Can you make your own moonshine legally in Georgia?
1/1/2015 last updated
In the state of Georgia it is legal to own a still as long as the still is not used to distill spirits or to manufacture moonshine. A still can be owned and operated to distill water, essential oils, vinegar, etc. As long as the end product is not ethanol.
- (a) (1) Malt beverages may be produced by a person in his or her private residence subject to the limitations provided in this Code section.
- (2) The total quantity of malt beverages that may be produced in any private residence shall be as follows:
- (A) Not more than 100 gallons per calendar year if there is only one person of legal drinking age living in such residence; or
- (B) Not more than 200 gallons per calendar year if there are two or more persons of legal drinking age living in such residence;
- provided, however, that no more than 50 gallons shall be produced in a 90 day period.
Manufacturing wine for personal household use: Code §3-6-3 (a) A head of a household may produce 200 gallons of wine in any one calendar year to be consumed within his own household without any requirement to be licensed for such purpose. Wine so produced shall not be subject to any excise tax imposed by this chapter.
To manufacture ethanol fuel you are required to submit copies of your Federal permits to the state authorities as well as obtain non-beverage alcohol manufacturer’s license and a motor fuel distributor’s fuel license regardless of if you plan to resell the fuel. Georgia requires a license to produce and or to resell ethanol spirits.
The fee is $1,100 for the license and investigation fee. Luckly Georgia has much of the information on their website about applying for licenses and the requirements. The process and licenses can be viewed here, The requirements listed are:
- ATT-104/ COLA & Labels
- ATT-17 Personnel Statement
- State Financial Affidavit
- Liquor Manufacturer/Distillery Bond
- Copy of Federal Basic Permit
- Copy of Local License (In state)
- Property Lease or Deed
- Power of Attorney (If Applicable)
- O.C.G.A 50-3-1 (e)(2) – Citizenship Affidavit
- Secure and Verifiable Documents
Georgia has information on obtaining a license to commercially produce spirits for resale here, Georgia alcohol licensing website There are several licenses you need to request to legally manufacture spirits. Below are the federal licenses only. Additional state requirements will need to be followed as well.
You must submit a request for a license to manufacture spirits: TTB 5110.41 Basic permit, This license only allows you to produce spirits. You also need a license for the distilling equipment / distillery: TTB 5100.24 Distilled spirit plant For manufacturing ethanol fuel you will need to submit a request for a TTB 5110.74 for a federal license,2006 Georgia Code – 3-3-27 Any person who violates the provisions of: (1) Paragraph (1) of subsection (a) (Distill, manufacture, or make any distilled spirits) of this Code section shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than five years; Along with a unlisted fine and jail time the still, spirits and distilling equipment will be seized.
Any apparatus, article, or other tangible personal property used in the unlawful distillation, manufacture, or making of any alcoholic beverages is declared contraband and shall be destroyed by the officers or agents seizing the property or otherwise disposed of as the commissioner directs”.
How much is a liquor license in Georgia?
How much does a liquor license cost in Georgia?
|Liquor License||$1000 – $5000||Department of Revenue|
Do you need a liquor license in Georgia?
So, you’re opening a bar in Georgia. Or, perhaps you own a salon and want to offer your clients a blowout with a side of pinot grigio. Whatever your situation may be, you will need to obtain a Georgia liquor license. Keep in mind, however: To sell alcoholic beverages in Georgia, you must be at least 21 years of age, possess the correct insurance ( restaurant or bar insurance, if that is your business), a local alcohol license, as well as a federal basic permit.
Does Georgia sell hard liquor?
FAQs on Buying Beer, Wine & Liquor in Georgia –
- What is the alcohol tax in Georgia?
- There is a sales tax rate of 4% which gets applied to all alcohol purchases that consumers make.
- Can you buy liquor in grocery stores in GA?
You can only buy beer and wine at grocery stores in the state of Georgia. Distilled spirits are sold in liquor stores only. Does Georgia allow direct-to-consumer shipping? Yes, direct-to-consumer shipping is permitted for wines. However, DTC shipping is not permitted for spirits and beer in Georgia.
- Can you buy alcohol in gas stations in Georgia?
- You can buy beer and wine in licensed gas stations and convenience stores.
- Can you buy alcohol on Sunday in Georgia?
Yes, you can buy alcohol on Sunday in Georgia as long as you’re not trying to buy in counties where alcohol is not sold on Sundays. There are some counties that restrict the sale of alcohol on that day of the week.
- What times can you buy liquor, wine, or beer in Georgia?
- You can purchase alcohol for off-premise consumption between the hours of 7 AM and 11:45 PM, providing that county or local law doesn’t state otherwise.
- ( Data Sources –,, )
Here at Park Street, we provide services that allow you to focus on marketing and brand building. We handle everything else! If you’re interested in learning more about the services at Park Street Companies, then please feel free to complete the form below. : Georgia Alcohol Sales, Laws, and Trends (2023)