQs on Buying Beer, Wine & Liquor in Florida – What is the alcohol tax in Florida? Wine Less than 17.259% abv – $2.25 per Gallon 17.259% abv or more – $3.00 per Gallon
- Natural Sparkling – $3.50 per Gallon
- Cider- $0.89/Gallon
Less than 17.259% abv – $2.25 per Gallon 17.259% – 55.78% abv – $6.50 per Gallon More than 55.78% abv – $9.53 per Gallon Can you buy liquor in grocery stores in FL? Yes. You can buy wine, beer, and liquor under 6% ABV in grocery stores. Liquor over 6% ABV is sold only through package stores.
- Can you buy alcohol in gas stations in Florida? Yes, you can buy wine and beer in gas stations providing that they offer it for purchase to customers.
- Unless local law does not permit the sale of alcoholic beverages.
- Can you buy alcohol on Sunday in FL? Yes, but this will vary by county and alcohol type.
Please consult your local and county regulations for complete details. Except as otherwise provided by county/municipal ordinance, sales are prohibited between midnight and 7 am every day including Sunday: (). In unincorporated Miami-Dade County, package stores are prohibited from making sales on Sundays ().
- Does Florida Allow direct-to-consumer shipping?
- Wine can be shipped directly to consumers, but direct shipping to consumers is not allowed in Florida.
- What times can you buy liquor, wine, or beer in Florida?
- The sale of alcohol is not permitted between midnight and 7:00 AM which means you can buy alcohol any time that is not within that restricted period.
- Can you order alcohol to go in FL?
- Alcohol-to-go or curbside sales are permitted for wine, spirits, and malt beverages in Florida provided the establishment meets the state’s criteria for to-go sales.
- Where in Florida can buy alcohol off-premise?
It depends on the type of alcohol you’re trying to purchase. Providing they hold an alcohol retailer’s license, you can purchase beer and wine in convenience stores, gas stations, and grocery stores. You can purchase liquor at package stores. Where can buy alcohol for on-premise consumption in FL? You can buy alcohol on-premise at any location that has a license to serve alcohol on-premise.
- That means bars, restaurants, clubs, hotels, and other locations so long as they meet the requirements for selling and serving on-premise.
- Here at Park Street we connect wholesalers with distributors and provide many types of services that allow you to focus on building your brand while we handle the rest! If you’re interested in learning more about our services, please feel free to complete the form below and a member of our client development team will be in touch within 24 hours.
: Florida Alcohol Laws, Sales, Statistics, and Trends (2023)
What is the alcohol limit in Georgia?
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Georgia? –
Non-commercial drivers age 21+ are considered legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is,08 or more. Drivers of commercial vehicles are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is,04 percent or greater. In Georgia, school bus drivers are commercial drivers. Drivers under 21 are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is,02 or more.
Can you buy liquor in Walmart in Georgia?
Do All Walmarts Sell Drinking Alcohol? (State List) This might seem like an obvious question, but there are a lot of complexities when it comes to the sale of alcohol at Walmart. In fact, all grocery stores are subject to state and regional laws governing the sale of beer, wine, and liquor. So, to find out all the ins and outs of alcohol sales at your local Walmart, keep reading.
- As one of the largest retailers of food and beverages in the world, it probably comes as no surprise that Walmart sells alcohol.
- But there are a few caveats to note here due to the fact that different states have different laws and regulations governing the sale of alcohol.
- While Walmart as a company is a massive retail distributor of alcohol, including beer, wine, and liquor, not all Walmart stores are legally allowed to supply alcohol to customers.
For example, Walmart stores in Utah are infamous for not selling alcohol because it is illegal for any grocery stores to sell alcohol in that state. Several other states have similar laws, which Walmart abides by. To give a simpler answer to the question, Walmart sells alcohol in every state, except for:
- Rhode Island
- New Jersey
These states firmly disallow the sale of alcoholic beverages in grocery stores or non-state liquor stores. In some other states, such as North Dakota, Walmart has resorted to opening separate retail locations called Walmart Liquor Stores where they can legally supply alcohol to customers.
When did Georgia stop being a dry state?
List of formerly dry states
|State||Dry date||Repeal date|
|South Dakota||November 2, 1889|
|Oklahoma||September 17, 1907||1959|
|Georgia||January 1, 1908||1933|
|Mississippi||December 31, 1908||1966|
What are the dry months in Georgia?
Climatology of Central Georgia – Temperature – The area experiences all four seasons. Summers typically consist of long spells of warm and humid weather. Average afternoon high temperatures are in the lower 90s. Readings of 90 or higher can be expected on 70 to 80 days. Overnight lows usually range from the upper 60s to lower 70s.
Temperatures during winter months are more variable. Oftentimes, stretches of mild weather will alternate with cold spells. Winter high temperatures average in the mid 50s to lower 60s. Lows average in the mid 30s. Lows of 32 degrees or lower can be expected on 40 to 50 days. Spring and Autumn seasons are characterized by much variability from day to day and from year to year.
The average date of the first freeze is in mid-November. The average date of the last freeze in the spring is in mid to late March. Precipitation – A measurable amount of rain falls on about 120 days each year, producing amounts averaging between 45 and 50 inches.
Is it muggy in Georgia?
Temperatures – Most of Georgia has a sub-tropical climate, with hot and humid summers, except at the highest elevations. Weather conditions in various localities of Georgia depend on how close they are to the Atlantic Ocean or Gulf of Mexico, and their altitude.
- This is especially true in the mountainous areas in the northern part of the state, which are farther away from ocean waters and can be up to 4,500 feet (1,400 m) or higher above sea level,
- The areas near the Florida-Georgia border, extending from the Atlantic Ocean westward to the Chattahoochee River, experience the most subtropical weather, similar to that of Florida: hot, humid summers with frequent afternoon thunderstorms and mild, somewhat drier winters.
The USDA hardiness zones for Georgia range from Zone 6A (-10 °F to -5 °F) in the mountains to Zone 9A (20 °F to 25 °F) along the coast. Despite having moderate weather compared to many other states, Georgia has occasional extreme weather. The highest temperature ever recorded is 112 °F (44 °C), while the lowest ever recorded is −17 °F (−27 °C).